We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel L'Esplanade

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel L'Esplanade
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
St John's, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Paradise Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

A big part of me doesn't want to review this hotel because I don't want anyone else to know about it--it's too good, in some ways too good to be true. My husband and I always say that if we had to design the perfect small hotel this would be it. Scores of reviews say the same thing and no wonder they consistently win awards. We are repeaters, having spent a glorious 2 February weeks for the fifth year in a row at L'Esplanade. We have stayed in almost all the types of suites they offer and they are all great--tastefully appointed, immaculate, and elegantly understated. The beds are dream-inducing, The staff through and through are both accessible and friendly, and the owners will stop at nothing to ensure your needs are attended to. Kristin and Mark are the very models of hospitality. Location is also superb, 'on a hill, above the rest,' about an 8-minute walk down a lushly landscaped footpath to the French restaurant-rich town of Grand Cas, where you want to be every evening after you have watched the sunset from your balcony, cocktail in hand. And every morning you can breakfast on that balcony overlooking the sea, surrounded by hummingbirds and palm trees. The traveler who doesn't like L'Esplanade doesn't like life.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea and have a balcony. You simply cannot go wrong. It's only a matter of whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raisinbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcpingc, Owner at Hotel L'Esplanade, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
We just wanted to thank Raisinbread for the very poetic, touching review. It really brought tears to our eyes! Your last sentence was the icing on the cake for us, "The traveler who doesn't like L'Esplanade, doesn't like life." It seems that over the years you've really caught the L'Esplanade bug! Nothing makes us happier than when people "get" what we are doing here! Thanks ever so much for your loyalty over the years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    85
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
67
461
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
204 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I had to postpone my initial reservation due to illness. They were extremely understanding and helpful, permitting me to reapply my deposit when I was again able to travel. Six months later, we arrived for a long weekend in March, 2011. I let them know it was my wife's birthday and asked them to recommend a restaurant for her birthday dinner. They did, and made reservations for us. It was fantastic, and the restaurant gave us the extra attention one appreciates on a special occasion. The hotel also noted the event with flowers.

Our room, a loft suite was roomy, comfortable with a lovely terrace overlooking the water from which we sipped wine and watched the sunset each evening. The location is an easy walk to 'restaurant row' in Grand Case and the local beaches. This is definitely a world-class hotel - I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coeurdelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

The hospitality of the staff and the owners was out of this world. The view from the hotel was breathtaking with gorgeous sunsets from our balcony every night. The pool had a wonderful swim up bar and served a tasty lunch. The details in the room were incredible from the decor to the comfortable beds, I could have stayed in bed all day. The quaint town of Grand Case was fantastic; fine dining, great local food and wonderful music, we danced until 2 am to a great reggae band one night. I would highly recommend Hotel L'Esplanade.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
359 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We booked here largely on the strongly positive reviews, and were not disappointed. This was our first trip to St. Martin, and first to the Caribbean in general not staying in a resort, so we were a little apprehensive about driving around the island, walking through the towns etc.

We're not inexperienced travellers by any stretch, but just unsure about things.
Well, bythe end of the first night, we felt right at home. The hotel is truly a lovely oasis, just high enough above the town and noise to be as serene as could be. No fancy services like resorts, but that suited us just fine. The breakfasts were great, the room was large, well appointed and spotless, the welcome basket of snacks was well used, a/c and bathroom very nice. We only had one real issue which was a headboard that creaked badly every time someone rolled over, but their maintenance fellow came right away when we reported it and tried several methods for quite a while until it was truly fixed. Great service! Folks in the office were very helpful with advice, directions and dinner reservations whenever we asked.
Finally, the position of the hotel was great. The 5-10 walk to such a large variety of great restaurants was ideal - we enjoyed walking off the big meals, and not worrying about drinking and driving. And of course there are a large number of good beaches within a short drive.
All in all, the #1 ranking for hotels in Grand Case seems well deserved.

Room Tip: Both the lofts and one-bedrooms appear equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Real_FoodieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is a top-notch hotel with free Wi-Fi, a must these days, and delicious optional breakfast. Nice view of the ocean. Unfortunately, you need to walk to a nearby hotel and use its beach at 15 euros per umbrella, a distinct disadvantage.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at L'Esplanade in November 2011.
Our room had a fantastic view and was clean and well decorated. When we first got in some good music was playing and we found fresh bread and cookies!
The staff was very kind and helpful.
We would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

L'Esplanade is a beautiful, well maintained property located within walking distance of restaurant row and the beach. Additionally, the best word to describe the Front Desk staff is accommodating. Nathalie, in particular, helped turn what could have been a terrible last night into a wonderful one, though each employee went above and beyond. We were so glad we chose this location in Grand Case, we liked the vibe and felt very comfortable and safe here. We got around no problem with the buses on the island or just walking with minimal french and enjoyed the pool and happy hour when we weren't out and about.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.6 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.5 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esplanade

Property: Hotel L'Esplanade
Address: On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel L'Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid lush tropical gardens, affording its visitors privacy without sacrificing its panoramic ocean views. Spacious interiors blend harmoniously with the Mediterranean architecture. Magical sunsets come to you on your private terrace to touch your soul. A delightful footpath leads you on a journey of discovery. We invite you to find your own rhythm, knowing that our staff is there to ensure that your every day is a perfect day, knowing that your comfort is our excellence and with us, you are home. For those who appreciate privacy, enjoy an uncrowded atmosphere, gracious hospitality and seek relaxation in exclusive, blissful surroundings...Welcome to Hotel L'Esplanade. Introducing our new Ti Spa for all of your beauty and relaxation needs! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing