We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, gorgeous sunsets and fantastic staff!”
Review of Hotel L'Esplanade

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel L'Esplanade
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, gorgeous sunsets and fantastic staff!”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The hospitality of the staff and the owners was out of this world. The view from the hotel was breathtaking with gorgeous sunsets from our balcony every night. The pool had a wonderful swim up bar and served a tasty lunch. The details in the room were incredible from the decor to the comfortable beds, I could have stayed in bed all day. The quaint town of Grand Case was fantastic; fine dining, great local food and wonderful music, we danced until 2 am to a great reggae band one night. I would highly recommend Hotel L'Esplanade.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    85
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
69
469
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
359 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We booked here largely on the strongly positive reviews, and were not disappointed. This was our first trip to St. Martin, and first to the Caribbean in general not staying in a resort, so we were a little apprehensive about driving around the island, walking through the towns etc.

We're not inexperienced travellers by any stretch, but just unsure about things.
Well, bythe end of the first night, we felt right at home. The hotel is truly a lovely oasis, just high enough above the town and noise to be as serene as could be. No fancy services like resorts, but that suited us just fine. The breakfasts were great, the room was large, well appointed and spotless, the welcome basket of snacks was well used, a/c and bathroom very nice. We only had one real issue which was a headboard that creaked badly every time someone rolled over, but their maintenance fellow came right away when we reported it and tried several methods for quite a while until it was truly fixed. Great service! Folks in the office were very helpful with advice, directions and dinner reservations whenever we asked.
Finally, the position of the hotel was great. The 5-10 walk to such a large variety of great restaurants was ideal - we enjoyed walking off the big meals, and not worrying about drinking and driving. And of course there are a large number of good beaches within a short drive.
All in all, the #1 ranking for hotels in Grand Case seems well deserved.

Room Tip: Both the lofts and one-bedrooms appear equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Real_FoodieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is a top-notch hotel with free Wi-Fi, a must these days, and delicious optional breakfast. Nice view of the ocean. Unfortunately, you need to walk to a nearby hotel and use its beach at 15 euros per umbrella, a distinct disadvantage.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at L'Esplanade in November 2011.
Our room had a fantastic view and was clean and well decorated. When we first got in some good music was playing and we found fresh bread and cookies!
The staff was very kind and helpful.
We would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

L'Esplanade is a beautiful, well maintained property located within walking distance of restaurant row and the beach. Additionally, the best word to describe the Front Desk staff is accommodating. Nathalie, in particular, helped turn what could have been a terrible last night into a wonderful one, though each employee went above and beyond. We were so glad we chose this location in Grand Case, we liked the vibe and felt very comfortable and safe here. We got around no problem with the buses on the island or just walking with minimal french and enjoyed the pool and happy hour when we weren't out and about.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Worth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Ok. If you want an authentic experience of the Isle of St. Martin, stay here. Secured away from the busyness of restaurant row, which is not overwhelmingly busy at all...just enough to experience the night life and beach fun, you will find peace, tranquility, and a breathtaking view during sunset and sunrise. You will be well attended to or left to yourself as the staff will pick up on this just by your demeanor. I love this island because of the mixture of native locals to french locals who allow the influx of American, and European travelers alike to enjoy the glorious cuisine, breathtaking scenery, and eclectic shops to meander through. Most shops and restaurants do not open until 5:00, because most are at the beach, or sailing to Anguilla, Tintamarre, and St Barthes for the day. Those trips cost between 85.00-120.00 american dollars per person but include a 9-5:30 snorkeling day trip, wonderful lunch, bar while sailing, and two stops along the way. Anguilla is a must see destination. Unforgettable beach...We have never seen anything like this. The most impressive restaurants by far are La Villa, Spiga, and Spicy for evening dining. Lunch you have to stop at the roadside bbq dining in which you will only pay $15 for two. Amazing and delicious! Favorite beach side eating was at Zen it. Looks like a shack, but has glorious fish, and simple dishes. Pina Coladas and smoothies for $5.00. The presentation looks like Art work! With lunch, the beach chairs are free. Also, the smoothest beach began at Zen It. Too rocky and rough by Grande Case Beach Resort. Which is nice if you are looking for a resort type environment on the beach. We did our research before we left, and I am happy we did. When we arrived, it was even better than expected. We only had to take a taxi to and from the airport which was a $36 dollar charge, and they did not try and rip us off. The hotel took care of all our dinner reservations, cab rides, and if we needed any cash, they handled that for us. The ATM machines are a bit farther, and a cab ride away. L'Esplanade, hands down the place to stay for peace, room with an amazing view and a terrace. The only reason to leave this end of the island is to go shopping in strip malls reminiscent of Americana that are overpriced. We went for a change of scenery, and a change of the everyday. My favorite part of dining was that the chef and waiter were confidant in their cooking that they did not have to ask us to "cut into our meat" to see if it was cooked correctly. They also did not hover. I love being uncomfortably displaced in another country. It helps me grow as a person. We stayed seven days, and I was not ready to leave. We missed our children, but I cannot wait for them to come back with us. Traveling is an education as much as a retreat.

Room Tip: King Suite, second Floor. At least second floor facing the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I was introduced to this property by friends who had stayed there for many years. My delux studio well laid out, very functional for single or couple, and in immaculate condition. Not sure how old this property is, but it is very well maintained and recently updated with the latest in contemporary plumbing and appliances in the kitchenette.
The property is on the side of a hill overlooking Grand Case Bay facing west, so the sunsets are gorgeous! The grounds are meticulously maintained with a small intimate pool area off the entrance dirve.
A short 5-10 minite walk down to the beach are introduces you to a mirid of resturaunts to satisfy any appitite and is known locally as "resturaunt row"; a great description.
And finally, the staff is great! Kristin, part of the family ownership, lives on the premises, so every detail is personally attended to. What I particularly like about thier operation is they absolutely leave you alone, but if you want or need anything, they pull out all the stops to solve the issue immediately; done!
While on the island, I spent a good deal of time traveling from one end to the other, and can think of no other place I would rather stay on my next trip to St. Martin

Room Tip: All rooms have Bay view, but some balconies have open arbor vs pitched roofs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.6 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.7 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esplanade

Property: Hotel L'Esplanade
Address: On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid lush tropical gardens, affording its visitors privacy without sacrificing its panoramic ocean views. Spacious interiors blend harmoniously with the Mediterranean architecture. Magical sunsets come to you on your private terrace to touch your soul. A delightful footpath leads you on a journey of discovery. We invite you to find your own rhythm, knowing that our staff is there to ensure that your every day is a perfect day, knowing that your comfort is our excellence and with us, you are home. For those who appreciate privacy, enjoy an uncrowded atmosphere, gracious hospitality and seek relaxation in exclusive, blissful surroundings...Welcome to Hotel L'Esplanade. Introducing our new Ti Spa for all of your beauty and relaxation needs! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing