We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stephane carries on the tradition of fine food!”
Review of Le Cottage

Le Cottage
Ranked #5 of 68 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The cottage is a traditional and gourmet french restaurant. Meet our sommelier,enjoy the perfect association wine & food,let's travel!!!!
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Stephane carries on the tradition of fine food!”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We have always enjoyed the food at Le Cottage. This time was no different. We have already dined here twice during our stay in Grand Case and will certainly be going again! On our first visit, my husband had the foie gras tasting and the Osso Buco; my daughter had the oysters and veal tenderloin and I had Shrimp/Scallop duo. Everything was delicious and beautifully presented. On our second visit, my husband had the Lobster Bisque...simply sublime; my daughter had the foie gras and osso buco and I had the foie gras lasagne and the St. Pierre fish entree. Again everything was wonderful, including the wine pairings suggested by Stephane. We certainly miss Bruno; however, Stephane and his wife have continued his fine traditions of excellent food and service. Don't miss this dining experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    857
    121
    39
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not the same restaurant without Bruno )-:”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Le Cottage up until last December has always been our favorite restaurant on the island but not any more. I'm sad but things in life never stay the same. I could go on and on about problems with our visit but the new management style was very chaotic and inconsistent. One glass of wine and a dessert was totally forgotten. Our coffee arrived stone cold and when this was brought to Stefan's attention, he yelled to his kitchen staff, from the middle of the restaurant, "I'll kill them!!!" By this point we were on the floor laughing hysterically. I guess they knew that we hadn't been happy with the food (different menu and no more lobster tasting) or service so they asked if we wanted a complementary guava liquor, my husband said half jokingly, "After what we've been through, you should leave the bottle. And they did!" FYI-DON'T eat the escargot and look for Bruno's not yet finished restaurant called Dreams near Nettles Bay.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ADVabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Very good food and wine. The service is a little chaotic. The do a 6:00 and 9:30 seating and so they seem to push the food out really quickly then sort of neglect you. Duck and fish were excellent, outstanding French onion soup. Dessert was really good apple tart and different ice creams. Came with a 3 and 4 year old and they prepared a nice simple meal for them. So if you can be patient with the service I think it is a pretty enjoyable experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nikiian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed at return visit”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

We dined at Le Cottage in August 2010 and enjoyed our experience so much that we returned over two years later. This time, while the food was excellent, we were disappointed by the service. We asked for a wine recommendation and were presented with a warm bottle of Chardonnay. My husband and I had shared appetizers elsewhere before arriving for dinner, and the gentleman taking our order seemed less than pleased when we only ordered an appetizer and entree between the two of us. We enjoyed the friendly, enthusiastic attitude of the service during our first visit, which was severely missing on this visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st.maarten
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“STEPHANE IS THE BEST”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

the food, the very nice service, he just knows his business
thanks Stephane
Stephane has been on the island since years and years and has very good advise about almost everything you may want to ask

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anna11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cottage also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing