We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not super-luxurious, but clean, secluded and convenient...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Case Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not super-luxurious, but clean, secluded and convenient...”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Well, we were on our honeymoon and had 2 double beds...they had nothing else available, but we made the most of it.
The room was ok...a bit small, but we were really only there to sleep. The bathroom was quite nice, and the A/C worked great!
My favorite part was the private beach--lots of shade available under these wonderful trees that formed a canopy overhead, which was a must for my fair skin. We lounged out there almost every day, bringing a picnic lunch of delicious baguettes, meat and cheese from the little store down the road.
The little restaurant (Sunset Grill) was great for breakfast and room service--no complaints there.
We also liked the fact that we didn't have to drive to get into "town". It was only about a 5 minute walk into Grand Case for dinner, drinks and shopping.
So, it's nothing fancy, but at times you feel like you have the whole place to yourself. It's clean, secluded and convenient.

Room Tip: If you book through a travel site, make sure you call the hotel to confirm your room/beds/etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spf1OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,171
    441
    80
    33
    19
See reviews for
325
1,020
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My 24 year old daughter and I spent a week at the Grand Case Beach Club for my 50th birthday celebration. The location, the price, the staff, the other guests and our room was perfect! It is a comfortable place on an island that can often be either too shabby or too snobby chic. It is just right! We absolutely loved the Sunset Restaurant. The staff goes out of their way to get to know the guests staying at the adjoining hotel. Sandra, Phillipe, Carlos, Lolo, Sabrina and the other employees were fun and memorable. Sandra makes a mean T-Punch and hopefully they have replaced the rum we drank so that others can enjoy the experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marignyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My family and i just returned after a week long stay. We loved the Grand Case. Location, service and rooms were all excellent. Staff went above and beyond. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at GCBC for 10 nights and we couldn't be happier. We had a one bedroom suite room and it was more than we had hoped for. The full kitchen was perfect for the nights that we wanted to cook in, the bed was incredibly comfortable, the family room was large and welcoming and the ocean front view could not be beat. Upon arrival we were given a bottle of wine and a bell man was called to take our bags to the room. Every day the housekeeping crew would wash any dished we had, mopped the floor, made the bed and replaced the bathroom towels. I can't imagine a more enjoyable place to stay on the island. We were a 3 minute walk to "Restaurant Row" and a close drive to everywhere else. We rented a car for a few days from the airport on the French side of the island and it was only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Very convenient. The only complaint I have would be Sandra the bartender. She was extremely rude to us.

Room Tip: Spring for an ocean front room. Gorgeous views every night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We just returned from GCBC with our two teenage daughters. I really enjoyed the resort. If you are looking for a 5 star, this is not the place. However, considering the beautiful tropical setting, it is the perfect for this atmosphere. We were fortunate to have an oceanfront 2 bedroom townhouse. Room 708 is in the best location. We could walk right out our door to the beach and restaurant. We had 2 beautiful terraces, 3 TVS, 2 bathrooms, and great living, kitchen area. It was cleaned very well each day. The customer service was impeccable. From the lobby to the Sunset Cafe, we were treated like family. Everyone went out of their way to make us comfortable. Even though the resort was full, you never knew it at all. Our beach was so private . The water was incredible. One big disappointment was the cancellation of the Scoobi boat trips to Anguilla and the snorkeling to Creole Rock. Not their fault, but the conditions of the water was too rough to go out that far. The Sunset Cafe was delicious!! Beautiful views ! Another great idea the resort provides is a security guard on the road leading from the restaurants to the hotel. I felt very safe walking back. The restaurants in town are unbelievably delicious! We tried Spiga,La Villa, Calmos Cafe and Spicy. Incredible service and some of the best dinners I have ever had, particularly at Spiga and La Villa. If I went again, I might consider renting a car for part of the time so you can get to the grocery store or other parts of the island. Taxiis are fine, but expensive. However, it is such a relaxing paradise at GCBC that you don't have to venture out too far. Hopefully I will get to return someday. I really liked the French side of St. Martin.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ct03traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Grand Case Beach Club during two of our three trips to St. Martin and we absolutely love it! During our last visit, we attempted to stay at the Dove’s Nest, just up the road from GCBC, and could only survive one night there. The savings of a few hundred dollars to stay at the Dove’s Nest was not worth it. We felt so relieved when GCBC had availability for us at a reasonable rate. We love staying in Grand Case due to the quiet location, fabulous restaurants, and availability of activities. Petite Plage Beach, one of the two beaches on the property, is perfect for us. The hotel provides complimentary chairs and umbrellas for guests, the water is gorgeous, and views of Creole Rock and Anguilla are spectacular. The beach is fairly small, quiet, and not overly crowded. Ole (or Au Lait), is the white dog that you will see around the property. She is a friendly dog who keeps watch over everything. GCBC has an activities desk on the property where you can rent snorkel gear, kayaks, and beach floats for free. You can also book excursions through the activities desk, which is so convenient. We highly recommend taking a day trip on the Scoobi Too to one of the nearby islands. We loved the trip to Tintamarre and Anguilla in particular, but also took a trip to Prickly Pear. Next time, we will take the trip which stops at three different locations in Anguilla. During our first two trips, we went snorkeling at Creole Rock, which we would also recommend. My husband went Scuba Diving with Octopus Diving, just down the road from GCBC, and loved his experience there. He even got his PADI certification during our stay. We also enjoyed having the Sunset Café restaurant right on the beach. We ate breakfast and lunch there almost every day. The staff at Sunset Café is wonderful – Chantal, Sabrina, and Phillipe were so friendly and welcoming. We preferred to eat in the town of Grand Case for dinner each night. Our favorite restaurants are Le Cottage, Bistrot Caraibes, Le Pressoir, and Spiga. It’s easy to walk to any of the restaurants from the hotel. Sol e Luna is another fabulous restaurant in a quiet setting amongst the trees. You will have to ask the front desk for directions as it can be a bit tricky to find, but it is very close to Grand Case and well worth a trip. All of the restaurants are very expensive, but the food is outstanding and one of our favorite things about vacationing in St. Martin. Be sure to rent a car as you will want the freedom to explore the island on your own. My husband and I also enjoyed spending the day at Friar’s Bay, just before Marigot. Friar’s Bay has two restaurants on the beach that also provide chairs and umbrellas. From Friar’s Bay, you can take an easy 10 minute hike to Happy Bay. Happy Bay is a deserted beach with natural shade from palm trees that you can only get to by foot or boat. There is nothing there, but it was an enjoyable way to spend part of our day. My husband and I would highly recommend GCBC to anyone. We will never try to stay anywhere else on the island. We have explored the island quite a bit and GCBC is the perfect fit for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JKVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I will agree with the previous review on one comment - this does not feel like a resort and that's why you would stay here. It's small, quiet, and even though the hotel was pretty booked, it felt like you had the place to yourself. There is no hassling over beach chairs and umbrellas, no loud crowds on the beach, and if you need something from housekeeping or the office, you get it immediately. The grounds of this hotel are breathtaking - there are little areas all over the property where you can sit and look at the bay and the mountains and Creole Rock and Anguilla. We had a room with a king size bed, living area, fully stocked kitchen area, and small dining area downstairs. To the delight of our 16 year old daughter, we also had a king size bed upstairs in a loft. This is not a luxury hotel - you will not find a supply of designer body washes, shampoo, and body creams - bring your own. Also, if you don't want to eat breakfast at the Sunset Cafe, you can call them and place your order. They will call you when it's ready to be picked up. There is not a room on the property that is more than 60 seconds from the Cafe so it's not a problem. I usually do prefer luxury hotels, but I would pass over any luxury hotel on St. Martin to stay here again. Just go to relax, do a little sightseeing and eat fabulous food in Grand Case. Watching the sunset every evening and then strolling to Grand Case for a fantastic meal served up by friendly people that make you feel at home is a lovely way to end a day.

The front office staff, Sunset Cafe staff, housekeeping, and security are all polite, friendly, and helpful. A special shout out to Sabrina at Sunset Cafe who seemed to always be working and very happy to be doing it - a smile on her face at all times and willing to answer any questions you have about the island. All of the staff at Sunset Cafe were great, but unfortunately, I can't remember any other names - sorry guys, relax mode and complimentary home-made island rum everywhere I went melted my brain.

As others have mentioned, we never felt unsafe walking into Grand Case at night. But in case you're hesitant, there was always a security guard walking the block of the hotel which is the only dark block you'll encounter during this walk. There is a supermarket that is a 5 minute drive from GCBC where you can get anything you may want to stock in your kitchen. Orient Beach is about a 10 minute drive and Paradise View where you can have lunch overlooking the beauty of Orient Beach is also very close. We accidentally discovered the Butterfly Farm when we were taking a ride to see what was close by and were thrilled that we went. It's a must do if you're in the area - friendly, informative staff.

Easy to drive to the Dutch side - just keep following the signs - you eventually figure it out. Drove to Simpson Bay on a Sunday when many things on the French side are closed. Everything there is open and there weren't any traffic hassles. Phillipsburg is also a nice day trip for inexpensive shopping. All in all, a great island and would recommend St. Martin and GCBC to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nova99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
4.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.6 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
495 reviews
4.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,210 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.3 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Property: Grand Case Beach Club
Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and relaxing, small but large enough to have just the right amount of service that brings back our guests year after year. We are constantly improving and have updated and upgraded nearly every aspect of our resort, and will continue to do so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, West Indies, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing