We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous property right on ocean”
Review of Bleu Emeraude

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bleu Emeraude
Ranked #1 of 8 Grand Case B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Gorgeous property right on ocean”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed in Bleu for a week in January 2014 and absolutely loved our stay. We really enjoyed being in a small inn with just 11 units, and every room has an ocean view. The rooms are modern and clean, and are set up as apartments, complete with a laundry machine, stove, and dishwasher. The laundry ended up being incredibly helpful after getting our clothes salty in the ocean all day, and it was great to have the option to cook dinner a few nights.

The location is amazing - right on the beach, and a quick 5-10 min walk along the beach to the amazing French restaurants in Grand Case. We explored all over the island, and Grand Case was by far our favorite town, so glad to be there. They have a weekly festival every Tuesday night in downtown Grand Case that was a lot of fun - parade, street food, crafts, etc.

Remember to pack: converter/ power adapter if coming from the US (it is French outlets and voltage, I believe 220V); laundry detergent (not provided, but you can get from local grocery). The breakfast is pretty basic - some french bread and chocolate croissants - so you may want to supplement with some yogurt and cereal from the local grocery.

The only reason this is 4 stars instead of 5 is that we were on the ground floor, which is not as private as the first and second floors. The patio of our apartment was right next to the outdoor shower that all of the other guests use as they come out of the water, so we didn't feel privacy on our patio or in our room with the blinds open. (Though they do have amazing light blocking shades for sleeping in in the morning). The front desk was also right on the other side of the wall from our bed. There is someone sitting at the front desk for ~3 hours in the morning and ~3 hours in the evening, which made our bed feel a bit less private. It might make sense for them to charge different rates for the ground floor vs first floor, since other than the ground floor concern we absolutely loved the place.

Overall, a wonderful stay! Frederick and Maya were both wonderful and helpful, the location can't be beat, and the apartment are clean and modern with an incredible ocean view. Definitely the best place we saw on the island, much nicer than the huge resorts. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: avoid the ground floor - less private. ask for the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunnyday888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    48
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
188
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is great! Really great, best location, litterally right on the beach, you are rewarded with an excellent view of Grand Case bay. Staff being very friendly and helpful. Frederic kindly helped us book restaurants and trips.
We stayed in a 1bedroom suite, had 2 teens sleeping on the sofabed, which worked very fine. The room is large and bright. Breakfast is served on a 'go and get' basis, meaning that you are supposed to go and get the croissants, juice and coffe you want and bring it to your room, it works fine.
The hotel have a few sunbeds and umbrellas you may use when you are at the beach, walk to center of Grand Case is only about 10 mins. No pool but you dont miss it, when the beach is so nice.
Would love to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Bleu Emeraude was a delight. The living room was large, with a kitchenette, a foldout bed for two, and a table and four chairs. The bedroom was nicely sized, and the suite includes a huge bathroom. The room s are airy and light, with the main room overlooking a balcony with two chaise lounges for shady reading right adjacent to the beach . Spotlessly clean and pristine. A few steps out the door puts you on their private section of beach, where azure water laps at the chaise lounges they provide. A continental breakfast of coffee, juice, and croissants is included, as is an underground parking garage. A great value and only a few minutes walk to Grand Case Boulevard where all the gourmet restaurants are located.

Room Tip: We were in the first floor, which I would ask for again, but it is not necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We visited Bleu Emeraude earlier in the year and the building itself is beautiful. Since the airport is in the Dutch side and the hotel is on the French side the commute was long but keep your eye out for the hotel as our taxi driver passed it the first time due to signage. The room was beautiful with an ocean facing balcony. The kitchen was well stocked. The morning breakfast items were delicious especially the coffee.
Now here are a few things we would have wanted to know before choosing this hotel. In the winter months the beach outside the hotel does not get a lot of direct sunlight and is very breezy so you get sand blasted. If you try to bring the beach chairs closer to the water to be under the sun, the hotel staff did not like that. If you walk down the beach towards the restaurants those beaches get more direct sunlight and are nicer. Try the Lolos for lunch and dinner!
Very nice hotel but if you are looking to just lay on the beach and enjoy the warm sun this is not the best choice of hotel for that.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlr2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment for 5 nights over Thanksgiving. It was lovely - one bedroom with ensuite and king bed, the other bedroom with a queen bed. Both with access onto the beachfront balcony. No problems at all with noise. Having two bathrooms was a real bonus, as well as the space to spread out on the table and chairs near the kitchen, or one of the 4 lounge chairs or table on the balcony. We ate dinner at the apartment almost every night. The kitchen was well equipped - the only thing we really missed was some cling film, don't forget to buy it when getting your groceries.

The apartment looks just like the pictures on the website. The apartment is right on the beach and a 10 minute walk from Grand Case restaurants and shops. The views of Grand Case, the beach and over to Anguilla are perfect.

The property was full, but it never felt it. We enver had problems getting lounge chairs on the beach or pastries/coffee at breakfast, which is offered from 8am until 10am.

Frederic and Maya are so welcoming and extremely helpful, offering to make dinner reservations, give directions, etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Dont have a lot of words... A am still impressed by everything we experienced here, the unique view from your private terrace on the sea just a footstep away, the excellent and helpful, professional service from the owner, the little sweet breakfast, the high quality and clean property, the unique and probably best beach experienece so far.... Thank yoy guys! J & S.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

If you love simple, clean, sea, French breakfast, full kitchen, beach and peace, then this is your place. We are so delighted to have stumbled upon this gem!!
Tripadvisor requires more verbiage, however anymore would be redundant. Perfect is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,781 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
293 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,281 reviews
5.9 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
1,113 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bleu Emeraude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bleu Emeraude

Property: Bleu Emeraude
Address: 240 Bvd de Grand Case, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bleu Emeraude is a luxurious new residence on the Grand Case beach. Each apartment offers tranquility and an exceptional view of the Caribbean Sea and the island of Anguilla on the skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Bleu Emeraude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bleu Emeraude Hotel Grand Case

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing