We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunsea Atlantide Residence Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunsea Atlantide Residence Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Moncton, New Brunswick Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2005

My wife and I rented a two bedroom suite at the Atlantide Hotel in February 2005. My brother and his friend joined us on this trip.

Upon arrival, we were surprised at how poor and ugly the island was from an infrastructure point of view. We were expecting a fairly rich island. Once over this, we arrived at the Hotel situated in Grand Case. Again, it felt like a room in the middle of Havana... very poor and dirty area. The Atlantide Hotel seemed in better shape than the rest of the buildings in Grand Case. The hotel was clean and the view was marvelous and we became very comfortable there. And after 8 days on the island, we came to figure out that it was indeed one of the better spots to stay on the island.

We rented a car (a must) and drove all over the island to visit different beaches and attractions. The Maho beach area was a disapointment, you get buzzed by the airplanes landing at the airport and Orient beach was a little too commercial for us. All of the areas have the Havana look as in poor and delapitated. The whole island does not have a luxury hotel and even the restaurants in the much vaulted Grand Case were uglyand badly maintained. This being said, the food served in these restaurants was out of this world. Some of the best food we have ever had. This is the reason to stay in Grand Case.. the food.

In a nutshell, st Martins has great beaches (Cupecoy, Baie ROuge, Ile Pinel Orient Beach), excellent food (in Grand Case) and not much of anything else. The shopping is great in Marigot and awfull in Phillipsburg (only jewelery stores)
So my advice is to rent a car, do not get an all inclusive hotel (because the food outside of the resort is far superior) and drop your expectations on the overall infrastructure of the island and enjoy the food, the beaches and the relaxed atmosphere. We will return to Atlantide.

Best restaurant on the island: le Pressoir, the worst: Il Netuno (we all got food poisioning)

Helpful?
6 Thank twincanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    9
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oslo Norway Scandinavia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2005

We spent Christmas 2004 and New Year's Eve in Grand Case.

The kitchenette wasn't what one would call well equipped. There was no bottle opener, a really bad wine opener, 2 teaspoons, not enough glasses, TV didn't work, no remote control, etc. The furniture is a bit tacky. Holes in the towels. Not clean, but just about OK. It is not a 'luxury place'! It is cumbersome to drag out the beach chairs and matresses. No staff. There was one the first 2 days, but she quit, probably because all of us with long complaint lists, the poor girl. Our fridge didn't work (freezer section) and we got a brand new one right away, by the manager from Marigot, Olivier. No phones that work in the studios. (in some only they worked.) Our phone was removed altogether! But the location is wonderful and we got to know marvellous neighbours. The studios are for sale now and will be owned by investors, Sunsea does the letting.

The restaurants ... one is better than the other... it's as if a segment of Paris was moved here. L'Alabama. Chez Martine. La Californie. Mambou. We couldn't try them all - not enough time. This aspect of Grand Case is really wonderful. And also no great big hotel complexes.

For diamonds, go to Philipsburg. Does anyone have tips on diamond stores, diamond purchases, pls write us! We made a good bargain at Ama, would like to buy more next time, and try to acquire more knowledge first.

Marigot is very charming. The duty-free prices are good. Try the cafés/restos near taxi station for lunch or snack. Reasonnable and tasty. The market Wednesday and Saturday is fun, but no big deal. St. Martin has no agriculture. But the avocados were 'outta sight', but they probably were imported. The shop Sheherazade has exquisite items (jewellery and objets d'art).

Philipsburg is not very charming, but most jewellers are here. We also went to Cupecoy and saw all the Casinos... this was too much 'Las Vegas' for our taste.

The local buses cost USD 1 each trip and the bus stops are any junction or 'natural' space for a van to stop! remember to say "bonjour" to the other passengers as you enter. It is so easy to get in contact with the locals if you crack a joke and talk pleasantly. These buses are quite comfortable and easy to get about in, although one can't see all the spots on the island without a car. But there are TOO MANY cars and absolutely too many SUVs on St. Martin. It should be prohibited to have cars larger than, say, a Peugeot 307!!!

our e-mail address is: christopher.fernando@chello.no

Helpful?
2 Thank Linklater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2004

A great beachfront location right on Grand Case Blvd and on a lovely section of the beach where there are no rocks or coral, so swimming is pleasant. We were in a street-level studio unit with a balcony that puts you right over the beach. The room was pleasant and the kitchenette was pretty well-equipped with a small fridge, four-burner stove, and the all-important blender and coffee maker. We also had a direct-line phone and color TV with the full range of U.S. stations (including HBO, so we didn?t miss ?The Sopranos?). This is not a fancy hotel by any means, but you do get daily maid service and a clean, comfortable place right on the water. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFBWDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2004

We've stayed in Grand Case five times and love it. You can share a bottle of wine (or more) over dinner in one of the great restaurants without having to worry about driving somewhere afterwards. We stay at the Hotel L'Atlantide - studio, one and two bedroom apartments with full kitchens well equipped and with a back door right onto the beach. There is no front desk, pool or any other facilities except chairs for the beach. The concierge is present mornings except Sunday, but there is daily maid service. In a week's stay we uasually eat in four nights and eat out three. This year we sometimes ate in but went to La California for dessert. They make great crepes.Contrary to a previous reoprt, in Grand Case there is a good sized supermarket (Magasin du Pont) and a Gourmet food mini-supermarket (Le Bounty) on the by-pass (great pre-prepared dishes - different every day). There is also a fabulous boulangerie on the main street where you can buy fresh-baked baguettes etc. at any time of day. Look for the sign "Pain" (for non-French speakers, a bakery, not a centre for masochism).In Marigot, there is a very large Match supermarket. We love Le Colibri - a small patisserie and saladerie on the main street (Rue du General de Gaulle) in Marigot for snacks or lunch, and Le Saint Germain, in the Marina. The biggest supermarkets, though, are on the Dutch side near Pillipsburg, and slightly cheaper.We love everything about the French side of St. Martin. But most of all we love the food. But take out a mortgage if you plan to eat all your meals out!Whatever you do don't book an all inclusive in Sint Maarten/St. Martin - there's too much choice of great places to eat.And you will have a better time if you try to speak some French. People really open up when you do. Unlike some reviewers, we have encountered occasional poor service but never unfriendliness, let alone hostility.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2003

This 9-room hotel is a great base for a beach-filled holiday. The ocean laps right outside your balcony window and the Grand Case Beach is right below. The decor is dated but it is clean and maid service comes each day. The hotel is well-maintained and provides beach towels and chairs and satellite t.v and kitchenettes. Within walking distance to the top restaurants on the island, lolos (bbq joints, a must-stop), a French grocery store, several boulangeries and US Exports grocery store (so cheap.) Rent a car. See the rest of the island which is all just minutes away.

Value is fabulous. The money saved can be used for croissants each morning and bottles of parfum.

Helpful?
4 Thank shelby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2002

I have stayed at Atlantide off and on since the Hotel's inception when it was built by Mr. Courtel of Paris. I would never stay anywhere else on this island. Most seasonal clients return year after year. If you prefer glitzy service and nitelife, this is not for you. The hotel is very French and private with all rooms right on the water. I have been going to St-Martin for over 20 years and would be happy to answer any questions for you. JOHN B. (Saint-Paul, Minnesota, USA)

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
0.0 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#3 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
0.0 mi away
Bleu Emeraude
Bleu Emeraude
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunsea Atlantide Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunsea Atlantide Residence Hotel

Property: Sunsea Atlantide Residence Hotel
Address: 5140 Grand Case Bay, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunsea Atlantide Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing