We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Case Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2008

We stayed at this hotel last summer and had an amazing time! The staff was great and our room was very spacious and clean. The gated parking area really allowed us to feel safe, as well as the guards who patrolled the area all night. I definitely recommend that you rent a car if possible, otherwise transportation could be difficult. The beach was quiet, especially for the summer season, and they have a great activities coordinator who can help you find things to do. If there was only one place that I could recommend you go while staying in St. Maarten, it would absolutely have to be L'Escapade restaurant. We went there for dinner on both our first and last nights so that our vacation could begin and end in a wonderfully memorable way. It's an amazing place!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoe6412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,427 - 1,433 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2008

We stayed at the Grand Case Beach Club (GCBC) several years ago, remembering it as one of the nicest vacation experiences that we’ve ever had. So, when we decided to return to St. Martin, it was a “no brainer” that we’d stay at GCBC. During our first stay, we had an excellent one-bedroom unit on the second floor of the Oleander building which, if a bit larger than we’d anticipated, met our needs impeccably; it was clean, quiet and had an absolutely spectacular beach-front view. We left GCBC realizing that we’d found perfection. Our stay on this occasion, which was at the same time as the last, January 15 - January 30, was diametrically opposite; we left very disappointed and we will not be returning!

Although both the French and the Dutch have done a disservice to the island of St. Martin, which is a possession of both countries, the French portion of the island is the more neglected. The infrastructure (specifically, roads and roadside vegetation), is in a shameful state of neglect, with all thoroughfares being inadequate to handle the volume of traffic, in a horrible state of repair and bereft of sidewalks. The lack of maintenance and apparent disregard makes getting around a dangerous proposition to both motorists and pedestrians and the roadside landscape bears more than a passing similarity to that of a third world country than a prominent, well-established resort area.


To insure that we’d be able to replicate the very positive experience that we’d enjoyed on our last stay, we made an inquiry in February, 2007 in anticipation of our stay in January, 2008. Although the GCBC Reservations staff could make no commitment about any specific room, room rate or accommodation, we were advised to make a deposit for 3 nights at that time to assure a favorable place in the reservation queue at such time when the 2008 rates had been finalized, at about June 15, 2007. Although reluctant to tie up the not-inconsiderable sum of $1500.00 for 10 months in advance of our trip, we did so, reserving a studio room. On following up last June, were advised that we could be accommodated from January 15-29, 2008. We decided to upgrade to a one bedroom unit at that time. However, we were told that, as most of the rooms were actually condominiums which the owners rented out under GCBC’s administration, no specific room could be guaranteed but that the staff would take our preferences under advisement. During December, 2007- early January, 2008 we followed up with GCBC on 2-3 more occasions to restate our room preference but were again told that there was no visibility regarding upcoming vacancies but that they’d remember our preferences and would try to accommodate our wishes. Although I asked on both occasions, I never received written confirmation of the arrangement or a receipt for the funds advanced.

We checked in at GCBC on January 16, 2008 to find that, although the room that we’d been assigned to was spacious, it was nothing even remotely like what we’d requested, being a two-floor unit with two patios. The first floor was dark enough to warrant having the lights on during the day and the patio afforded a “garden” view similar to that of my back yard at home. The vista from the second floor afforded a panorama of maybe a 10 foot wide expanse of beach and lots of palm trees. The bathrooms and light fixtures were dated, not in the best repair and the room was badly in need of painting. For this package we were charged the higher rate for an ocean view, $490.00 per day. Disappointed, we returned to the office the next day to discuss our previously-mentioned desire and the possibility of exchanging our present room for one which more closely resembled our requirement. We were peremptorily reminded that GCBC could make no guarantees but that, if we were to return at a certain time on the following Tuesday, there might be a room available that would satisfy our needs. We left resolving to make the best of an unsatisfactory situation.

With the exception of two rude, surly older waiters at the Sunset Café, the staff at GCBC was generally civil but, we share the opinion of other reviewers; that they would not be inclined to accommodate any but the most routine requests. It was our experience that room cleaning was sporadic; the sheets were not changed during our stay and the towels were exchanged twice during our 5 days at GCBC.

GCBC has access to two “beaches,” one under its control and the other a public facility. We noticed that since our first visit, both have eroded; as a result GCBC’s “beach” consists of an area which extends about 15 feet from a seawall on the GCBC premises to the water at low tide and that there is no beach at all most of the time. The public facility is larger and in somewhat better shape, with beach area at low tide stretching maybe 40 feet from the inland rocky boundary to the water’s edge and perhaps half of that at high tide. As the strong suit of any Caribbean hotel is its access to a decent beach, this lack was a disappointment.

On the second of our planned 13 day stay the weather turned bad. With most of our time during the next few days and nights being characterized by strong winds and rain, we were able to spend no more than 2-3 hours under generally cloudy skies on the beach during our stay; most of our time was spent in our room reading or watching TV. After 4 days of this we were somewhat disillusioned and decided to end our vacation early and return home. On checking out, our next surprise was the unadvertised early checkout penalty charge for an additional 3 days! When asked for substantiation GCBC staff showed us the clause buried in the fine print of the registration sheet that I’d signed. As the preponderance of GCBC’s customers must be those with advance reservations traveling from afar, I can understand the rationale for such a clause. What I have difficulty with is its reticence to call more prominent attention this fact. I’ve never been faced with such a penalty from a hotel before and, whether the practice is widely accepted or uncommon, I feel that GCBC’s failure to prominently note such a penalty on its website or in an order confirmation (if there is such a document) is shortsighted and unprincipled.

In summary, despite its down-at-the-heels appearance, the village of Grand Case is a very pleasant little place. We have many wonderful memories of the friendly people and several absolutely top-drawer, reasonably-priced restaurants. The Grand Case Beach Club, in opposition, is clean but its facilities are dated and not worth the price of accommodation charged. There are several newer, less expensive places nearby and we will bring our business to one of them on our next stay. As we feel that we were treated badly at the Grand Case Beach Club and we will certainly never return there. Based on our negative experience, we cannot recommend it as a venue for an unforgettable vacation experience.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
20  Thank CalGuySanJose_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

Grand Case Beach Club was very nice. We traveled down to celebrate my birthday. My three teenagers enjoyed the two beaches and the use of the kayaks, floats and water skiing.

We were walking distant from restaurant row. The kids loved the B-B-Q restaurants.

The hotel has a great a great staff. They were extremely nice and very helpful.

We would stay there again. We loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank freetoflyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2008

Great Food,above average service from all staff.
Clean rooms,lots of hot water and WiFi available.

It was our third stay at this peaceful spot. Beach areas are great for snorkelling and swimming. Good for families also.
Picturesque views from this secluded location.

Great restaurants nearby at all price levels. You can go to the local open air eateries or a secluded restaurant grotto for a romantic dinner. Recommend The Auberge Gourmande.
There are also places to purchase local fair ,that is fresh meats, vegetables delicious breads and pastries. The local super marche is well stocked.

Security is on site 24 & 7 for this gated, locked facility, but be aware the island is changing with it's development and their is a criminal element. If you look like a target you will be! Grande Case has not been excluded from different levels of crime.
Do your homework!

I do not feel unsafe there and what has occured in the past will not deter me from returning. I was assaulted in Marigot one night.
A random act from a drunk local. Nothing I could not handle!

If you are friendly and respect the local people they will treat you in kind.

Am going back for a month next year.

GNK
Toronto

Stayed: January 2008
6  Thank KiloYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2008

We stayed in one bedroom ocean view unit for 3 nights last december.

We had a king size and a couch with double-bed for the kids, nice balcony with terrific view over Grand case, small but clean bathroom, functional kitchen. All in all great accomodation for a family of 5 (children of 9,8 and 3 years old); the sunset café staff showed friendliness and delivered speedy service.
Very good base for excursions within the St. Martin and/or Anguilla and St. Barth..

Recommended for families!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DivonnePadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

We spent our second straight XMAS at GCBC. The location of the hotel is the best if you want to be near the many restaurants located there. It is very relaxing to just walk into town every night and just pick from all of the great places to eat. I highly recommend a new place called "Spicy". The food was great, the owners were very nice and we actually ate there twice out of 9 nights. The Blue Martini, although the food was good, we started the eveing at 7:40pm and did not get our main course until 9:50pm.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank fawngolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2007

We just stayed there between Dec 24 - 29. It's a nice property, but very dated. We had 1BR oceanview room - spacious, 2 Bathrooms, which was excellent, but horrible Nylon sheets and old beds - overall very dated rooms. Would be ok for a reasonable price, but we paid close to $500/night including tax. I'd expect something a little more updated and/or higher quality for that.
The little beach is nice, and overall the location of the property is great, but one more letdown is the service in the Sunset Cafe - the French guys could hardly be any less accommodating.....and the included Continental breakfast is ok - no more, no less. I saw them being quite rude to other people, even though they were acceptable (but no more...) with us. The restaurant is operated by a different owner, so the hotel has nothing to do with the restaurant operationally. We didn't have lunch or dinner there, for the above reasons... so I cannot comment on that.
Overall, service is very limited, once you've checked in, you're pretty much on your own.
Nice to be able to walk to the restaurants in Grand Case - there are some good choices there. (Our favorite: Panama. Tastevin was also very good).

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Elektra22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
4.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
0.6 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,359 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range: £169 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and relaxing, small but large enough to have just the right amount of service that brings back our guests year after year. We are constantly improving and have updated and upgraded nearly every aspect of our resort, and will continue to do so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing