We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular Setting - Beautiful Sunsets”
Review of Le Shambala

Le Shambala
Ranked #10 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$78
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A magical setting for a new restaurant Le Shambala located on Grand Case Beach. Fine dining, with a wide selection of quality fish, lobster & meats. Only fresh food of the highest quality strictly selected and cooked with a fusion of European and Carribean flavours by a French Antillean Chef .According to the market, the chief may change some dishes.Le Shambala offers one of the most spectacular sunsets of the island.We invite you to join us for sunset cocktails and fine dining on the Carribean Sea.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular Setting - Beautiful Sunsets”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We dined at Le Shambala during the week that a group of us were there for my 40th birthday. I'm really into atmosphere in restaurants and Le Shambla has put a lot of thought into their design, aesthetics and lighting. The result is a heavenly experience.

The entire restaurant is outside and the "lounge" area has sand and these lovely seating areas made out of drift wood. The music was perfect, lighting was stunning and the furnishings etc.. make it the best.

The menu is limited and while everything was "good" nothing was exceptional although a couple of folks in our group sang the praises for the food and commented on how good the lamb was.

The service was impeccable and the staff was so friendly. Our server was very thoughtful and they found out at the end that it was my birthday so they brought us a sample of desserts that were exceptional.

I will definitely go back here. While its an expensive destination I felt as if it was worth it. I think they will do well and as more people find them I'm sure they will carve out a loyal following. This restaurant had such a lovely ambiance we even went back another night just for drinks!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCGuy916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    74
    30
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Even Better Sunset View”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We sat down early to miss an early evening shower, and were rewarded with one of the most beautiful sunset views I have ever seen. It would have been awfully hard for the meal to top the view, but the outstanding meal certainly came close. The asparagus soup was a wonderful starter, and the rack of lamb was cooked to perfection. The chocolate dessert was one of the best desserts I have had at any restaurant in my life. So rich and thoroughly decadent. The service was outstanding as well. It was our last night on the island, and a wonderful way to say farewell!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZanzibarAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice bot overpriced”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Good food, not excellent. Very chic upscale ambiance. The flavor was good, but I thought I could get a much better value at other restaurants. I will not go out of my way to go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank russ h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, CT
Level Contributor
326 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“New and surprisingly good”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

New and surprisingly good
There have been several operations in this location over the years, but this one got it right. In its peer up group of the very fine, and more e4xpensive, dining venues in Grand case, they have the best view, right on the beach. Their staff is very attentive and nice as well. We put them to the test and ordered some of the more exotic dishes and they were perfect. We asked for a wine recommendation and to our surprise and unlike some of the other high end restaurants in Grand Case, their recommendation was at moderate, as opposed to high, price.
We were there when they were open less than two weeks and probably served only a few dozen meals. I was prepared to cut the new folks some slack, but they performed like seasoned pros. We will definitely return next trip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
485 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Paris transformed !”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

What an amazing place!
Sitting at waters edge, wave flowing in while sipping on imported French wines.
Our waiter/wine expert, Pierre, was a great help in selecting our libation.
The setting is pristine, the menu was not only uniquely special but presented in artful
Style.
The restaurant is part of a newly opened luxury boutique hotel
DONT MISS it,

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jared F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Shambala also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Shambala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing