We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Service, food, and ambience. ”
Review of Ocean 82

Ocean 82
Ranked #16 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Service, food, and ambience. ”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Some people just complain about everything, that's has to be why this restaurant has a few bad reviews. Great beach setting, superb service, and mouth watering Lobster. A wonderful last dinner for my wife and I in St Martin. Please enjoy.

Helpful?
5 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    864
    304
    105
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Extremely slow service, fish was overcooked, great view but not worth the visit. Long wait before any service, 20 min between removal of dinner plates and seeing anybody about dessert. Unapologetic about wait.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortson, GA
Level Contributor
511 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Romantic setting, excellent food, attentive service - OUTSTANDING!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

For our first night in St. Martin during a week's stay in Simpson Bay (Dutch), I had selected Ocean 82 (from TA reviews) for a romantic dinner with my wife on Saturday evening 6/28. I had looked up the time for sunset & booked dinner 30 minutes earlier with a request "at the rail" overlooking the bay of Grand Case. Although I got lost twice driving north, we arrived only 15 minutes late - but our table had been held for us & we were still seated before sunset! :)

What a wonderful experience! As an American with a German last name, I admit to having been foolishly concerned about how the French staff would treat us. Not to worry! From our greeting on arrival to all the warm attention from restaurant personnel while we were there, we found service to be friendly & impeccable. What a treat! The sunset was not accommodating, but that didn't matter since our table overlooking the bay was perfect with a balmy temperature & a light breeze.

We first sampled French rosé, & then ordered a bottle that was an excellent accompaniment to our meals. We shared classic escargot (mostly me - OK, not great), ravioli & scallops (quite good), & an unusual mahi-mahi trilogy of raw roll-ups (better in the imagining than the execution).

But then came the piece de resistance: dessert of soufflé Grand Marnier accompanied by a snifter of Grand Marnier. FANTASTIC! One of our best desserts of all time! We liked it so much that we returned several days later with my brother-in-law & his wife to treat them to this extraordinary dessert experience - again at sunset! They agreed with our rave review.....

BTW, we were so impressed with the courtesy samples of the restaurant's own ginger-infused rum, that we bought a bottle!

Highly recommended! Go! :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RalphSchmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
210 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Good French”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Good food, awesome views, great service. Good wine selection. Oysters were really fresh. Will be back for sure!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Dinner with a View”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We were a party of 13 for dinner, 3 couples and all our children aged 14 to 21. The restaurant easily accommodated the size of our group. Everyone found something on the menu that enticed them and praised the taste of their selections. The menu included refreshing cocktails we hadn't seen before, the longest wine list of our trip, a combination of traditional French favorites and innovative local twists, and great desserts. Dinner included a great view of Grand Case harbor and several moored boats. We even saw a spotted ray swim by. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Overall, our dinner was a great experience and the best of our trip!

Helpful?
3 Thank MikeHikeEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean 82 also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Ocean 82? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing