We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 17 January 2009

We selected Le Petit Hotel because I wanted a little luxury and my husband wanted a small hotel. Tough combination to find. Le Petit was the perfect answer. The rooms were lovely. The staff was fabulous. The snorkeling on the beach right in front of the hotel was increible- heck no need for googles, just walk out and look down.
We love to eat and St Maarten is the place to go for food. The hotel gave us incredible suggestions. The placement of the hotel is great to just walk down the street and find wonderful restaurants there. Nice to not have to worry about which person is driving home.
We can't wait to go back. I've never had such a strong desire to return to the same place. Feels a little like home.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ah3273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    47
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
438
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We stayed at Le Petit Hotel for one night while in transit to St. Barth. We chose this hotel based upon location as we were flying out of the Grand Case airport and knew it was near many restaurants. It was about a 40 minute ($30) cab ride from PJIA.
The room was lovely and well equipped. It has a balcony with a good view, small kitchenette, table, comfortable bed and nice bath. Plenty of towels were provided. Our room was quiet and we slept well. There was a small grocery story very near the hotel. Although we were only there for one night, I would recommend this place as a great location if you were staying on SXM.
We were able to walk to the Grand Case restaurant row easily and had no worries, even on the walk back later that night.
A continental breakfast was provided to be enjoyed on the balcony. The hotel made a reservation for a cab to pick us up the following morning, He was there right on time!

  • Liked — Location and room ammenities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaire
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2008

We had a trip planned to Anguilla and decided to enjoy one night in French St. Martin. I contacted the property direct and was given a last minute reservation. The staff responded immediately and were most helpful. We checked in late after 8 PM and were given a lovely room overlooking the sea. The 3rd floor vantage point offered views of Anguilla and Grande Case. Magical.

The bathroom was large with lovely Damana Italian apothocaries, thirsty towels and robes. The bedding was crisp cotton. The furnishings modern and bright. The kitchen was well appointed. It was a lovely room. There were books and plenty of lights and a TV, CD player and COLD AC.

We walked 15 min. along mostly sidewalk to the dining and shopping areas. Grande Case is charming to say the least. There are a plethora of dining options. Our hosts reserved us a table for dinner at one of the many dining spots. I recommend eating at one of the Lolo's or BBQ. The grilled lobster looked amazing.

In the AM we had a lovely Continental breakfast with delicious French pastries, fresh OJ and tea.

This is a perfect escape.

  • Liked — Stephanie and Kristin made this happen. Great staff...amazing room and location..
  • Disliked — some of the road did not have sidewalk into town
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank caribchakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleigh, nc
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

The worst part about the Le Petit was that we had to leave. From the moment we arrived till our departure we were impressed with this little hotel. Let me start by saying what others have already stated: if you are looking for a full service hotel, the Le Petit would not be the place for you. If you are looking for a place to unwind, for privacy, reconnect with a loved one, etc. this would be your place.

Before we arrived at St. Martin the Le Petit had reserved us a rental car (owner picked us up at the airport and dropped us off for our departure), in room massages, and private boat for a half day excursion. Thank you Le Petit!!

We arrived on Wed. and met Stephanie at the front desk. She was extremely helpful throughout our entire stay. We asked her questions several times a day, borrowed DVDs, books, maps, snorkel gear, etc. Both Stephanie and Caroline were most helpful and made our experience memorable. Use their knowledge, they never told us wrong.

Our room was wonderful. We stayed in room #10, top left corner of the building. It was very bright and airy, (very dark privacy curtains for late sleeping), always clean, large shower. The bed was a little hard but for some reason we slept fine on it.

We went to Le Bounty to get wine, cheese, and small snacks. Every day we had small snacks for lunch and walked down the beach to the restaurants at night. The location was perfect for us. Just out of town, quiet end of beach, but a short 15 minute walk to some great restaurants.

Would only stay at the Le Petit for a return trip. Thank you to Stephanie and Caroline. You helped us make some lasting memories!!

K

  • Liked — Privacy and helpful and friendly staff
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank justliked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, AR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

We actually couldn't decide between L' Esplanade and Le Petit so we stayed at both hotels. L' Esplanade had a very nice pool, but we really enjoyed our stay at Le Petit! Nothing beats being located right on the ocean front where you can hear the waves lapping at night. The mornings were wonderful too because we would go downstairs to load up a tray w/ the complimentary French pastries and coffee and have it on our balcony. The staff is super nice, and Caroline was very helpful to us. Both hotels go above and beyond to please their guests. You wouldn't normal find this at big resorts. We walked to Grand Case from L' Esplanade, but weren't comfortable walking from Le Petit. We just drove the car into Grand Case and parked along the street. Just be sure to pull you sideview mirrors in! They tend to get knocked due to the narrow roads! Our favorite restaurant by far was Le Cottage. The guys were very enthusiastic about their food and wine and with good reason! L' Gourmande was also pretty good. We were disappointed in L' Hibiscus and Sol E Luna. They just didn't "wow" us at all.

If you have read the bad reviews about the Voyager and it being the Gaggin' Wagon, don't let this prevent you from visiting St. Barts!! We almost didn't go because we have heard so many bad reviews about people getting sick on the boat. We ended going on the Voyager II that takes off at Oyster Pond. It's only a 40 minute boatride vs the 1.5 hour trip from Marigot. We just took dramamine an hour before our trip and we were fine! If you can handle the tilt a world ride at the county fairs, you should be able to handle this boat ride! St. Barts is sooo gorgeous! Be sure to rent a car so you can explore the small island. If you want to go shopping, don't go on a Sunday because the shops are closed.

  • Liked — the clean rooms w/ nice furniture and bedding
  • Disliked — no fitness facility
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Dorky Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Le Petit is not a full service, around the clock busy place. If you want a bar/restaurant/beach sports on premises Le Petit is not for you. However we really adore the place because it is quiet, quaint and fulfills our needs. Majority of the time we spent in a hotel was on the balcony, the chairs are comfy, the view on the water is beautiful and the sound of the waves is amazing.

The housekeeping was surprisingly friendly and unintrusive. We never had them knocking on our doors while we were in, yet every day room was getting cleaned.

The beach is public, however majority of the time you have the beach all to yourself. The water is beautiful, and you don't have to go far to snorkel --there are a few large flat rocks in the water on the sides of the beach, and they are full with all the different kinds of fish. In addition to the garden variety tropical fish we saw something that looked like squid, a small baracuda, come small crabs, few slugs, piles of sea urchins and starfish. For guests, there are free longue-chairs on the beach that you can grab. There are also beach umbrellas, but you have to ask for one on the front desk.

Also we did enjoy breakfast; while it included only pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee, everything was very fresh and satisfying.

The restaurant row is only 10 minute walk from the hotel; however there are no sidewalks on the road so it does get uncomfortable when there is a lot of traffic. While car rental is not strictly speaking necessary, it does make things much simpler.

Regarding the internet. There is wireless internet access with multiple access points throughout the hotel, so the reception is excelent everywhere. However, the speed is less then adequate. Somehow, during the day the speed never went above 4kb/sec with huge packet loss, so slow that in fact we could even barely go on google (we suspected that maybe someone was downloading movies via filesharing and overloading the routers, but who knows). As a result, one would not be able to do any remote work should the need to do so arise. This is a shame, because this hotel is otherwise a perfect spot for taking a few weeks to work away from work. To be fair, in the evening/at night the internet speed was more reasonable, we were even able to watch some videos online.

  • Liked — great balcony
  • Disliked — metal bar chairs and high table on the balcony uncomfortable
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank anutaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

Lovely little hotel. Stayed in Room 1 for a week and loved the room, loved the view, loved the staff, loved the beach. Clean as a whistle, and it is so quaint how each morning I would open the door to a cardboard box full of squeezed oranges which the housekeepers were juicing for our breakfast. The breakfast was great, and Caroline was just a joy to work with. The beach in front of the hotel is lovely also. The parking lot was sometimes a little tricky, as driving in St. Martin is something you'll just have to experience to appreciate. The only downside, and I hesitate to address such a simple to fix issue, is a pretty big one. Other reviews on this site have mentioned this also... the mattress is laying on top of a large sheet of plywood. It isn't uncomfortable... but it is noisy as all get out. And I'm not just talking during a little "activity" either... every time one turns over in bed, the creaking begins. It kept both of us awake most of the trip. I didn't complain, as I knew this from the other reviews, but I was disappointed that such a glorious stay at a glorious place was tarnished by something so simple to fix. Thus, the "average" grade. Throw out the plywood, buy a box spring, and this place ranks higher on my list than any number of the "finest" resorts in the world that I have been fortunate enough to stay in. The pool at the sister resort is fantastic and we had it to ourselves on each of the 4 trips we took there. Drive there (don't even think about walking) and you'll be happy that you did! Enjoy dinner at Hibiscus - the best restaurant I ever hope to visit...

Caroline - thanks for all that you did for us during our stay. I cannot thank you enough...

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank worktowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,804 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.4 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
755 reviews
5.8 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
1,135 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 248 Boulevard de Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set upon the sand of Grand Case Bay, this is St. Martin's true boutique hotel. Le Petit Hotel has an air of casual luxury, yet assures an impeccable attention to detail. Stylish and thoughtfully appointed rooms feature Balinese furniture, Frette linens, Damana amenities, fully equipped kitchens and marble bathrooms. Sunlight plays upon the surface of the sea while you enjoy soft tropical breezes from your own private terrace. Time to unwind, time to relax, time to wine, time to dine...A mood to remember. Le Petit Hotel...For the lucky few. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing