We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We saved the best for last”
Review of Le Tastevin

Le Tastevin
Ranked #14 of 68 Restaurants in Grand Case
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Ouvert midi et soir tous les jours, bord de mer .Wifi
Sydney, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“We saved the best for last”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We dined at Le Tastevin in Grand Case for our last meal in St Martin and we were not disappointed! Le Tastevin is a romantic French restaurant that embodies the essence of the gastronomic capital of the Caribbean. The restaurant is in a creole style house overlooking the water and the evening that we went, we were able to reserve one of the window tables and watch the sun set on the water as we dined on our meal.
The service was second to none offered by an attentive and charming server that made us feel most welcomed.
The food was fabulous and well presented. The 6 of us had a variety of dishes including some shared desserts. Everyone was happy with their meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    754
    291
    83
    31
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Not only is the view wonderful, but the food delicious and the service is outstanding. We went back several times. Exchange rate was not 1:1, didn't matter...it was great.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york,usa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food !”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Love it and try to come every year ! The fish and duck liver is superb ,they even were trying to make a gluten free dessert !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank happytotravel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good French cuisine”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

overall great experience there. They do take credit card. Menu prices are in Euros and if you pay in cash a EUR is $1.25. Expect to pay about $100 a person, but that is not bad considering the level of cuisine you are getting. Very good view of the ocean and sunsets.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoapChem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant and good food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Le Tastevin is a beautiful restaurant set in one of the oldest creole style homes in Grand Case (perhaps the oldest). The atmosphere is island with one full side of the restaurant open to the sea and the waves. The interior is dark wood and delicate light with whimisical island decor...a really beautiful place.

We arrived a full 30 minutes late for our 8:00 reservation but the owner graciously set us at the table I had requested online weeks before...probably the best table in the house: a 4 top that sits on a portion of the floor that juts out over the beach slightyl affording the best views. We were very grateful the owner let us keep our requested table despite our tardiness.

The food: we had some mixed feelings on this, my dish, the Shrimp and Scallop Duo with Saffron Mussel Sauce with Rice with Spanish Sausage and Peppers was delicious but not the best or even 3rd best meal I had in St. Martin BUT in Grand Case a 3rd favourite meal would be first class elsewhere. My partner had the Great Vegetarian Dish which was the biggest disappointment of the vacation....largely uninteresting and regretablly overcooked and dry.

The service was VERY inconsistent. I had hoped after the graciousness of the owner mentioned above that this would carry over the the rest of the staff...no such luck...we must have been waited on by four different people of whom none really cared how our experience was going. The most standout was a tall slender man who even rolled his eyes and grimmaced strangley when we turned down dessert and asked for the check which was a big problem because their credit card machine stopped working and those without cash had to IOU the owner and promise to come back to pay later..ugghhh..we ,however, had cash. We skipped dessert at Le Tastevin and headed across the street to L"Auberge Gourmande where we had dined the night before. Had a wonderful dessert , cognac, rum, friendly service, and smiles.

I feel let down a bit by Le Tastevin..especially in the service department. To the restauarants credit there were several very large parties of people ordering lots of food and drink and the waitors looked stressed out...this probably spread to the kitchen as well resulting in overcooked and dry pasta and veggies....perhaps on a quieter night the service and food at Le tastevin would all be better.

Note: Although there is no dress code I would advise dressing nice as most patrons were. Leave your bathing suits, bikinis, old shorts, T-shirts, and flip flops at the hotel and dress up a bit and you will fit in better at this nice establishment.

Visited Jume 2013

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Atlas1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Tastevin also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Tastevin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing