We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Shambala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Shambala
Ranked #3 of 8 Grand Case B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We really enjoyed our dinner here. this place offers a unique beach setting with such ambience. The food was excellent. Good wine selection. The service was a bit slower due to a larger party next to us. but very enjoyable

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    17
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
66
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were looking to get away for a few days in the sun - found Le Shambala in Grand Case - and were totally happy. The rooms are private bungalows with simple and sophisticated furnishings - stylish bath and best of all a private pool and garden. The restaurant and bar are directly on the water which makes viewing the spectacular sunset a real treat. The staff is terrific and genuinely friendly and Patrick the owner is wonderfully accommodating. Now to the best - the food is simply wonderful and has a wine list to match! Damien Vernaison's ability to combine the freshest ingredients into wonderful dishes is outstanding. The flavors in each dish blend beautifully yet you can taste the individual ingredients perfectly. We will be back.

Room Tip: our favorite rooms were Curacao and Tintamarre
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Werner M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
183 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We ate here as this restaurant was highly recommended. The restaurant has newly opened.

Positives:

- Oceanside setting beautiful
- Sailboats in the harbor
- Excellent service
- Entrées were adequately portioned with an excellent presentation
- Bar with excellent variety of drinks
- Casual dress code
- Adequate variety on the menu
- Casual sofa seating by the water

Not so Positives:

- Nearby parking is limited
- Limited dessert choices
- Average meal for two with drinks = $140.

Room Tip: Make reservations in advance and get there to see the sunset. It is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Le Shambala is a newly-opened boutique hotel, restaurant and lounge bar on the beach-front of Grand Case. If you enjoy the upscale sophistication, expert cuisine, sun, sea and sand of Saint Tropez, you will love the effortless sophistication of Le Shambala. Your generous hosts, Florence and Patrick spare no expense in bringing you the quintessential Tropezienne experience.

We stayed for 9 nights as a family. After a delicious breakfast prepared to order by the chef, we would usually play in the pool of the lounge area or collect shells on the beach. The lounge area was mostly empty until the evening time so we had the place to ourselves in the day. The hotel has only 5 rooms, most of which have their own pool. The rooms are simple but spacious and comfortable in a chalet style, allowing for privacy, like having your own mini-villa. The linen and towels are tastefully selected and of high quality. Each room has a fridge and a safe. Patrick provided our room with a WIFI range-extender which was helpful.

At lunch time, we mostly ventured out. There are so many good restaurants on the French side of the island but Le Sand on Nettle Beach stood-out as a favorite location. In the evenings, however, the lounge bar would warm up and there was no better place to watch the sunset. Cocktails washed down by the sea-breeze were followed by dinner in the restaurant on most evenings.

The staff is young, knowledgeable and agreeable. The hotel was not crowded. One really feels at home. The kitchen is honest and the chef is highly-skilled. The fresh lobster was sweet, the cod cooked “sous-vide” was of the highest quality. The tuna and onion tart was delicious and I enjoyed the scrambled eggs and truffle-oil ham which the chef would prepare for my breakfast.

The hotel, the lounge- bar and the restaurant would each be memorable in their own right. The combination of the three in a single location is unbeatably convenient. A pure luxury. Florence & Patrick are to be congratulated on their accomplishment.

Le Shambala is recommended unreservedly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabellita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

My friend and I visited the beach lounge 3 or 4 times during our stay. We'd usually stop by for after dinner cocktails. The view from the lounge at sunset is gorgeous. The drinks are great too, thanks to the very attentive bartender Pierre - he was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianNYCbatterypark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I did not stay in the hotel, but the lounge on the beach was wonderful. Service was great, the cocktails were unique and delicious, and the ambience was very relaxing and romantic. Really cool vibe. The night I went they had live jazz, which was also cool. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this newly opened luxury hotel in Grand Case. The property is beautiful - very modern chic with stunning views of the bay - and the room had all the amenities to be expected of a luxury resort but with a private villa feel. The staff was very attentive at the bar/restaurant as well as the owner Florence. We were upgraded to a room with a private pool because our room wasn't ready (we were the first guests), but I'm not sure if the room would have been worth the premium otherwise. The breakfast rate was also pricy, but the staff was more than willing to accommodate our request for one or two items from the menu.

The location on Grand Case Blvd is perfect for walking to all the great restaurants and bars the area is known for. Though it's on the water beach access is limited, but we had no problem driving to resorts and public beaches in the area. We found it easier to do this than it would have been to drive at night to Grand Case to eat had we stayed elsewhere given the driving conditions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DTravels55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
0.4 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#3 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bleu Emeraude
Bleu Emeraude
#1 of 8 in Grand Case
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Temps des Cerises
Le Temps des Cerises
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Shambala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Shambala

Property: Le Shambala
Address: 28 Bd de Grand Case, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The secret of Le Shambala Luxury Lodge & Gourmet Restaurant is tucked away inside its exclusive seaside location in the heart of Grand Case, a former fishing village. Le Shambala offers romantic and gourmet stays in an exceptional setting with direct access to a white sand beach edged by turquoise waters and a terrace of its gourmet restaurant or Sand Bar, where you can enjoy the beautiful sunset over the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Le Shambala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing