We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel L'Esplanade
Nearby Hotels
Hevea(Grand Case)(Great Value!)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Over The Hill(Grand Case)(Great Value!)
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Sol e Luna Hotel(Grand Case)(Great Value!)
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Plantation(Orient Bay)(Great Value!)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bleu Emeraude(Grand Case)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Shambala(Grand Case)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Love Residence(Grand Case)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveller rating
629
86
26
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
629
86
26
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant rowdeluxe loftpool barshort walkgrand case bayst martinwelcome basketorient beachfull kitchenhill overlookingour honeymoonsister hotelrental carbaguetteperfect hotelview from the balconyreception area
Filter
Updating list...
349 - 354 of 750 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Was not looking forward to the hotels in the Virgin Islands, seemed run-down & overpriced. Was in for such a pleasant surprise, each one we went to on each island got better & better. L'Esplanade was such a pleasure, & we only wish we could have stayed longer.
Loved strolling through the gardens down to the beach & the great restaurants & shops. Felt like our own little village.
We agree wholeheartedly with all above comments.

Hope one day we will get to go back...a long way from Australia though!
Keep up that star rating.

Thank you for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLTSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon and it was wonderful!! First and foremost--the staff here is AMAZING--so helpful and they go above and beyond in order to help you with anything you may need! We loved our room, it almost felt like a little townhome--so awesome! The concierge also helped us to set up a trip to St. Barth's Island for the day--which is another beautiful island. St. Maarten was definitely a very interesting and of course beautiful place! My new hubby definitely booked the right hotel on this island :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrittanyDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed at Hotel L'Esplanade for our Honeymoon. What a great hotel, rooms were very nice and well kept. The views were amazing. So easy to get to resturants, shopping and attractions. I felt Hotel L'Esplanade was located in the perfect spot. The staff were amazing..especially Nat....she was so helpful from start to the end of our stay from recommending places to go to finding us a charger for our camera that we forgot to take.

We will definetly be returning to St. Martin and staying at Hotel L'Esplanade !!

Anthony & Kristen - Long Island, NY

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed at L'esplanade twice in March. 2 x 1 night stays before and after a cruise. We found it through Trip Advisor. The hotel has a huge huge plus and a couple of minus' for me. The rooms are stunning. The balconies and views are stunning. On the flip side it's a lovely pool but quite small and a bit too quiet for me. I also prefer to be on a beach. St Maartens a long way from Europe to get there and not have a hotel on the beach. Finally I missed the hotel not having a restaurant and in tandem with this the lack of a few hot things for breakfast (appreciate this is the French side and it serves continental breakfasts and that the rooms do have kitchens and cooking facilities).

I loved Grand Case. Within a 5/10 minute walk are lots of quaint shops and a host of beautiful restaurants.

Would I go back? I'd consider cost of rooms and probably say no as it's a lot to pay if it doesn't tick all your boxes. I question the hotel tag? More like self catering apartments with a reception area and a pool for all.

If you really want to go to this bay and want luxury then it's here or Grand Case Beach Club, (which looks worth a try, doesn't really have a beach but is next to the sea, and probably wouldn't guarantee beautiful balcony/room views or even a sea view).

Worth remembering that this was in the top 25 Caribbean Hotels in the latest travellers choice awards. I can think of at least 25 other hotels that more closely match my requirements and am no Caribbean Hotels expert however, it's a huge compliment to this place and the gorgeous apartments.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuxurySeekerNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel exceeded my expectations by a long shot. We had a suite and the room was incredible and romantic. It was clean and smelled amazing. The bath soaps/shampoos were of high quality which I always love. TV channels were great and lots of free movie channels. I loved that the welcome basket contained a baguette, nutella, and coffee. The staff were friendly and helped us book an amazing excursion of high quality to Anguilla. Overall it was a dream and would come back forever if I could!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kadinino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews