We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Turquoise Shell Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 24 August 2010

My fiance & I stayed one night at the Turquoise Shell after he had done a little research and found it to be near the airport and having the amenities that we needed. His choice ended up being a great one.

Upon checking in, Marcus (sp?) gave us so much helpful information regarding the hotel, the area around the hotel as well as a rundown on the island bus service. This information was invaluable! We wish that we'd had some of his helpful information earlier in the week while staying in Philipsburg. We also got great information from Carter regarding local restaurnt suggestions. He pointed us to some really good food with really good service.

Our experience was even better when my fiance proposed, with one knee painfully down on the tile floor in room #4! LOL!!

We will definitely be back to the Turquoise Shell for our next visit to St. Maarten! My future husband chose well!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ripkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    65
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
134
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days for my birthday, having arrived from Trinidad (we are expats). Although basic the apartment had everything necessary for a lovely relaxing stay for two. It is a stone's throw away from a great, white, safe, sandy beach and also has its own small pool to cool off in if you wish. Marcus and Co were most welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The apartment was clean and nicely decorated and fully equipped so I would recommend this to anyone who wants to visit St Marten on a budget as it was very competitively priced for the island with free car parking thrown in. Would return here should we go back to the island.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

As a young couple in our mid-twenties, we were looking for an affordable place that was close to nightlife, restaurants, and activities. After much research, we decided on the Turquoise Shell Inn and it was the perfect choice!! Marcus and the owner were extremely friendly and welcoming; they were helpful in offering suggestions for activities, dining, etc and even hooked us up with snorkel gear and beach towels for our excursion to Baie Rouge. Our room was perfect- it felt like we had our own apartment on the island. The decor was quaint and made us feel like we were in a cottage!

TSI was close to everything we needed- a 2 minute walk from the beach, next door to a car rental, down the street from the airport and of course, within walking distance of amazing must-eat restaurants. There was also. a small pool at the Inn as well that we used almost everyday.

Staying at TSI had a very personal feel that will keep us coming back! Thanks for an amazing stay guys!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeNina26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester County, PA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Spent two nights at Turquoise Shell Inn prior to a week-long villa rental. The 10-room motel is in the heart of Simpson Bay. Excellent access to all the bars, restaurants and retail on Welfare Road - most are within walking distance. The efficiency two-room studios with full kitchenette are spotlessly clean and well stocked. The kitchenette allows the option of preparing food in your room to save a bit of $$ - there is a large grocery store less than 5 minutes away. Plenty of room for two adults and probably a couple of kids (though we didn't have ours.) The on-site manager, Marcus, could not possibly have been more accommodating. When was the last time the manager gave you a tour of your room and explained how everything works upon check-in? Marcus is also extremely knowledgeable about the island and very willing to share with his guests. Security is good - the grounds are gated and locked each night. Each guest receives a gate remote for easy access. There is a small pool - good for just a plunge, but with 37 beaches to explore the pool was not our priority.

Just a couple of minor drawbacks. Wi-fi is painfully slow. There is occasional jet noise as planes depart SXM. And the beach (Kim Sha Beach) located just a few steps outside the back gate is simply a lousy beach by St. Martin standards. Beach lovers will want to drive to the better beaches, though beach chairs and beach towels are provided by TSI.

But if you are looking for a reasonably priced, centrally located, spotlessly clean, roomy and well-managed base for your stay on St. Martin, you will enjoy the Turquoise Shell Inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtsuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, PA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

The Touqoise Shell is a well-maintained little hotel, between the beach (Simpson Bay) and the highway. The hotel features very clean rooms with a kitchen an sitting area, and is well-stocked for your basic needs (cable TV, coffee maker, aircon, fan, etc.). The Inn's staff are excellent, and expert on the island. they also provided us with beach chairs, umbrella, snokel mask, flippers, etc, etc. While this is a basic Inn, it has features that you will not find in the reather sterile and artficial resorts....The Inn is close to lots of great restaurants (our favorites were the Indian and Chinese restaurants accross the street, and the Kewi Cafe around the corner.. It is 100 feet or so from where you can ride the vans anywhere is the island ($1.50 per trip), and a short walk to a great many grocery stores, shops, etc., and is close to the simpson Bay Marina for day trips (we went to Saba--Don't miss it)...the Simpson Beach is just stepsbfrom the hotel, and is pristine and almost empty..We actually had fish swimming right up to us.The Turquoise Shell is also close to Mullet Beach (excellent!) and Maho Beach (where the planes come in).

We also enjoyed the fact that the Inn is close to neighborhoods were the locals live--We had a chance to speak with numerous residents and experience a slice of the island which is missing from Orient Beach and the standard resort.

We felt that the TI is a tremendous travel bargain and plan to go back.

The

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennsylvaniab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonville, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Not only did we enjoy the hotel (so comfortable and clean) we benefited from the assistance of our host who helped find restaurants, stores, beaches, island sites in addition to booking special activities such as our sunset cruise and snorkeling. He quickly responded to our every whim and we loved that part! Definitely deserves a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sniiiider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TShellSxm, Owner at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive to meet the needs of every guest, to the best of our ability. I am happy that you enjoyed your visit to St Maarten and the T Shell Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Four of us stayed eight nights and had a wonderful time. There is a good selection of restaurants within easy walking distance. I give thumbs up to the Pizza Galley just on the other side of the drawbridge and the little French bakery back the other direction towards the airport. If you don't mind slumming a bit, the little trailer shack bar in front of the hotel is great. We kept going back for the perfectly cooked tilapia/fresh baguette sandwiches ($5). Google "Hilma's Windsor Castle" to see a picture in the NY Times or pull up to the bar and see the same picture taped to her refrigerator.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chindogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
203 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Shell Inn

Property: Turquoise Shell Inn
Address: 34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Turquoise Shell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small 10 room Inn located in the heart of Simpson Bay. Easy walking distance to all manner of shopping. Simpson Bay beach just our the back gate. Each unit is a small one bedroom apartment with equipped kitchen and private air cionditioned bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Turquoise Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Shell Hotel Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Inn St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing