We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From the moment I arrived”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“From the moment I arrived”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

From the moment we arrived for our honeymoon at this boutique beachfront hotel we were warmly welcomed by Remy and Elletra. We were told about the hotel and the hours of the front desk. When the desk was closed just call for anything. The room was next Rich and modern with a sense of island history,extremely clean and very comfortable. The staff was not only exceptional but we're generally happy. Same for the guests. All those we saw arriving had the same look of wonder. There is a caring here that I have rarely experienced. Besides the great room and warm staff, the location is truly awesome. Right on the beach and a short walk to the great gastronomic experience called Grand Case. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a large terrace right on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    46
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
425
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have been to St Maarten on several occasions and came to Le Petit Hotel based on recommendations on Trip Advisor. We were definitely impressed. A lovely boutique hotel with the most gracious staff imaginable. Not only is there a breathtaking view of the bay, the rooms are impeccably clean with all the conveniences of a full apartment. Even the snacks are well thought out and complimentary. There is a scrumptious continental buffet set every morning as well.
Close proximity to all of the wonderful restaurants in Grand Case by foot along the beach or a quick walk down the sidewalk. We had a car and elected to drive, there was ample free parking out in front.
We will definitely return, I have to say it is the nicest spot in the best area of the island.

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor and it was lovely. Third floor has open roof-top and first floor has a walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We are staying at Le Petit Hotel and it is everything we had expected based on reviews. We are lucky enough to be in Room 6, and it has a beautiful view, but ALL the rooms here are wonderful and face the ocean. Grand Case is a lovely beach, with hills on both sides and yachts bobbing in the harbor. The beach in front of Le Petit Hotel is calm and lovely, with comfortable lounge chairs - no need for an umbrella, as the angle of the sun is such that there is always shade up near the hotel, which is just a few feet from the water's edge. Iced lemon-water is available all day in the lobby, so really this is a great place to spend the day. We snorkeled down along to the left, and enjoyed plenty of colorful juvenile fish. We walked down to Grand Case along the beach for lunch. The breakfast here at Le Petit is plentiful, with fresh fruit, fresh-squeezed juices, espresso as well as coffee, yogurt, and a wide variety of perfect French pastries including some small, delicious quiches. The walk down to Grand Case in the dark is the only down side, due to the lack of sidewalks and the speed of the traffic. Sometimes we opted for the beach, but it is VERY dark and and a few stray dogs follow along. No place is perfect, however, and the walk gives you an opportunity to appreciate the beauty of the hotel and the delight of the restaurants in Grand Case, which are unsurpassed anywhere in the world. The rooms at Le Petit Hotel have kitchens and pots and pans, so it would be easy enough to prepare meals right here.

To be fair, I should mention the cons, which are few. The stray dogs on the beach sometimes bark like crazy in the middle of the night. The ceiling fan is a noisy, complex contraption but it does its job well. There are homeless people sleeping on the far left end of the beach, but they seem quite harmless and quiet. There is no pool, but you are welcome to use the pool at their sister hotel nearby.

The staff at the hotel could not be more helpful and friendly, without being overbearing. When my husband did not feel well, they gave us great advice on where to find a doctor and pharmacy. They made reservations for us to go out on a boat to snorkel, and when the place tried to cancel when my husband could not go with me, the staff at the hotel stood up for us, and I went on my outing and had a wonderful time. They know everything about the local restaurants, and offer discount coupons to some of the best of them. When we arrived, we found complimentary champagne, juice, and snacks. And the wireless is strong and reliable, which enabled us to keep tabs on the budget debate in Washington and get some work done. We are here during the off-season, when the rates are lower. No need for restaurant reservations. We plan to return.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor enjoy direct beach access, as well as shade. The rooms on the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Egglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleair Shores, Fl
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was the perfect boutique hotel! I did a lot of research and realized the week we booked to visit St. Martin was their "low season". Although many things were closed we were still able to make the most of our long weekend in St. Martin (Friday - Wednesday). We arrived in the evening unfortunately (we were looking forward to landing in St. Martin during the day), but Henry was there to greet us. He was wonderful about helping us carry our bags - we had room 10 which is the best room with a view - and showed us the amenities of our room. If you like a quaint, quiet hotel that is walking distance to many wonderful restaurants, this is the place to stay! We walked to Piazza Pascals where we ate at two nights in a row, Ocean 82, and the Lolo to have what the locals eat. Every morning we woke up to fresh croissants, danishes, juice, milk, fruit, quiche, bread, butter, jellies and EXPRESSO! The snorkeling out the back door is fantastic which we did everyday after breakfast before heading out to explore the island. After looking at the other hotels in the area, I don't think you could do any better. There is no pool or fitness center, but who needs it when you have the ocean and can walk? When walking, the area can seem a bit seedy, but we were never bothered by anyone, in fact they were most helpful! After seeing the various hotels in the area, when we come back, we would stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 10 for the 3rd floor - there is no roof. Room 6 for the 2nd floor. Room 2 for the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAChivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I was very glad to have read all of the other reviews and to have chosen this little gem. Once we walked in to the room I was like "Wow" this place is European modern with comfortable furniture and boom there is the beach and the ocean just on the other side of the room.
There were sodas, beer and a few snacks that were complimentary.
The area is great for relaxing and the local food was very good. Not much of a night life place but very relaxing.
This is not a resort and if you are looking for a huge resort this isn't it. If you want something small and out of the ordinary and still very nice this is it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the bottom floor and our balcony went straight out to the beach. Very private. I did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Neal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My wife and I reluctantly just returned a few weeks ago from an unbelievable week-long vacation at Le Petite Hotel. We had been to the island as part of a cruise, but as much as we enjoyed that port visit in Philipsburg, it didn't compare to our stay in Grand Case. EVERYTHING, from making the arrangements, to the warm hospitality and quaintness of the location was one of the most pleasant experiences. How can you beat the off-season price for luxury accommodations with one of the most incredible waterfront views, and a location just feet from crystal clear water, a white sand beach and walking distance to some of the finest dining in the Caribbean? The answer is...you can't! The owners and staff at Le Petite have figured out the secret sauce for those of us hungry for an escape to a tropical paradise. We practically had the beach and restaurants all to ourselves! If you're not into crowds, but want to experience the high life, Le Petite and Grand Case in St. Martin in the off-season is the place to go. When you're "tired" of the ocean (as if that's possible), head on over to their sister establishment, Hotel L' Esplanade at the other end of Grand Case to swim in their gorgeous pool. Lots to do around both sides of the island, and don't be afraid to rent a car...we're so glad we did. It gave us the flexibility to come and go as we pleased. Le Petite will even help you arrange a rental car with Marcus, a preferred vendor. Grocery stores are all around, both small and market-sized. A very special shout-out to the staff we had the pleasure to meet: Anne-Laure, Jean Francois, Philomena, and our nightly greeter after dinner in town - Henry the security guard. Everyone went out of their way to make sure our vacation was memorable. This is one place you don't want to miss!

Room Tip: Room #10 had an AWESOME view....third floor end unit looking down the beach leading into Grand Case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Even before we booked, the staff of Le Petit is always prompt at replying to our email inquiries. It is a quiet hotel and this was the perfect honeymoon hotel for us. The room is very clean and everything looks brand new. We loved having our breakfast on the balcony with two very comfortable bar stools, bar table and two wooden beach chairs. The view is amazing! We do like the beach area better in front of the Rainbow bar as well as the beach right in front le Petit has more rocks. But people do still swim in it. Booking excursions with the staff is a breeze, you really feel like you are well taken care of here.

Other helpful info:
It is walking distance to the restaurants including the famous lolo’s. There is a couple of convenience store nearby and a pharmacy too where they have an atm machine just outside but it only takes out euro. If you need U.S. dollars you would have to drive or take the taxi to Simply supermarket (about 8 minutes away) or you can go to Marigot, where you take the ferry to Anguilla and St. Barths.

Overall we had the best time and we cannot wait to book our return. Thank you Francois and Anne!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kaylay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
4.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 248 Boulevard de Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set upon the sand of Grand Case Bay, this is St. Martin's true boutique hotel. Le Petit Hotel has an air of casual luxury, yet assures an impeccable attention to detail. Stylish and thoughtfully appointed rooms feature Balinese furniture, Frette linens, Damana amenities, fully equipped kitchens and marble bathrooms. Sunlight plays upon the surface of the sea while you enjoy soft tropical breezes from your own private terrace. Time to unwind, time to relax, time to wine, time to dine...A mood to remember. Le Petit Hotel...For the lucky few. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing