We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Toes in the water while you eat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calmos Cafe

Calmos Cafe
Ranked #16 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$30
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Toes in the water while you eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We sat on the beach to eat, one of the only places in Grand Case to do so. Great place to eat casual, and food is good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    521
    107
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good times!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Had a super fun night great drinks and really fresh yummy fish! Dress casual as tables are on the sand and you can feel the water on your feet if you choose. Beautiful sunsets just Amazing! Our server Brice was great fun!

Helpful?
Thank Sccrmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food, Drinks, Music, Beach...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Where else can you enjoy food, drinks, music and be sitting on a beach. The atmosphere makes this a great place. Then add in the fun staff and good food and you have a great place. Make sure you go on Thursday nights for music and dancing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quintessential beach bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This is a perfect place for a drink or meal in grand case. The waitstaff is very friendly, and it has a great, fun vibe. Seating is in the sand, and the bar leads onto the beach, so you can take a dip while eating if you'd like. Prices are reasonable and the food is solidly good. It is exactly what it appears to be, in a comforting and pleasant way.

Helpful?
Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa rosa ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Chicken Creole”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We went for a stroll along the beach and ran into Calmos Cafe. We didn't really know what the expect but it was delicious! We shared Chicken Creole. It was a nicely prepare Chicken Breast with a small salad, Parmesan tomato and Zuchini/Potato Au Gratin. The service seemed a little slow but then we realized we are on "island time".

We're going back to try the cheese burger next.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keithletes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calmos Cafe also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Calmos Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing