We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightfully charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of LOVE

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LOVE
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delightfully charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Love Hotel from June 23-June 26 of this year. This hotel is fun fun fun!! Julian and Bouba took very good care of us.The hotel sits right on the Grand Case harbor. Every night we would have wine on the beach watching the sunset. How spectacular!! Add to the wine, grilled Camembert and why would anyone want to leave. There are 7 rooms, only # 7 has ocean views from the room but 4-6 have ocean views from a large shared balcony. Our room # 4 was boutique style with basic furnishings. The bathroom was of good size with shower only. Take an electrical converter for a hair dryer.There was not a TV in the room which suited us just fine. This hotel drips with European ambiance which made the visit even more enjoyable. We would definitely go back to the Love Hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms 4-7 are the best 1-3 are near the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank monami33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    75
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
15
189
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kralendijk, Bonaire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this cozy beachfront hotel and loved it!!!
Nice spacious clean rooms with a very comfortable bed. We had execellent breakfast with fresh baguettes, french cheese and cold cuts while lounging with our feet in the sand. Their tapas are excellent and their service is out standing.
The location right on the quiet beach is perfect and has everything you need, lounge chairs, fat boy's, benches and umbrellas + kayaks and paddle boards free of charge for hotel guests.
The personal attention of the staff was truly making us feel at home and they really made sure we had nothing left to wish for.
We can recommend this place to everybody and if we come back to St Martin we definitly go to the LOVE hotel again.

June 2012
Bob & Marianne

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marieontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Hotel Love is in a great location--right down the road from where all of the restaurants and shops are located--plus it is right on the beach! The rooms are very basic but clean. They have a cafe on the first floor which was convenient and the coffee was good (we didn't try any food). They have comfortable lounge chairs available to guests on the beach. The owners/managers did not have the best customer service. The guy was sort of friendly but the woman was aloof and not very friendly at all. They both should be more welcoming and helpful to the guests staying at their place!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetwirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We had been staying in our time share on the Dutch side and drove up to Grand Case for a day trip. Found the Hotel Love; stayed for drink on the porch and enjoyed the location so much we returned the next day and spent the night. As previous reviewers have commented, the location is unbeatable, staff friendly and helpful and rooms simple but more than adequate.....just don't expect high end resort style. We were in room 2 on the ground level (only room available) and next time we'll try room 4,5,or 6 on the second floor with balcony views of Anguilla. The afternoon tapas on the beach are not to be missed! We loved the Love.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North bergen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Although this hotel may rank an overall average of 3.5 stars among raters...it surely makes up for that in its 5 star hospitality and beautiful location on the beach. Although there is no t.v. in room who for some this may be an everyday necessity, it actually encourages you to appreciate and enjoy natures natural beauty. There are only 7 rooms at love, which helps make it that more special in providing genuine, family-style hospitality. The largest room/suite has one large bedroom with awesome beachfront view and balcony and a smaller bedroom with views to welcome couples, family with children, or perhaps a group of friends, but only one bathroom. The hotel is located in a great town in St. Martin on the French side with great beaches and top notch hospitality. Locals, friendly visitors and guests spend their time at Love Hotel. Great tapas available daily with chill music and friendly service. Just stop by, have a bite, perhaps a drink and soak up some rays on the Grand Case beach! You might just decide that you don't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

You're right on the beach in a hotel that serves French food and wine, what's not to like? Well for one, when you book, try to avoid rooms 1 and 2, which are on the main floor and are mosquito traps. The upper rooms are much better and bug-free! Otherwise, friendly owners, moderate room rates, but no television, no room service and free Wi-Fi is only available near the bar area, which means it's great on the beach, probably acceptable in room 2 and not at all available upstairs. I don't know about you, but when I don't have TV, I need a daily dose of Facebook and Twitter! ;)

Another note, don't expect to take long showers, their water heaters are only capable of providing hot water for one quick shower.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

As a person from CT mentioned it's solid 3.5 stars. I agree. So between my 4 stars and his (hers) 3 stars we managed to produce 3.5 stars. The location is perfect. The rooms are clean, basic and functional. The staff is friendly. Below is what I didn't like - the hotel has amazing "Fatboy" giant comfy beeny chairs for guests to use. However, they give a priority for customers that came to the beach for lunch. The guests need to reserve it ahead of time for weekends. Next, this hotel takes only Euros at actual $ to E exchange rate (80% of other places in Grand Case have dollar = euro rates) - so any drink averages you $10.00, any tapas plate $15.00. So I would prefer to go to the beach with my own water/beer/food easily found in a nearby grocery store that cost you 10 times less (grocery store takes dollars at one to one exchange rate). However the hotel system set up has a beach as a restaurant extension and I was not comfortable to bring my own food and drinks to the beach. It felt like sneaking food to a restaurant...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InnAtSweetWaterFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
4.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Marquis Boutique Hotel
Marquis Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
4.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOVE

Property: LOVE
Address: 140 Boulevard de Grand Case | Saint Martin, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin (Formerly Chez Martine)
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOVE HOTEL & RESIDENCE are located on the beautiful bay of Grand Case, bordered by turquoise Carribean Sea, offering a private and luxurious experience. An ideal setting to relax on the beach and enjoy refreshing cocktails and lunch feet in the water. Families can enjoy the sound of crashing waves while children are entertained by one of the multiple beach activities. Directly on the very lively and animated Grand Case Boulevard, you will be able to enjoy the fine French cuisine at THE PETITE TABLE, situated in front of the HOTEL. You must also take some time to visit the local art galleries, boutiques, bars and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, West Indies, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotels.com so you can book your LOVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Martine Grand Case
Chez Martine Hotel Grand Case

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing