We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place where lobsters go to meet their Maker - happily” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistrot Caraibes

Bistrot Caraibes
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistrot Caraibes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$70
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The place where lobsters go to meet their Maker - happily”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is the second time my wife and I have eaten here, and it's been impressive both times. We had a 3 1/2 lb lobster, which they prepared 1/2 grilled, and the other 1/2 thermidor style (my first time), and it was exquisite. An excellent wine list, friendly staff, and just what you'd expect from a high-end restaurant in a French fishing village - great food with a down-to-earth attitude. Do NOT miss this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KozMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,124
    276
    97
    30
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Second best in Grand Case...but not by much”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

One thing is for sure... there is no shortage of great restaurants in Grand Case...and this is one of them...right behind L'Auberge Gourmande. Very friendly service from one of the wait staff...from another--not so much. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do not overlook this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Bistrot Caraibes is a small restaurant, not on the water, on busy Grand Case Boulevard. But it is crowded every night and for good reason. It serves some of the best food with a knowledgable, friendly team. Everything we had was fabulous, but I specifically recommend it if you are looking for lobster.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have a tendency to frequent restaurants we really love but decided on something new for date night. We went to Bistrot Caraibes on a recommendation and we were certainly not disappointed. The welcome drink was a pleasant surprise. Everyone from the minute of our arrival was very pleasant and our server was attentive and had a delightful personality. The wine list had a good range of selections and prices. We enjoyed a number of samplings off the appetiser menu and I finished with the filet topped with foie gras. Can't go wrong with that! As regular Grand Case diners we certainly plan to add Bistrot Caraibes into the rotation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kass J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent in all ways”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This might be a bit late but seeing all the great reviews for this Grand Case French beauty I can now say I did not put this off any longer. My wife and I vacationed in St. Maarten in May of 2011 in Oyster Pond. This Bistrot was highly recommended to us by the staff. We had visited Grand Case twice earlier in the week so with 2 days to go we decided to get in our "older" rented car and make the drive through the mountains for our French dinner. We dressed up Island style and arrived in time for a beautiful almost sunset dinner. We dined on a champagne toast followed by our main courses, thinly sliced veal scallopini for me and an appetizing red snapper for my hunny. We had an after dinner drink of peach or apricot flavored liquer that was smooth to the taste and very well received.
Glad to see the reviews are still coming in and highly tout the Bistrot Caraibes. Everyone should experience this wonderful experience as we will when we plan to return to the island.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Stuie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistrot Caraibes also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Bistrot Caraibes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing