We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Grand Dame of Grand Case”
Review of Ocean 82

Ocean 82
Ranked #16 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Grand Dame of Grand Case”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We had a table on the deck overlooking the beach with a view of the lights on Anguilla. A classic Caribbean setting. I had the seafood stew which was very good but not as much lobster as I wished. But then, who in their right mind would give you more lobster?

My boyfriend had the conch and chicken pastry/soufflé and wish that I didn't have ciliac disease so I could have eaten it. THAT was the thing to order.

The service was fine. We had a great table but the deck does heat up. We were very hot.

The wine list is good and you have a pick of well know and esoteric French vintners.

We did not have dessert but the shot of caramel rum was a nice touch. Some people may call it gimmicky but it is delicious. And I'm not a rum drinker. Maybe I am after this trip.

Would have rated this an Excellent except for the prices. It is very pricy for what you get but that doesn't mean it wasn't a good experience. Grand Case is a special place and the restaurateurs realize this.

Overall, worth a try, but just be prepared to pay a premium price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karabee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    864
    304
    105
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, N.J.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service & Seaside Seating! Beautiful! & Delicious!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were in St. Maarten in early May 2014 - on a sailboat with 3 other couples who were our guest and depended on the captain/first mate this time for a restaurant recommendation. Ocean 82 by the sea exceeded our expectations! First delicious and well-made cocktails and great wines by the glass; We ended up being a party of 10 and were seated at a lovely corner table right at the ocean edge; But the most important thing to know is that the food is delicious and only outdone by the superb service! Each member of our party found their meals to be outstanding and I especially loved the preparation on the duck; others enjoyed fish and chicken dishes and all revealed in the outstanding desserts! The Vuillemins have created a very nice and extensive wine list and we only hate we didn't write our servers names down as we would encourage you to ask for them specifically! We sail yearly in the Caribbean and this was our first visit to Ocean 82 but it will not be our last! The lobster is also fresh and fantastic! Be sure to call ahead for reservations or take your chances if in Grand Case and don't miss this delightful spot!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Delicious meal with an even better view. They gave us shots of their house made rum after dinner. The lobster bisque is wonderful- as well as the gnocchi and seafood pot!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank krachelhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Cuisine”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had visited this restaurant under prior management six years ago. We had an amazing meal then including faux gras six different ways. We were excited to find the restaurant...still has impeccable sunset views and atmosphere.

The chef was so accommodating in preparing a meal in remembrance of our first visit. Exquisite cuisine with unique flavors. Don't miss this great experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“The New Kid On The Block Rocks!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Ocean 82, taking over the space from The Fishpot, has kept the same layout, but has raised the quality level several degrees. From the massive lobster tank in the front to the very well-stocked bar and then the dining rooms opening up onto Grand Case Bay, it's class all the way. We had grilled lobster (almost a rule when you visit Grand case which is, after all, a fishing village), and we had it grilled. Unlike the U.S., where you get drawn butter, Ocean 82 provided three different dipping sauces to accompany the lobster. Even the vegetables were different - you get the impression of a restaurant that is trying very hard to be a high-end place while doing its absolute best to maintain an informal atmosphere. Difficult to pull off? Not here. Kudos to the staff, the chef, and the place itself. This one's a winner!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KozMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean 82 also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Ocean 82? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing