We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beuatiful hotel above Grand Case”
Review of Hotel L'Esplanade

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel L'Esplanade
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beuatiful hotel above Grand Case”
Reviewed 27 May 2011

The hotel is a beautiful building on the hill just above Grand Case providing a great view over the bay of Grand Case. The rooms are large with a great kingzise bed, a kitchenette and a lovely bathroom. In the garden a nice pool with bar it located and it is a small walk to Little beach or the Grand Case Boulevard.
This is defenitely worth to stay, although it is not the cheapest, if you would like to treat yourself.
The staff is very friendly and willingly to help you organize trips, car or other things.

Room Tip: Book in the low season in May.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PieterS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    85
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
69
471
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Accolades from all the other reviews ring true....here is a little different spin..

First, if you have never been to the Island you have to know that you are not going to Maui or Florida where everything is manicured and smooth roads. There is still quite a bit of damage from the hurricane several years ago, there is grafitti on buildings in Gran Case and you'll run across goats on the road. BUT, after a day of hanging at L'Esplande you are utterly relaxed and start enjoying the quiet solititude and relaxed vibe.

Second, the hotel is in a perfect location. You are literally up on a hill, so you dont hear traffic. This is key on an Island that loves motorcycles and car horns. You can walk to so many fantastic restaurants, casual bbq joints & most importantly a nice little bakery for your morning pasteries. We always felt safe strolling to town. There is a convenient store very close that took US $ on par and a bigger grocery store within a mile. You can walk to Gran Case Beach - which is nice for a day - but there are several other great beaches within a 15 minute drive. Friars, Orient, Pinel Island Ferry.

Third, staff was very kind. Some might be concerned that no one is ever at the "front desk"...however, that is really just for registration. Alls you have to do is go down the steps to the office and there was always someone there to exchange beach towels, give directions or recommendations. Often times the owners were there pitching in and making suggestions.

Fourth - There is a pool. This is rare on the Island. Its not huge - but very peaceful - particularly on the days the wind is too strong to be comfortable on the beach. Its a great place to do a little yoga in the morning! No one is ever around it is very private.

Other small amenitites that just make life easy include a little library to borrow great books, DVD, a CD player in the room and well stocked kitchen. They coordinated all the car rental for us which was great. Plus, the rooms were very very clean. We slept great every night with great blackout curtains.

Last, there was a sweet little cat that would hop on your balcony in the morning and hang out with you if you wanted it to.

Some things we'd like to see that would really take it over the top:
* A safe that wasnt in the bottom of the closet - this was very difficult to get in and out of.
* A cushioned chair in the room - we didnt have a studio or suite - and the only chairs were beautiful but all hardwood.
* Some of the towels had rips or stains
* a Small collapsable cooler to take to and from the beach

Overall, we can't wait to go back...Off season is a bargain rate at this hotel! We have stayed at other parts of the Island before...this is the best if you want to relax and enjoy the moment.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cityplaner1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I really can't say anything all of the other reviewers haven't already said. This is really a well-managed hotel. Our room was perfect and clean and the level of service from the staff was great. I mentioned that it was my husband's birthday in our reservation and they had a bottle of champagne waiting. The view from the balcony was lovely and while we were there, Grand Case had a powere outage and the staff called our room to update us on the status and to offer lamps. We met the owners our first day and it was apparent that they are very hands on and take a great deal of pride in their hotel.

Grand Case is also very nice and a short walk from the hotel. It's a perfect spot for a few nights (or more) relaxing by the beach or pool and enjoying wonderful dinners. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We heard great things about this hotel from a relative and decided to see for ourselves. We rented a car through the hotel and they offer free transfers to and from the airport. The hotel is stunning and not overly pretentious. It has a nice, laid back vibe. The staff is very helpful and great with giving directions and getting reservations for restaurants. Every room has a lovely view of the water. Having a full kitchen allowed us to save money on breakfasts. There is a grocery store within driving distance that is adequate. We had exquisite meals with Spiga and Sol E Luna being our favorites. Being so close to Grand Case is a real plus and it is an easy walk. I would recommend renting a car so you can explore the island. A once-in-a-lifetime trip for us.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allyson73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doylestown, pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We just returned from a week stay at L'Esplanade and it was fabulous as always. We have going to St Martin for 20 years and have stayed at L'Esplanade or Le Petit hotels annually for the last 15 years. Normally we go in July but this year decided to visit in March to see friends who vacation in the US in July. Our room was a loft suite which is very roomy and appointed immaculately. A patio with table and chairs along with 2 lounge chairs looks out over Grand Case Bay and is a great place to watch the sunset with your favorite beverage. The pool area is something to see. Gorgeous landscaping with comfortable chaise lounges. We had an extra bonus this year as we were there in high season and the pool bar is open which meant we got to meet Alain (pronounced Allen) the bartender. The bar is not open during low season in July so we never got to enjoy Alain and the bar ambiance. Alain is one funny character...makes a great drink...ask for his speciality, The Rendevous, and ask him how it got its name. The guy's a blast. We spent many a happy hour there, meeting great people and being entertained by Alain. They also have a great lunch menu available in high season. Food is cooked on the grill at the bar by none other than Alain.
It is a short walk into Grand Case for shops, dining etc. There are enough restaurants for any palate and pocketbook. There is an information book in each hotel room which includes restaurant recommendations. Use it as a bible. Kristin and Marc know each restaurant on both the French and Dutch side and have tried all new ones and update their list regularly. If you aren't sure about one or one that is not on their list just ask Kristin and she'll give a you her opinion straight up.
The main reason we come back each year is the quality of the hotels but the overriding factor is Kristin and her staff. Anyone who has stayed at the hotels knows exactly what I'm talking about. There is nothing that is too much to ask...they know how to run a first class hotel. Plus,Kristin is an absolute sweetheart.
One definite recommendation would be to rent a car. It is a small island and easy to get around. Lots of great beaches, shopping and things to see. Car rental can be arranged through the hotel.
L'Esplanade is a great, high quality boutique hotel in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jake3623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed at L’Esplanade for three nights during our honeymoon in January 2011.

It is hard to fault this place – lovely location, nice staff, free honeymoon champagne on arrival and I have to vigorously disagree with the comments of an earlier review about the hilly steps down to Grand Case and the beach being a problem. After reading that review I imagined some narrow broken path but it is actually a nice, safe little walk. Anyway, if you want to stay in a place with views, then you can’t begrudge having to walk down the hill to get somewhere!

The pool area, while we only used it once, had a nice atmosphere including bar. It didn’t bother us that it closed I think at 6pm, though that may bother some people. Perhaps it stays open longer in peak season.

It is close to Grand Case, via the aforementioned downhill walk, which means it is also close to lots of restaurants and shops, and close to the little beach but you’ll need to get a taxi or hire a car to get to other bigger beaches around the island. This is the case though for any accommodation in Grand Case.

In an effort to provide some constructive criticism, maybe our loft villa was a bit too big (or “tall” to be more accurate) but that is a bit of a quibble. Having said that though, the staircase from the lower level to the bedroom inside the villa was high, with narrow stairs – a real pain to get your massive suitcase up and down.

All up though, it was a great place in a great location – if we return to St Martin one day then we will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I recently stayed at Hotel L'Espande on two separate trips this month (with a short break at Cap Juluca on Anguilla). The first time for a week. The hotel is beautiful, clean, with wonderful views and some of the nicest staff I've met at any establishment in the world. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. They also had power receptacle adapters which when I need an extra was nicely convenient. The pool area is tucked away a bit down the hill which lends itself to privacy and its a good size for the hotel. Theres also a bar that besides drinks has a small menu of good food.

The hotel is small, it isn't like some of the mega resorts you'd find on other islands, but in the this case being small is perfect. Theres a short walk to the beach, or all the restaurants in Grand Case.

Grand Case has the best food on the island. Its not as busy as Marigot or Simpson Bay adding to the entire vibe. The traffic also isn't as bad in Grand Case as compared to much of the rest of St. Maarten. The only problem in Grand Case is it can be a bit hard to find anyplace to get breakfast.

Overall its a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedCamOp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,782 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
293 reviews
6.7 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
1,114 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esplanade

Property: Hotel L'Esplanade
Address: On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid lush tropical gardens, affording its visitors privacy without sacrificing its panoramic ocean views. Spacious interiors blend harmoniously with the Mediterranean architecture. Magical sunsets come to you on your private terrace to touch your soul. A delightful footpath leads you on a journey of discovery. We invite you to find your own rhythm, knowing that our staff is there to ensure that your every day is a perfect day, knowing that your comfort is our excellence and with us, you are home. For those who appreciate privacy, enjoy an uncrowded atmosphere, gracious hospitality and seek relaxation in exclusive, blissful surroundings...Welcome to Hotel L'Esplanade. Introducing our new Ti Spa for all of your beauty and relaxation needs! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing