We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent way to begin our honeymoon”
Review of Hotel L'Esplanade

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel L'Esplanade
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Excellent way to begin our honeymoon”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The staff at Hotel L'Esplanade were extremely good to us both during the reservation process and even more so during our stay. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable, but the best part of this hotel is the view. As many have already said, the hotel is built into a mountain overlooking the sea. This is a double-edged sword in that the view is priceless, but you do need to do a bit of walking (or car) to get anywhere. You are also largely responsible for your own entertainment and sustinance. Don't get me wrong, the staff will assist in whatever you need and were quite nice about it, but this is not the kind of hotel where you just plop down and get waited on hand and foot. We were fine with that, although having some form of nightly entertainment and an on-site restaurant would have been better. The pool is average to small, but is well maintained with plenty of places to sit. Allen at the pool bar is an awesome guy and will keep you smiling the whole time. The welcome basket and the free internet access in the lobby (not sure about wi-fi since we don't use it) were wonderful touches.

As mentioned, the hotel is not really convenient to the beach or to much of anything. Consider a car rental if you are the adventurous type and aren't content just chilling on the balcony or at the pool. Restaurant Row is really nothing more than a narrow side street with an eclectic mix of restaurants, houses, shops and motels. Foodies will surely find plenty of gems tucked away in the mix and makes the French side (and Grand Case in particular) worth staying on, but do not expect a hot/exciting night life. I hear the Dutch side is the place to go for that (and another reason for a car if you are so inclined). The LoLos have some very good food at reasonable prices, but beware of the high pressure sales pitch as you walk by them. The first one, called Sky's the Limit, is particularly annoying in this way. Don't be afraid to keep walking. As a side note, the LoLo called Scooby's is very good.

One last word of advice. If taking a taxi from the airport, don't fall for the story of how they can't get up to the lobby area of the hotel. They can, and there is room to turn around up there if you have any clue how to drive. We were left at the bottom of the hill to drag our bags up to the lobby, and that was with being super nice to the driver the whole way there.

Overall a fantastic choice!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phantom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    86
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
71
477
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at L'Esplanade in June 2013. I cannot imagine having a better experience at any hotel. The hotel is set into the side of the mountain, providing it a spectacular view over both the ocean and some of all the flowers and trees in between the hotel and the ocean. We got the "smallest" room they had, but it felt huge and was beautifully furnished. The hotel is a short walk away from beautiful beaches and "restaurant row", which has so many incredible dining options that there is no need to go anywhere else for meals. Despite the gorgeous view, luxurious accommodations and prime location, what really sets this hotel apart is the service. The staff took care of everything for us, helping us find the best companies for every activity/excursion we went on while on the island and booking our reservations. They were always looking for more ways to make our stay even more relaxing and enjoyable. It was like having our own tour guide free of charge. We plan on going back every time we can. Thank you, Hotel L'Esplanade, for an amazing vacation!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Both L'Esplanade and Le Petit Hotel are beautiful slices if heaven! I live on the island of St. Martin, and visit these tranquil environments whenever I can. They are perfectly blissful havens that should be at the top of every travelers' lists for a truly quaint, French Caribbean experience. I love everything about these exquisite hotels and their amazing, helpful staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scubagrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at L'Esplanade in mid-December 2012. It was our third trip to L'Esplanade and it is still just as charming and wonderful as ever.
We came her for our anniversary and when we were taken to our room, there was a beautiful arrangement of candles, flower petals and a bottle of champagne awaiting our arrival.

We have stayed in both deluxe studios and deluxe lofts...both are fabulous, but we do prefer the studios. The decor in the rooms is simple, elegant, Bali chic. The beds are very comfortable.

We love to hang by the pool in late afternoon, meet other guests and chat with our favorite bartender in the Caribbean, Alain. He makes some mean cocktails...best pina colada you'll ever have.

There are so many amazing restaurants...you almost can't go wrong. Our favorite this last trip was "Le Pressoir"...unbelievable food and very romantic ambiance. We love to go to Calmos Cafe for beach lounging and lunch and cocktails...their Ocean Salad is delicious!

Don't hesitate booking a stay at L'Esplanade. You will be planning your next stay while you're there, I promise!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I hate to write this because the staff was so very friendly but this is not a luxury resort/hotel. This is a very average property that has clean and modern rooms for a night or two as a weigh station between islands. This is certainly not where I would want to spend a week. Don't consider this a vote for the other properties we saw on St. Martin either...I think the other highly reviewed places looked worse. St. Martin is in need of a large resort set on a beach. It's a nice island with shockingly good restaurants and friendly people but there is just too much interaction with the riff raff-abandoned cars-goats in the road-poverty level-to attempt a nice vacation in one of these small hotels and pass that on the way to dinner and the beach every day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have traveled the world many times "The Hotel L'Esplanade "and "Le Petit Hotel" are on top of the list when it comes to fabulous treatment/;customer care and Island experience.The Hotel management is on top of details...All you have to do is ASK....As travelers we are all different with different tastes and likes...Please enjoy the lifestyle and the fabulous atmosphere...make it your destination spot...We even have a favorite room!!!,,Relax and have a perfect vacation!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helio48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife and I have stayed at both Le Petit and Le Esplanade. We are returning to Le Esplanade in December (already booked) both are beautiful boutique hotels.

Le Esplanade is simply gorgeous. It sits hillside above Grand Case. The rooms are elegant and beautifully furnished. They are extremely clean and very quiet. The view from the room is simply stunning. Sit and watch the sunset over the water.

The pool is the perfect size for the hotel. It has that private feel to it. Yet big enough to accommodate all of the guests. Alan the bartender is a St Martin treasure. Friendly and engaging. He makes the best cheese burger and fries on SXM. He also makes specialty drinks that are amazing.

A short walk down the foot path, which has a tropical rainforest feel to it and you are in Grand Case. In less than 5 minutes you will find some of the best restaurants anywhere. Don’t forget the lolo’s which have great food at ridiculously low prices. There is also a nice couple with a street cart that make crepes that are simply amazing.

The beach is also a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Or a 10 minute drive will get you to Orient Bay or Friars Bay (our favorites).

If you are a diver one of the best operators anywhere, Octopus Diving, is only again a 5 minute walk to the shop and the boat.

They are not a resort or an all in inclusive and I don’t think they want to be. If that’s what you are looking for go elsewhere.

If you are looking for a small elegant hotel with beautiful rooms and an extremely friendly staff stay at Le Esplanade or Le Petit.

We travel frequently and usually don’t return to the same place twice. Le Esplanade and St Martin are the exception. We absolutely love the hotel, the people and the island.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johntoppans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,804 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
6.7 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
1,134 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esplanade

Property: Hotel L'Esplanade
Address: On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel L'Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid lush tropical gardens, affording its visitors privacy without sacrificing its panoramic ocean views. Spacious interiors blend harmoniously with the Mediterranean architecture. Magical sunsets come to you on your private terrace to touch your soul. A delightful footpath leads you on a journey of discovery. We invite you to find your own rhythm, knowing that our staff is there to ensure that your every day is a perfect day, knowing that your comfort is our excellence and with us, you are home. For those who appreciate privacy, enjoy an uncrowded atmosphere, gracious hospitality and seek relaxation in exclusive, blissful surroundings...Welcome to Hotel L'Esplanade. Introducing our new Ti Spa for all of your beauty and relaxation needs! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing