We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Au Coin des Amis

Au Coin des Amis
Ranked #29 of 68 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Worth trying. The food is very affordable and quite tasty. It's easy to be overloaded with carbs and meat, so make sure to balance your meal. The chicken is much better than the ribs. The macaroni and cheese is damn near kraft blue box, so you can skip that. Upon leaving, they brought out fresh lobster. Wish I would have seen it when I was ordering. For the price, this place is worth trying.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IamPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    45
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Olmsted
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mahi-Mahi”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

You have to try the lolo's when you go to St. Martin. We haven't been to this one before so I decided to try it for dinner. It was great, I had the Mahi-Mahi, rice & beans and potato salad. My husband had the chicken plate. Both plates were filling and tasty. Don't forget to try the Johnny cakes. Service can be slow even when there are only a few other customers but worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniferH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was the first lolo that we tried and we were all very happy. The food was good and the prices were fantastic. We got lots of food and the flavours were all great. Our bill was less than $30 for 4 people. It was also right on the water so the view was nice as well. I guess the ribs were great as that is what the others in my party had and they couldn't stop talking about them all week.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blizz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Local Favorite and best by far!!!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the sparkling lights in the back by the water or the hockers near the street that try to bribe you into their restaurant. There is only one LoLo restaurant in Grand Case and that is Au Coin Des Amis.

And now that Talk of the Town closed, it seems that everyone is finding this little restaurant the one to dine at.

Family-run and locally favored, this one for one outdoor restaurant is the best by far. My staple is the barbecued ribs with plaintain's and rice and beans, while my lovely wife always prefers her stuff crabs and salad. The freshest and the best.

Ask for the local Ti punch with no ice and they will be impressed!!!!

You can thank me later.

Helpful?
Thank Jamesonpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We liked it!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Au coin des amis is a traditionnal ´lolos ´ facing the ocean with an open bbq. We shared traditionnal creole food like boudin noir, cod fritters, pork rib and plantain. Everything was good, tasty and generous. Staff was friendly. Try it if you want a taste of the Caraïbe. Really

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Selena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au Coin des Amis also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Au Coin des Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing