We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in St. Martin!”

Caribbean Creole Food
Ranked #35 of 68 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, French
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal in St. Martin!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We came here on our first night of our trip to St. Martin and were thrilled with the food we got. Grilled whole red snapper with creole rice, and chicken shish-kebabs. The snapper was outstanding, everything I could have asked for in a meal in the Caribbean. We would recommend this place in an instant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ned L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    43
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“best bar on the beach”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We spent most mornings on the beach here and it was brilliant good food and cost of a beer was spot on 'we had cocktails on our last night and at 6 $ for half a pint what more can you say .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank losty0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A place for drinks, not for dinner”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Enold's is a great place to hang out during the day in their beach chairs, sipping drinks. But the food is of poor quality, it lacks in taste and charm. We ordered the cod fritters as a starter, it was simply too much. A plate of fritters with fries would be a dinner in itself. The sauce that came with it wasn't any interesting, we ended up having mayonnaise with the fritters instead.

As our main courses we ordered entrecôte and red snapper. The snapper was tasteless, and so was the bean and rice that came with it. The entrecôte wasn't any better, it was ordered as "medium", but ended up more like a shoe sole, overdone. The salad was fresh and nice.

The service was helpless, the waitress poured my partner a full glass of cold, white wine although he had barely started on the beer he ordered to start with. We had to keep our cutlery from the starters to the main course. The spice and sauce sets on the tables were randomly filled, at some tables you got two kinds of sauces, on our table there was nothing but an overload of small bags of mayo and ketchup.

When we asked for the bill, the card machine was suddenly "gone", but when we offered a combined payment of dollars and euro that was a bit low for the owner's liking, it suddenly reappeared.

We gave this place a shot after having stayed in Grand Case for a week, eating at great restaurants. Maybe it was too much to expect, but we were seriously disappointed by this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Our best meal in St. Martin!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were lucky enough to stop here for lunch while on an all-day boat and snorkel trip with Soualiga Destinations (also highly recommended - see my review of them too). We had lunch at the shaded picnic tables right on the beach. We had frozen guavaberry drinks, which were awesome! Even if you can't make it to this restaurant, please make sure you experience one somewhere while in St. Martin!
I had grilled grouper, and my fiance had the grilled chicken. Both came with rice and beans, plantains, and salad. Everything was so fresh and presented very nicely on pretty plates (more than I expected for a lunch on the beach)! We stuffed ourselves. Everyone else on our boat excursion was very happy with their lunch as well (I saw ribs and fries that looked good too). I SO wish I could be enjoying some of that grouper right now!
Simply amazing!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sobevip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caribbean Creole Food also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Caribbean Creole Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing