We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay...wonderful again!”
Review of Hotel L'Esplanade

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel L'Esplanade
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

About 5 years ago I stayed at Hotel L'Esplanade with my husband, and I just returned from a long weekend there with my adult daughter. Loved it both times! Since I was going with my daughter, I wanted a room with a little "space" for each of us. The loft rooms offer a king bed above and a sleeper sofa in the living room area below. In addition, although we had to share the shower in the bathroom off of the loft area, there was a 1/2 bath below for my daughter's use.

Hotel L'Esplanade does such a nice job of pampering. A little welcome basket in our kitchen included some teas, honey, a baguette, etc. "just to get you started." Refreshing fruit water is always available in the open-air lobby, and a few bottles of "help yourself" wine are placed in the lobby at dinnertime. Cheers!

The pool is just beautiful, as are the grounds. Since the hotel is located on the side of a hill, there is a lush footpath that leads down to restaurant row. Contrary to a few other reviewers, we found this a delightful walk in the evening.

The web site says they "prefer" a 5-night stay in season, but don't let this stop you from trying for a shorter stay if that is your desire. We were able to arrange a 4-night stay with no problem.

This was a beautiful spot...and I'd be thrilled to visit again!

Room Tip: It is a small boutique-style hotel, and I don't think there is a bad room in the entire hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 35Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Just returned from a long weekend at Hotel L'Esplanade. Had a Loft Room (Room 8), which was right off the lobby (normally not ideal), but given the size of the hotel, it was not an issue. The room, staff, and services were all great. The location as well is very nice: a 5 min walk into Grand Case, and all its restaurants, 5 min to the Simply supermarket, and 10-15 min over to Orient Bay or the parking for Pinel. It's not ideal if you are planning to spend time on the Dutch side, but if you're looking to stay in the North, it's great.

Room Tip: There are only 20-25 rooms. We had room #8. It's a loft room next to the lobby (which is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krhaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We arrived on New Year's Eve and the hotel staff greeted us with a bottle of champagne to kick off the new year. We have been vacationing in St.Martin since 1995 and stayed in many different places on the island. I'm not sure that any room is worth $600.00 a night but L'Esplanade was exceptional. Our room had an oversized loft and was clean and comfortable. Housekeeping was done in a timely manner and the room was equipped with all the essentials. The availability of a complimentary daily newspaper was a nice perk and of course the view was terrific. Internet connectivity which was a must for us was reliable unlike other places we have stayed at in St.Martin.One slight drawback is the early morning and early evening droning of the planes landing and taking off from the nearby airport. Overall; high grades!

Room Tip: Don't expect to find food on site, but lots of restaurants nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stove1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We loved this little hotel. So nice to be on the french side where my wife could be on the patio overlooking the water completely topless just enjoying the warm wind and smell of the ocean. lovely to sleep sans clothes and leave the sliding doors open to enjoy the sounds and smells of the ocean. A wonderful bakery is nearby and the pastries brought to the room every morning were amazing! Quiet and clean!

Room Tip: all the rooms are good I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We absolutely loved Hotel L'Esplanade, and will be back. We had some welcome goodies (a couple beers, bread, cookies), the room was great (full kitchen, 1.5 baths, and balcony had room for two loungers and a table and a couple chairs), and the people were extremely friendly. The pool area had comfy loungers, with a bar attended by the fabulous Allen (ask him about getting grilled lobster for lunch - fabulous). This is actually within pretty easy walking distance of great restaurants - you just need to be ok with walking an incline and walking a few flights of stairs. Our room was near the reception area and that ended up being great because they put wine out every night ;) Seriously, though, we can't wait to come back. The only thing this hotel could use is some sort of gym. I'm not sure where they'd put it, though. I just used the pool for 'laps' and it worked out just fine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neeners815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Spectacular property - rooms overlooking the Carrabin with private balconies. One bedroom suites are equipped with kitchenette which is a great convenience if you travel with a child. The service is elite. Everyone at the hotel is all about making your vacation pleasant and relaxed. We used sitters that the hotel recommended and she was absolutely great.

Overall, great experience. It's a mix of European sophistication and Caribbean chill vibe. We are definitely going back.

Room Tip: Room 5 is deluxe loft overlooking the ocean with two private balconies. Great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekaterina18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Spent 10 days this time. Spent my mornings with coffee on the expansive balcony of the one bedroom suite to start the day staring out at the best view in Grand Case. Exactly what the doctor ordered. No funky surprises. Just a quiet, clean, classy, beautifully appointed hotel exceptionally well run by Kristin and Marc who have it down, who, clearly care about their property and guests. And, their staff are the BEST! Everything from reservations, maid service, front desk, even a minor maintenance issue was handled quickly. A nice new touch is complimentary wine in the late afternoon set up in the reception area. Alan is still churning out good drinks and eats at the zen like pool. See you guys in April!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropiclady27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,818 reviews
4.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
760 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
6.7 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
1,146 reviews
4.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esplanade

Address: On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range: £183 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel L'Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid lush tropical gardens, affording its visitors privacy without sacrificing its panoramic ocean views. Spacious interiors blend harmoniously with the Mediterranean architecture. Magical sunsets come to you on your private terrace to touch your soul. A delightful footpath leads you on a journey of discovery. We invite you to find your own rhythm, knowing that our staff is there to ensure that your every day is a perfect day, knowing that your comfort is our excellence and with us, you are home. For those who appreciate privacy, enjoy an uncrowded atmosphere, gracious hospitality and seek relaxation in exclusive, blissful surroundings...Welcome to Hotel L'Esplanade. Introducing our new Ti Spa for all of your beauty and relaxation needs! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing