We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“All in all, a very agreeable stay at a very nice property”
Review of Bleu Emeraude

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bleu Emeraude
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at Bleu Emeraude (BE) for four nights in late summer (August 22-26, 2013) and would definitely recommend it. The property is located right on the beach (and right on the main road) as one approaches Grand Case from St. Maarten's Princess Juliana airport (the latter is located in the Southwest of the island).

It took us approximately 30 minutes' drive from the airport to reach the property -- or would have, if we hadn't missed BE the first time 'round (we eventually did find it, with help from a couple of locals whom we stopped to ask). In addition to beach access, BE is extremely well situated for: (i) restaurants (virtually all the best-reviewed restaurants on the island are in Grand case, within a ten minute walk of BE); (ii) shopping -- grocery and other stores nearby, with a larger supermarket (Auchan) about a ten-minute drive close to Grand Case airport; and (iii) visiting the pier/waterfront/fort in Marigot. (Be warned however that in walking to dinner, the street is badly lit and the sidewalk -- where it exists -- is extremely narrow.) We were lucky to find a parking spot on the premises at ground level each time we arrived (back) at BE, as it seemed quite full.

Our "room" (which at about US$215 per night including taxes was far from cheap, but we soon learned that nothing in St. Martin is) was a self-catering one-bedroom apartment on the middle floor of a three/floor building. It was very well-equipped with fridge, electric kettle, coffee-maker, toaster, cooking utensils, crockery and cutlery, small dishwasher, small automatic (clothes) washer, etc. The air conditioners (split unit in each of the living/dining room and bedroom) were in good working order and quiet. Furnishings are somewhat limited but in very good taste -- close to minimalist style in whites with the occasional splash of color. The bedroom had a reasonably comfortable queen-size bed, and the sofa in the living room opened in another (surprisingly comfortable) queen-size bed. There was a large, very pleasant veranda equipped with lounge chairs off the living/dining area looking out onto the beach/sea, the Creole Rock, and Anguilla.

Breakfast (included in our rate) was very nice, if limited and rather simple (very nice bread and pastries, together with tea, coffee, juice, butter, and jam). It was self-service, put out in the common area on the middle floor between approximately 8 and 10:30 am. One had to be a little quick, however -- our first morning there we rose somewhat late (just before 9 am) and found the pastries were gone with only French bread remaining.

We also found the little beach right at the property to be delightful, and opted to swim there each day in spite of having seen some of the more renowned beaches on the island. The beach is a fine sand one with only occasional large rocks, so the water is easy to access. BE provides lounge chairs and beach umbrellas, together with sand toys for kids and even a couple of masks and fins (in a very small size). There is also a fresh water shower for rinsing off.

Finally, I must emphasize that we found the staff -- Frederic in particular -- both courteous and helpful. He was always attentive and obliging, and enthusiastic about responding to our occasional queries.

Our very positive overall experience notwithstanding, we also noted a couple of downsides, although in fairness not all were within the management's control. First, from the moment we entered it, our room had a very distinct, strong smell, very likely from the cleaning solvent that is used to keep the attractive white tiles in the rooms clean. My partner has a particularly sensitive sense of smell, and she found it rather overwhelming (and difficult to get rid of, even after keeping the windows open for a long while). Second, other reviewers have commented on the traffic noise from the street, where every second vehicle -- even in the wee hours of the morning -- sounds like a motorbike with muffler removed. We did indeed find this rather tiresome (though manageable -- closing the screen in the bedroom, which faced onto the street, helped somewhat). In addition, on three of the days we stayed at BE, some hammering and drilling (in the neighboring property, nothing to do with BE) could be heard beginning around 7:30 am, and lasting an hour or more. Moreover, some of the people in the apartment right above us were clearly early risers, and we could distinctly make out clattering footsteps, chairs scraping, etc. And third, upon check-in it was brought to our attention that the automatic shutter screen on the large window in the bedroom (yes, the one looking out onto the street with the passing motorbikes) was out of order, and we were advised that the repair people would be in to fix it the next day. They did indeed arrive the next day in the afternoon, and we were told that they'd be done in 20 minutes. In the event, it was more like two hours and 20 minutes, but they did do a thorough job.

Room Tip: Our apartment was on the middle floor, on the right-hand side of the building as one faces it from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCTravelerEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Bleu Emeraude twice. The first time, we stayed in a 1 bedroom 2nd floor suite. It was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. As the living room section is on the water side we actually slept in the living room pull out sofa (it was very comfortable) rather than the bedroom in order to enjoy the waves and morning views. The rooms have huge balconies with comfy furniture to curl up and read a book when you have had too much sun. The second time we stayed in a studio suite on the main floor, really perfect for the two of us with all of the same amenities as the other suite. I loved that Bleu Emeraude is on a quieter part of the bay, yet close enough to get some exercise when walking to restaurants and shops. We would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I spent 11 days at Bleu Emeraude September 2013. Our accommodations were perfect for us. We had everything we needed. The beach is beautiful and during the time we were there, not very busy. There are small areas for snorkeling opportunities which were fun to explore. Our room was nice and the area was very secure. We had heard many stories on the island about theft especially that of electronics. We felt very safe and confident that our belongings were safe when we went away. We were in room 102 which was right by the front desk which could get a little noisy. On our days were were not out diving before 0800 and wanting to sleep in became a little frustrating with the noise "which by the way was pretty minimal" but enough to wake you. But when the sun us up, it is time to get moving RIGHT? We just went to the beach and caught a few zzzz's later to catch up.

The parking underground is a nice feature but very small with not much room if others are parked in spots. Recommendation: If the rental car company attempts to upgrade you to a larger car and you intend to hang out in Grand Case or park underground, do not accept. Gladly accept your compact car, you will thank us later. We had a toyota corolla and it was tough to maneuver in some of the tight places we were in. When the staff tell you to lock your door, do not keep things in your car, and pull your security shades down when you are gone, listen to them.

Bleu Emeraude offers breakfast daily which consists of pastries, coffee, and juice. There are grocery stores close and you will have a full sized refrigerator and other appliances to do your own thing if you wish. This was nice since we are mostly vegan and usually do not eat many baked goods. It is hard to follow a diet on the island in general so good luck with that. Thank you Maya for recommending places to eat. We like the local stuff and really enjoyed our stay.

Perfect for us

Room Tip: All the rooms face the beach. Get a small car if you plan to park underground. Go to the grocery sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divergirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Our family (husband, wife, two kids (13 and 8) took two 9 day vacations this summer, and the Bleu Emeraude stands out as the best place we stayed, out of 10 places in total. First, starting with owner/manager Frederic, this hotel is as French as its name. And that's not in a bad stereotypical way. Frederic is a gracious host, sincerely interested and helpful in your enjoyment of your stay. If you arrive with misconceived notions of how unfriendly the French can be to Americans, he will alter your perspective. At the Emeraude, you feel like you are in another country--which is not a feeling you have in some other areas of this island, both in the Dutch and French sides, parts of which look a whole lot like our home state, Florida. The one bedroom was condominium large, with modern, chic furnishings, like something out of an magazine ad. A large kitchen and living area with a nice-sized, sofa sleeper, a separate bedroom (great when you have kids along), and a huge bathroom with a multiple person-sized shower, provided more space than we had all summer. The patio looks right out onto a small terrace area, with the beach/ocean just beyond. Sounds of the waves send you to sleep. The location is perfect. It is easy to find, if you know where to look-the hotel and its sign are right there on the left, on the main road, on the thirty minute drive up from Phillipsburg and into Grand Case (we didn't know, so we passed it a few times before Frederic waved us in). And for dinner, it is but a ten minute walk down a beautiful sandy beach, to the line of restaurants that make Grand Case a destination. No need to drive, just take off your shoes and enjoy the nightly walk. The beach is beautiful, as you look across to the island of Anguilla in the distance, and a great diving/snorkeling area, Creole Rock. The hotel provides plenty of beach toys, flippers and masks, to the guests. The only negatives to staying here? There is no pool (but the ocean is so inviting, the kids didn't miss a pool), and the continental breakfast, though quintessentially French with chocolate-filled croissants and jam, could use some more variety. And our one big regret having stayed here? We only stayed three nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blmerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were so lucky to have stayed at such a beautiful place. We went June of 2013 for our honeymoon. We have never been to the island and I could not have been happier with our experience. The Bleu Emeraude was very clean and quite we felt like their only guest ! The kitchen was great for making breakfast and quick lunches. I even bought pre packed cookie dough and made fresh cookies in the oven. When staying here you are walking distance to the BEST restaurants on the entire island ! The beach is pristine and the waves are very gentle as you are in a cove. You can see the Island of Anguilla from here as well. I would recommend taking a cab to the hotel from the airport and using the car rental place that the Bleu Emeraude suggest, we did and are very happy with them. I have nothing bad to say,The Bleu Emeraude is everything they say and better !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My family stayed for a week at the end of June in the two bedroom unit on the third floor. We arrived late at night and Frederic was out front to greet us. He showed us around and then took us to our apartment. The apartment was exactly like the pictures, just beautiful. It was immaculate. The apartment is very large. Each room has a slider going out to the balcony and has electric shutters that are easy to operate. In front of each room there are two loungers. The main living area also has a slider out to the balcony where there is a table and 4 chairs.The a/c works beautifully but I was surprised that we didn't have to have it on. We would leave the sliders open at times and there was a constant breeze. We never once had a mosquito on the property. The main living room also has a sleeper sofa. The kitchen was well equipped and I was able to cook some meals there. It was wonderful to make dinner and eat overlooking the ocean. I would load the dishwasher and run it and the next day the dishes were put away. There is a market called Simply less than a 5 minute drive away and just beyond that there is a wonderful wine shop. I can't remember the name but Frederic can tell you. It is run by a friendly French couple who are helpful and eager to please. The wines we bought were very good and reasonably priced. The prices at Simply were maybe a little higher than what we have in the US on most items. It is a large store with a good selection of everything. They have a great selection of cheeses. The produce would differ daily and the prices on these items were higher than at home. If you like ice cream then you must try Carte d'Or available at Simply or other markets. All of the flavors are good but the chocolate is outstanding. Within walking distance there is a bakery that sells all sorts of breads and pastries-baguettes were around $1. There are plenty restaurants within walking distance. Often we would walk down to the restaurant area and order food to go. Dining on the balcony at the Bleu Emeraude can't be beat! There is a washing machine in the kitchen and was a bit tricky to figure out but we just googled the instructions.(The wifi there is good) There is no dryer but they have a large drying rack. I thought it would take days for things to dry but it took only a few hours. The bathrooms are spacious and also very very clean. They provide soaps, shampoos etc. Every morning on the second floor there are croissants, plain and chocolate and baguettes with butter and jam. They also have coffee and orange juice. There were other guests staying there but we never saw or heard them in the building. It was a wonderfully quiet place. The two bedroom is entirely on the beachfront so there was never any road noise but I can't imagine that would be a problem in the other units. They had loungers set up with cushions and umbrellas every day. They were rarely used and they were always available. The beach is just right out the door. They have a small toy box with various noodles and sand toys just outside the door near the shower area. The beach was never crowded. The water was beautiful and warm. The snorkeling was ok but not great. There are some rocks but not many and never caused us any problems. Overall it was a very relaxing place and very quiet. If you want nightlife you can walk down the beach to various bars. On occasion we could hear music playing but it was never annoying. We looked at many different condo units and this was by far the nicest we found and has so many amenities. We are so glad we stayed here and can't wait to return. Thank you Frederic for a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. It is a small property and as far as I could tell the two bedroom was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBGraber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel provides serviced apartments. The service was very good. The building and setting were perfect: on the beach, and a short walk to the shops and restaurants, but far enough to avoid the crowds and cooking smells! All the fittings, air-con, etc worked well. We would stay there again, and also recommend this to family and friends.

Room Tip: A first floor and beach facing, which we had, is best, to maintain a bit more privacy. The studio wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
303 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,363 reviews
5.9 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
1,146 reviews
5.6 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bleu Emeraude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bleu Emeraude

Address: 240 Bvd de Grand Case, Grand Case 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Case
Price Range: £210 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bleu Emeraude is a luxurious new residence on the Grand Case beach. Each apartment offers tranquility and an exceptional view of the Caribbean Sea and the island of Anguilla on the skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bleu Emeraude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bleu Emeraude Hotel Grand Case

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing