We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chilled on the hill”
Review of Hotel L'Esplanade

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel L'Esplanade
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Spent 10 days this time. Spent my mornings with coffee on the expansive balcony of the one bedroom suite to start the day staring out at the best view in Grand Case. Exactly what the doctor ordered. No funky surprises. Just a quiet, clean, classy, beautifully appointed hotel exceptionally well run by Kristin and Marc who have it down, who, clearly care about their property and guests. And, their staff are the BEST! Everything from reservations, maid service, front desk, even a minor maintenance issue was handled quickly. A nice new touch is complimentary wine in the late afternoon set up in the reception area. Alan is still churning out good drinks and eats at the zen like pool. See you guys in April!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropiclady27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Absolutely skip the St. Maarten Dutch side and stay over here on St. Martin, the French side. The hotel rooms have covered terraces overlooking the water, a kitchenette, a pool that makes you think you are staying in a private Spanish villa, and is a close walk to town with beach bars and amazing five star and local French Creole restaurants. The hotel nearby allows the use of their private beach or you can go to their sister hotel, Le Petit, and use their beach facilities.

We so wish we had stayed here before our cruise instead of on the Dutch side so don't make our same mistake. Plus the little town of Marigot has an outdoor shopping market and a new small indoor mall with unusual shops of Imported French fashions. Many shops charge the same price for using either dollars or euros.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank denverretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

So you know something is great when you return to a place the second year and you see the same people from the year before. This is the type of hotel you make friends at. It's a perfect couples romantic retreat. The rooms are great, there is no room service, the pool bartender is Alan. Between him and his Mom behind the bar they will make you anything for lunch from a burger to fresh grilled lobster. For dinner you take a short walk downtown - less than 5 minutes and you have dozens or gourment restaurants. We go back yearly now to our Hidden Gem. Go you will LOVE IT...

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.. All rooms have a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbeTatosian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We had a very relaxing stay, the Oriental Bay beach is one of the best! Do not miss the friday dinner. Breakfast is ordinary, but we loved everything else about the place. There was not much of a view from our room though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abhishek t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

An excellent hotel with good sized and well catered rooms. Huge bathroom and good air conditioning and fans to keep you cool.
On arrival we were missing our luggage and the staff did everything they could to help us chase it up, phoning the airline office on a regular basis.
Ideally located high above Grand Case and only a 5 - 10 minute walk into town at night to the excellent restaurants.
We ate breakfast on our balcony for the first three mornings which was ok. However, on the fourth day we walked the short distance to the Grand Case Beach Club and ate breakfast overlooking the beach in the Sunset Cafe (they offer a 10% discounts on the price of breakfast for guests of L'Esplanade).
The rooms, location and welcoming staff of this hotel make it an ideal choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkm1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Hotel L'Esplanade is a very nice small hotel that is on the hill overlooking Grand Case. Our room #22 was very lovely with a new kitchen and very comfortable king size bed. We also had a balcony to enjoy the sunset and views of Anguilla

The staff was very welcoming and upon learning that we were celebrating out 10th Anniversary gave us a complimentary bottle of wine. They were also able to get us all of the adaptors that we needed at no charge. The fridge was also stocked with some drinks, bread, and jam as we arrived.

We enjoyed our nightly walk down the lighted "footpath" down to Grand Case Blvd.

I would highly recommend this small elegant hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Le Esplanade is simply gorgeous. It sits hillside above Grand Case. The rooms are elegant and beautifully furnished. They are extremely clean and very quiet. The view from the room is simply stunning. Sit and watch the sunset over the water. The beach is also a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Or a 10 minute drive will get you to Orient Bay or Friars Bay (our favorites).
Relax and have a perfect vacation!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,822 reviews
4.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.6 mi away
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
410 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esplanade

Address: On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range: £175 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel L'Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid lush tropical gardens, affording its visitors privacy without sacrificing its panoramic ocean views. Spacious interiors blend harmoniously with the Mediterranean architecture. Magical sunsets come to you on your private terrace to touch your soul. A delightful footpath leads you on a journey of discovery. We invite you to find your own rhythm, knowing that our staff is there to ensure that your every day is a perfect day, knowing that your comfort is our excellence and with us, you are home. For those who appreciate privacy, enjoy an uncrowded atmosphere, gracious hospitality and seek relaxation in exclusive, blissful surroundings...Welcome to Hotel L'Esplanade. Introducing our new Ti Spa for all of your beauty and relaxation needs! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing