We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visited in June. Hit it outa the park!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean 82

Ocean 82
Ranked #15 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Visited in June. Hit it outa the park!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our first experience. The food, the service, the view, the breeze. What more does one need for a memorable evening. Special.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DoctorRock24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    847
    301
    103
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Drop dead sunset -- it doesn't get any better!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Ocean 83 is a beautiful restaurant and the view is spectacular. The staff was very friendly and the food was very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ccbcharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Service, food, and ambience. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Some people just complain about everything, that's has to be why this restaurant has a few bad reviews. Great beach setting, superb service, and mouth watering Lobster. A wonderful last dinner for my wife and I in St Martin. Please enjoy.

Helpful?
5 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Extremely slow service, fish was overcooked, great view but not worth the visit. Long wait before any service, 20 min between removal of dinner plates and seeing anybody about dessert. Unapologetic about wait.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortson, GA
Level Contributor
511 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Romantic setting, excellent food, attentive service - OUTSTANDING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

For our first night in St. Martin during a week's stay in Simpson Bay (Dutch), I had selected Ocean 82 (from TA reviews) for a romantic dinner with my wife on Saturday evening 6/28. I had looked up the time for sunset & booked dinner 30 minutes earlier with a request "at the rail" overlooking the bay of Grand Case. Although I got lost twice driving north, we arrived only 15 minutes late - but our table had been held for us & we were still seated before sunset! :)

What a wonderful experience! As an American with a German last name, I admit to having been foolishly concerned about how the French staff would treat us. Not to worry! From our greeting on arrival to all the warm attention from restaurant personnel while we were there, we found service to be friendly & impeccable. What a treat! The sunset was not accommodating, but that didn't matter since our table overlooking the bay was perfect with a balmy temperature & a light breeze.

We first sampled French rosé, & then ordered a bottle that was an excellent accompaniment to our meals. We shared classic escargot (mostly me - OK, not great), ravioli & scallops (quite good), & an unusual mahi-mahi trilogy of raw roll-ups (better in the imagining than the execution).

But then came the piece de resistance: dessert of soufflé Grand Marnier accompanied by a snifter of Grand Marnier. FANTASTIC! One of our best desserts of all time! We liked it so much that we returned several days later with my brother-in-law & his wife to treat them to this extraordinary dessert experience - again at sunset! They agreed with our rave review.....

BTW, we were so impressed with the courtesy samples of the restaurant's own ginger-infused rum, that we bought a bottle!

Highly recommended! Go! :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RalphSchmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean 82 also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Ocean 82? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing