We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Case Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

We spent a week in November 2013 at the GCBC and I would highly recommend it. It's location is good. Very easy to get to and close to lots of things. We ate in Grand Case many times. We shopped at the grocery store that is a few minutes away. Orient Beach is a 5 minute drive.
The views from our room were awesome. You are right on the beach which I love. The cafe is a great place for breakfast. The included breakfast is ok if you want a piece of bread or a croissant. Anything more you will need to purchase. Food is quite reasonable to purchase.

The only thing I wasn't real happy with was the Wifi. It doesn't work well at all.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank wouldIagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

Lovely room, AMAZING VIEWS and BEACH, helpful staff and fabulous Sunset Cafe and Creole Rock Water Sports onsite.

We spent nine perfect days, and it was everything a romantic, restful, elegant beach vacation could be. A short walk from the Grand Case restaurant strip, for additional dining options, though Sunset Cafe's cuisine is all 'round perfect. We loved the Lolos (local restaurants), particularly Jacqueline's Sky's the Limit.

We spent most days at the beach club on Le Petit Plage, lounging, swimming, kayaking, sipping Planter's Punch and taking in the beauty and peace. A simple, elegant, and blissfully indulgent centerpiece of an amazing vacation.

(In addition to hanging out at GCBC, we rounded out our St. Martin experience with a day trip via taxi, to La Ferme de Papillon (the butterfly farm - a kind of touristy, but lovely experience) and Loterie Farm at Pic Paradis, for a rather rigorous hike, and then a nice walk around Marigot; also an amazing eight hour catamaran sail on the Scoobi Too (arranged by the nice folks at Creole Rock Water Sports), to Anguilla, which included stops at the lovely Sandy Island and two lovely pristine beaches on the coast of Anguilla, for snorkeling, and general beach frolicking..not to mention a delicious lunch, open bar and conversation with the diverse group of our fellow guests. Kudos to Captain Philipe and First Mate Alice. They are top notch, expert and very gracious.)

We felt our choice to upgrade to stay in a third floor studio with sleeping loft at the GCBC, was totally worth it - for the luxuriousness of the extra space, privacy and amazing view from the third floor. If you can splurge for one of these rooms, you will enjoy.

Hotel hospitality and housekeeping staff were friendly, gracious responsive and helpful. Our room and everywhere we went on the grounds - and there are many beautiful and comfortable places to lounge and take in the gorgeous environment - was lovely and tidy, beautifully landscaped and tended to; the fitness room was comfortable and we enjoyed using it several times.

Special mention must be made of the staff at the Sunset Cafe - they complete the Grand Case Beach Club experience, with an atmosphere of Caribbean warmth, professional attention to fresh, quality French Cuisine, and impeccable service. At all times we found the restaurant to be buzzing with good cheer and efficiency. The camaraderie of the staff, and extremely proactive way they anticipated needs of their patrons was impressive. Similarly, the Creole Rock Watersports staff also were responsive and conscientious, providing for all our service needs when we hung out on the beach.

All of this contributed to a flawless experience, and there is no doubt that we will be back.

Room Tip: We were in a Studio with Sleeping Loft on the third floor. It was so worth it to get the upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed at the Grand case beach club for one night. The room was huge with pleasant decor and the bathroom nice and clean with a large open stone shower. The only draw-back would be the staff's attitude which was a bit rushed, office-like, on the rude and cold side which one does not expect in the Caribbean. They really could do better. Plus they charge huge deposits for everything as though they don't trust. Be aware that the breakfast they "include" is petty (a tiny old croissant or piece of yesterday's baguette with jam and a glass of juice/tea/coffee)
The restaurant was perfectly located elevated over the sea with amazing views...but you pay extra for it!
The location of the hotel is one of the best on Grand Case as it is away from the main road and the la petite plage is fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Over a five night stay in one of the ocean front studios, this really exceeded our expectations. Staff at all levels to a man and women were friendly, helpful and really went that extra mile, whether booking restaurants, cleaning your room or providing advice/answering queries. We were delighted with our studio - especially after a 7 day cruise in more confined quarters. It was spacious, bright, comfortable and well sound proofed with a lovely good sized balcony and gorgeous panoramic ocean, bay and mountain views. Everything was well planned and laid out with attention to detail. A great bathroom and very large powerful shower - with both a fixed and a flexible showerhead (for hosing off those fins etc.) was located as you walked I, avoiding trecking sand/wet snorkelling gear through. Nice toiletries and towels and oodles of storage - probably the first bathroom I've been in with a place and a shelf for absolutely everything. A decent hairdryer that you can plug in and style in front of a mirror is provided. (Amazing how many places don't think that one through). We were delighted with the well equipped kitchenette with full size cooker, microwave and large fridge/freezer meaning you could self cater if you wanted to. A coffee percolator and a decent kettle for tea making was provided. I still miss the amazingly comfortable, stylish and very large bed (if only mine at home was as good). The room was equipped with good quality rattan furniture with a round table and dining chairs and easy chairs inside in addition to the outdoor set on the balcony with a sun lounger. A good entertainment system with the thoughtful touch of a Caribbean music cd just to get you in that holiday mood together with a modern flat screen TV was provided alongside a welcome bottle of wine. Joy of joys, a generous amount of well designed clothes storage - fitted mirrored floor to ceiling robe and shelves; 2 big chests of drawers and 2 generous side tables. You really could completely unpack and hide the cases. Nice lighting etc. and net screening and curtains to the glass doors to the balcony finished it off. Everything was well planned and both practical and good to use as well as look at. Our 1st floor room overlooked lawns, more loungers and the balcony along which the house iguanas paraded and steps down to the lovely smaller swimming bay. Our only complaint was a slow draining sink towards end of stay and when raised with housekeeping, the plumber was immediately sent for. The hotel is split between 2 curving bay sections/swimming areas on either side of the headland. Both wings of accommodation provide amazing views. There's good snorkelling towards the rocks. Although narrow, the main beach is golden sand, clean, well maintained and managed, with good quality loungers and lots of them and beach bar service. There's on site water sports and trips available. Access in to the sea for swimming is easy and both sections sheltered. The resort is motel style, set across different levels, surrounded by flowers and lush, beautiful landscaping with lots of lovely little sitting areas, benches and view points and separate small swimming pool. There's generous parking provision and car hire can be arranged. Reception is located up 2 flights of steps. The Sunset Café is located on the promontory headland that divides the two bay sections of the resort. it's open all day and provides a charming focal point with amazing views over the bay and excellent and friendly staff service. The food was generally pretty good and by St. Martin standards, not too overpriced. A basic continental breakfast was included. The hotel and grounds are quiet, restful, private and secure, yet the town and all its attractions are barely 5 minutes stroll away. If you want to go further the staff can arrange taxis. The reception staff combined charm and helpfulness without being over intrusive. I reacted badly to insect bites and reception were really helpful, directing me to the local medical practice (about 2 minute's walk away) who sorted me out. Overall the general atmosphere embodies the tropical - is super relaxed, friendly, comfortable and laid back. There's a good launderette facility you can use with commercial standard machines located in the ice room with tokens and powder available from reception. We didn't have a car but taxis are freely available from the hotel. The local mini buses are an entertainment in themselves - and a great way to get talking to and meet people. We travelled to Marigot and back for 3 euros each. In Grand Case there's some superb (albeit pricey) restaurants but lots of less high end café and snack places as well. Try Max's Place for the coolest vibe on the street and one of the best Caiprinhas ever. Calmos Café has a great beachside location and funky atmosphere and staff and the Lolos provide huge portions of great value island barbecue food. Don't miss out on the superb French bakery with patisserie and bread to die for (try the almond pain au chocolate). There's an excellent pharmacy, an ATM and good selection of shops and boutiques as well as 3 off street supermarkets. All in all we loved it and we want to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hypercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

As soon as we arrived at the resort, I knew I made the right decision of booking our stay here. The travel time from SXM (Dutch side) to Grand Case took almost an hour - our flight landed at around 5:30PM and with 2 of the "highways" under repair, our taxi "crawled" at an average of 10 mph as the island "traffic jam" we caught ourselves in were defeating our resolve to get our zen on. As we reached the town of Grand Case, I was a little disappointed on how everything felt cramped - the roads were more like alleyways, barely enough for two cars to pass each other. I saw some of the hotels and resorts (that I researched on as I was making travel plans) along the way, and was quite disconcerted on how quaint they turned out to be. So imagine my sigh of relief when I realize that GCBC is, hands down, the best place one could ever stay on the island, especially if you plan to stay in the French side. I don't know how one could find the place right away if you decide to rent a car from the airport. I strongly suggest that one takes a taxi on their arrival, and leave the driving to someone who knows his way around.
We stayed in an oceanfront loft, which is quite spacious and comfortable. My son slept on the pullout couch on the main floor and my husband & I took the bed in the upstairs loft. If you're traveling with a child, this is the best way to go so you can have your privacy. The walkout balcony is a great feature too, as we realize that one will have to go outside to get a better wi-fi signal, aside from the beautiful sunsets that you can catch every night. The sound of the waves hitting the rocks below can be faintly heard in the room, so nice.
All rooms come with a kitchenette, complete with a full-sized oven, fridge, and dinnerware for 4 (plates, cutlery, glasses, etc). Bathroom has modern fixtures, with strong water pressure for glorious showers.
The room usually comes with continental breakfast, served at their on-property restaurant. Restaurant staff always pleasant, and provides impeccable service (thank you Karinne and Lolo!). We had dinner on our first night and had a superb French meal (wonderful service by Philippe and Tony).
The beach is beautiful - well kept and very private. Lounge chairs are always available, and complimentary cold towels offered in the middle of a hot day are a nice touch. Non motorized sports are complimentary, so my boys thoroughly enjoyed kayaking around the bay and using the floaters on the beach.
There is a one hour guest mixer on Thursdays, around sunset - what a wonderful time to meet the staff and your fellow guests.
The "town" is a short 5 minute walk, where the famed restaurants of Grand Case are located - ranging from the quaint "lolos" (roadside grills) to the upscale dining rooms of L'Estaminet and L'Auberge Gourmande. There are charming shops that sell unique accessories and apparel, as well as hole-in-the-wall stores where you can buy pantry staples from cheese to chips to AOC wines to stock your in-room fridge. Tijon Perfumerie is also down the road close to GCBC, so make sure to check this out as well. We never had to exchange our dollars to euros, and most places even offer a US$1 = 1Euro deal if you pay in cash (best deal ever!).
Take a 15 minute $30 taxi or a $1.50/pp "bus" ride to the capital of Marigot, for more shops and restaurants (must visit: daily open markets, duty free shops in the West Indies Mall and Le Gout de Vin for gourmet wines).
Overall, we throughly enjoyed our stay at GCBC - quiet location, comfortable and well-appointed rooms, beautiful private beach, and excellent staff - and would greatly recommend this place to anyone looking for an ideal vacation in the island paradise of St Martin.

Room Tip: - Oceanfront rooms are so worth the additional cost - Great value on loft rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarjeMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

As repeat guests, we absolutely love this hotel for its quiet, calm location, friendly, sincere staff and proximity to top restaurants. Far superior to those hotels "not on the beach". Once cannot forget the "Sunset Cafe" (on the hotel property) which serves 3 meals daily, all excellent. I cannot say enough how we enjoy the staff at the Cafe, they are truly wonderful, each and every one of them. Trips back here have become more frequent over the past few years, which is no coincidence.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

If you are coming to St Martin and looking for a perfect place to stay on the French side, then this place is for you!
I am a traveler and have found this hotel to be excellent from every standpoint.
It is immaculate, clean, beautifully landscaped, on the beach with stunning sunsets, and very comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jared F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
4.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
0.6 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,359 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range: £169 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and relaxing, small but large enough to have just the right amount of service that brings back our guests year after year. We are constantly improving and have updated and upgraded nearly every aspect of our resort, and will continue to do so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing