We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!”
Review of Hotel L'Esplanade

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel L'Esplanade
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

From start to finish, our stay at L'Esplanade was incredible. It is just the sort of charming and peaceful oasis one dreams about finding on St Maarten! I stayed at the hotel with my film crew this past March 2014 during the Heineken Regatta. Upon arrival, the suite was impeccably clean with beautiful caribbean music playing in the background. Fresh bread, cookies, and snacks awaited us on the kitchen counter. The fridge was even stocked with a few soft drinks, beer, and water. Even the lotions and towels were positioned perfectly in the bathroom. It is this attention to detail that sets L'Esplanade apart from other boutique hotels. I immediately felt relaxed and at ease, not to mention the stunning views from the balcony. It is an easy 5min walk down to Grand Case beach, where you will also find great restaurants and shops. The best part of L'Esplanade is the staff! Hosts Marc and Kristen truly make you feel like family. The lovely ladies at the check-in always have a smile and go out of their way to help get coffee or provide directions. This was my second time staying at L'Esplanade and I know I'll keep returning back. It really is a slice of heaven.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have been staying at this hotel whenever we come to St Martin---absolutely love it---the rooms are beautiful; it is centrally located (walk to Grand Case and all its' wonderful restaurants; quick drive to Orient Beach & Supermarche). Could not imagine staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: The views of Grand Case bay are stunning--beautiful sunset every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncansmom89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the L’Esplanade for a week in late February. Our room, a deluxe studio, was fabulous in every way! We had air conditioning, a perfect shower, a comfortable king-sized bed, and a fully equipped kitchen. The day we arrived a fresh baguette and snacks were left on our kitchen counter and the fridge was stocked with water and beverages. Every morning we had breakfast on our balcony, overlooking palm trees, Grand Case, and the horizon line. A breakfast of pastries and coffee, etc. can be delivered to your room at a specified time. We loved relaxing by the pool, sunning and dipping in to cool off, and having lunch and drinks at the pool bar. The staff is friendly and helpful. Even the smallest details are attended to.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

First I need to say that the staff is warm, welcoming and very helpful. Short walk to all Grand Case fabulous restaurants and beach clubs. Rooms large, clean and well appointed with tremendous views. Full kitchen. Swimming pool is small, quiet and cold (no heat) so we didn't hang out there.
You need a car if you want to explore the island, visit various beaches and shop. The hotel will handle rental for you, have you picked up from the airport and the car will be waiting for you at the hotel- same going home, just leave the rental at the hotel. Soooo easy.
Stay here if you enjoy a small intimate boutique hotel vs a large resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSL820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Everything about this hotel is exceptional. Warm and welcoming staff, well appointed room. intimate pool area and short (albeit a climb back up) walk to the best restaurants in the Carribean.
The full kitchen was a bonus - we brought coffee with us and bought some staples at a local
market. The hotel breakfasts were outstanding - fresh juice and pastries delivered to your room.

We would recommend renting a car (the hotel can arrange it and the rental agency provides roundtrip rides to and from the airport. Beautiful beaches are a 5 minute drive. Forget Phillipsburg and Marigot - very touristy, expensive, overcrowded with cruise ship clientale

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Excellent views from the water side balcony. Walk in stone showers. Loft bedroom with mahogany wood bed. Nice little kitchen area. Ice was waiting for my drink in the mini freezer! The staff ( Kristen especially) were very helpful. They tossed a free cocktail/pool party on Wednesdays with Island entertainers and French Hors d'oeuvre's worthy of a four star French Restaurant. Leave the five star ratings to the main French restaurants you will find within walking distance behind the hotel in Grand Case. Excellent. Excellent. Excellent. We dined at 4 of them and each one was incredible in its own right. Now granted you will wait for your food because that is the French way but trust me....your palate will be educated beyond belief for the wait. Most owners came out to greet us and offered us complimentary after dinner drinks.

Room Tip: Water side to enjoy the bay harbor area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Pro's:
-location in grand case. Lots of restaurants and nice beach clubs.
-nice garden and swimming pool.
-Alain at poolbar is great guy!
-big rooms. Tv, radio, dvd, balcony, sea view, full equiped kitchen. (loft).
-housekeeping is great! They do the dishes!

Con's:
-Bathroom and kitchen in room 15 are outdated (in reference to price)
-breakfast not included and not serviced outside room (eg by pool)
-no beach front hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jorrit88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,819 reviews
4.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
763 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
5.7 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.9 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esplanade

Address: On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range: £176 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel L'Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid lush tropical gardens, affording its visitors privacy without sacrificing its panoramic ocean views. Spacious interiors blend harmoniously with the Mediterranean architecture. Magical sunsets come to you on your private terrace to touch your soul. A delightful footpath leads you on a journey of discovery. We invite you to find your own rhythm, knowing that our staff is there to ensure that your every day is a perfect day, knowing that your comfort is our excellence and with us, you are home. For those who appreciate privacy, enjoy an uncrowded atmosphere, gracious hospitality and seek relaxation in exclusive, blissful surroundings...Welcome to Hotel L'Esplanade. Introducing our new Ti Spa for all of your beauty and relaxation needs! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing