We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Earns its #1 Rank in Grand Case”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Earns its #1 Rank in Grand Case”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The recent excellent reviews describe the hotel exactly. Had a wonderful 5 day stay. If Grand Case is for you then I would recommend this hotel. I also would strongly recommend that you consider renting a car even to get into town. If you decide to walk at night into town, there is no sidewalk, the traffic is heavy, and the road is not well lit. In this section of Grand Case there is a mix of the local's houses and businesses. It is not a "resort property", but a boutique hotel at the south end of a small village.

Room Tip: Upper floors; room 6 has a great corner view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBD1850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    46
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
425
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We were looking for a quiet getaway in a paradise setting, and based on previous reviews, we chose Le Petit! We were not disappointed in the least! The views were incredible from our room, Room 9, which was on the 3rd level. We did not have a covered balcony, and we were so glad! We had a nice blend of shade and sun while eating breakfast, (fresh fruit and croissants - very nice!) sea breezes and the sound of the surf made it an incredible setting! Very private and wonderful! The rooms were clean, the service was everything you would want and expect! We asked for recommendations on restaurants and beaches and beach bars and the recommendations provided by Elettra and Jean-Francois were just perfect!

The walk to many of the Grand Case restaurants, like Rainbow Cafe, is short and the beach is very walkable, sand is soft and white!

We only gave a 4 star on the sleep quality and that was simply because our bed was very squeaky whenever either of us would move. Other than that, no complaints!!! We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Le Petit Hotel is a good choice if you are looking for a small boutique hotel with friendly staff, on the beach, and within walking distance of the great restaurants in Grand Case. We had two rooms on the top floor with a view of Grand Case beach and across the ocean to Anguilla. I can’t remember the last time we received such a friendly greeting upon arrival at any hotel. Parking is in front of the hotel. Note there is no elevator here, but the staff will carry your bags to and from your rooms if you need assistance. The rooms are really more like small studios. They are very spacious with a comfortable king size bed, a table and 4 chairs, small kitchen area, one or two comfortable seats, and a small terrace looking over the ocean. The hotel is located between a fairly busy road and the beach with the entrance to each room on the roadside, and sliding doors opening to the small terrace (with a table and chairs) at the ocean side. A self-serve continental breakfast is available daily from about 8-10.30. There are trays available to carry everything back to your room so you can enjoy breakfast sitting on the terrace overlooking the ocean. The terraces are very peaceful, and the view is wonderful.

This is probably not the place for you if you are looking for upscale luxury accommodation or like those large resorts with beach loungers lined up side-by-side. The rooms are a good standard, and nice for a beach vacation. The fact that Le Petit Hotel gets a lot of repeat guests says it all.

I would probably not recommend this hotel to anyone that is a very light sleeper due to very occasional noise from traffic during the night. However, most guests will probably enjoy the sound of the waves from the ocean side.

The hotel location for fine dining in Grand Case is excellent allowing you to walk to dinner and back. However, the road is rather busy, and there is no sidewalk. It is possible to walk on the beach to the restaurants in town, and we did this a few times. (We felt perfectly safe walking around at night.) For lunch try the BBQ at the lolo restaurants in Grand Case. Lunch is about $7-10. A beer is $1.50! Talk of the Town, and Sky’s The Limit were good. We ate at five of the popular restaurants rated highly on Trip Advisor. Generally, I think those recommendations are fairly good, but Spiga (an Italian restaurant) is for some reason rated much lower than it should be. (Possibly because it is on a side street, and reviewers are thinking about location rather than the food, ambiance and service?) Try it. Also, if you visit Marigot stop by the French bakery recommended by the staff at Le Petit.

Overall, Le Petit offers great value if you like the more intimate hotel atmosphere, and want to relax and enjoy your vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Adventure1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Yes Virginia, there is a Santa Claus! And, yes fellow ocean/beach lovers, I just hit on the dream hotel, never realizing accommodations this close to the edge of the sea actually exist. I have a difficult job ahead of me, I need to paint you a portrait in text, when the ambiance I'm experiencing is virtually indescribable. Suffice to say, the vibe...the mood is so mind blowing and unimaginable, I had to write this review, here...and now. The architecture is uniquely Mediterranean, and as you might have guessed the ten stunning suites sit on the sand, (of an uncrowded, unspoiled beach) with DIRECT, UNOBSTRUCTED views of the open turquoise sea and the distant island of Anguilla. The sound of waves sing me to sleep on a fabulously firm mattress, topped with a "bed of feathers" all dressed in fine quality French cotton sheets, down comforter, duvet and abundant pillows. After you get home, you'll have memories of how well you slept and no sound machine from Brookstone will ever duplicate this soothing lullaby of breaking surf. At 8:00 AM you'll find an array of complimentary, continental breakfast items in the open air lobby. There are trays with which you can carry your freshly squeezed orange juice, American brewed coffee, espresso, french pastries, croissants, sliced ripe pineapple, bananas, oranges and yogurt. If you decide to leave your room, and it will be tough, the hotel is conveniently located barefoot steps from the renowned French restaurants and boutiques of Grand Case, a picturesque little fishing village also known as the gastronomical capital of the Caribbean. You'll want for nothing while staying here. The service is impeccable and memorable. I found welcoming touches of fresh frangipani and bougainvillea blossoms here and there throughout my elegantly furnished suite. The staff is knowledgeable, accommodating cheerful and available. The cleanliness is unsurpassed and the accoutrements and ammenities too plentiful to mention, (other than that much appreciated welcome basket overflowing with yummies.)

Sea Fever

I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by,
And the wheel's kick and the wind's song and the white sail's shaking,
And a gray mist on the sea's face, and a grey dawn breaking.

I must go down to the seas again, for the call of the running tide
Is a wild call and a clear call that may not be denied;
And all I ask is a windy day with the white clouds flying,
And the flung spray and the blown spume, and the sea-gulls crying.

I must go down to the seas again, to the vagrant gypsy life,
To the gull's way and the whale's way, where the wind's like a whetted knife;
And all I ask is a merry yarn from a laughing fellow-rover,
And quiet sleep and a sweet dream when the long trick's over.

John Masefield

Room Tip: Every suite "fronts" the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank xanjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horseheads, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Le Petit Hotel, St. Maarten

The Le Petit Hotel is a grand small hotel with great service. The rooms are spacious and appointed with taste, kitchenette, balcony on the beach, and a fantastic view. The staff is superb with knowledge of the island.

It is located on the French side near the Grand Case and is walking distance to the lolo restaurants (in French it means shacks) that serve great grilled dinners. Night after night you can visit different ones and have pork, chicken, or sea food. Bring dollars or euros - cash is the same to them. If you are lucky you might even stumble upon the old derelict Morgan (car) along the walk to the lolo area. The Friars Beach is a must.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigMac0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Well, we stayed there because of the TA reviews. We were not disappointed. This small 10 room hotel is in the Grand Case (French side) on the beach. JonLouise and Ellettra were very helpful and made us feel at home. We had a 2nd floor room #4 which was great, however it had a big palm tree in the middle of the view. Ask for room 5,6 or 7, second floor. Any room is good, but these are the best. The beach is small because the tides come up to the bldg. If you want a great beach go to Mullet Bay. The french resturant row is a short drive (2 mins), NOT WALK!!! , and if you walk down the beach you will certainly get wet and tired. Trust me on this.
Anyone who comes to the island and doesn't rent a car is crazy. This little hotel is great and I will come back here anytime. Brovo little guy!!!

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMJETS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

5 days a Le Petit. Clean rooms, fine linens, great simple breakfasts, snorkeling gear, simple kitchen, the sound of the waves and a great view of Grand Case. Easy 10-15 min walk into dinner on Grand Case (we walked on the beach). This is not a resort but as a home base for exploring the islands many beaches (particularly on the french side) it was terrific. A great spot to come home to in the afternoon for drinks on the balcony before finding the restaurant of the evening. Great for couples.

Room Tip: Room 6 second floor has best balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BIGbearRoadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
4.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 248 Boulevard de Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set upon the sand of Grand Case Bay, this is St. Martin's true boutique hotel. Le Petit Hotel has an air of casual luxury, yet assures an impeccable attention to detail. Stylish and thoughtfully appointed rooms feature Balinese furniture, Frette linens, Damana amenities, fully equipped kitchens and marble bathrooms. Sunlight plays upon the surface of the sea while you enjoy soft tropical breezes from your own private terrace. Time to unwind, time to relax, time to wine, time to dine...A mood to remember. Le Petit Hotel...For the lucky few. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing