We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable. Relaxed, Quiet, Comfort, Value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol e Luna Romantic Inn
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable. Relaxed, Quiet, Comfort, Value.”
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We went in August, so the prices were moderate and I thought overall the value was quite good. We started our St. Martin adventure on the Dutch side, then went up to Orient Bay Hotel for a night (stay away!) and then finally came to the home stretch for 4 nights at Sol e Luna.

While it is not on the beach, it is very peaceful here. The rooms are clean, our porch was great, the whole hotel was very quiet this time of year and it seemed like we had the pool to ourselves all except one time when we met another nice couple.

We're pretty thrifty travelers and overall if you like the smaller, bed & breakfast type hotels you should thoroughly enjoy the peace and sanctity (although this did not offer breakfast, but it did offer the homely feel - previously it was the home of the current owner - they also own the great restaurant down below). Not sure what other travelers were talking about airplanes. The whole island is very tiny and as there are two larger airports planes may be heard from nearly anywhere - we barely noticed.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    14
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
63
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We spent 4 nights at the Sol e Luna hotel in February. The location was great, the area is safe, view from the balcony is a delight. The grounds are beautiful, as if you're in a botanical garden.

The room, though, could have been better. To be fair, we stayed in the worst room at the inn, the Coco Tiare. It was just not cozy, the furnishings were old, (which might have been on purpose, but unfortunately it did not work well), the lighting wasn't done well either. The biggest problem was the bathroom, there's no door that separates the room from the toilet. There is a partial wall between the bed and the bathroom, but it is just partial. So beware that there is absolutely no privacy. I am not sure if the other rooms have the same setting. We looked briefly at some of the other rooms, and they were definitely much cozier than the Coco Tiere. I would stay again at this hotel if they have one of the other rooms available.

The balcony was great for breakfast in the morning, it was very quiet and peaceful. There is a bakery down the street from the hotel, where the croissants are great, the bread is not that good though, and for some reason every morning they charged us different for the same things....But, still it was convenient. There is coffee and a coffee maker on the balcony, so you can enjoy a fresh cup of coffee and a croissant on the balcony.

Parking was not a problem. You get clean beach towels every day. There is a hairdrier and a safe in the room. The lady who cleans the rooms is very friendly and does a great job. The swimming pool area is very cute, though the water in the pool is not very inviting.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

A lovely hidden place in a beautiful garden, well located, lovely stylish appartments. Sol e Luna breathes quietness, a tranquil place to relax, very friendly staff and lovely owners all very willing to help or give advice. The restaurant serves honest French food, no tricks or atrificials to enhaunce taste, with good matching wines. Everything is done to give customers a taste of lost paradise.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ino_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

We spent a week at the Sol e Luna in early May '08, in Suite Nacre.
The website is: http://www.solelunarestaurant.com. The website has very accurate photos of the rooms.
The property is well-located between Orient Beach, Anse Marcel and Grand Case allowing daily choice of beach and restaurant, but a car is necessary. I recommend grocery shopping in Marigot, about 8 miles away. (The Match Super Marche has excellent fresh food with a good selection of wines. I pruchased several '05 Bordeaux for about $4 each.)
It is a small hotel, with only 6 rooms on two levels. I selected our suite (Nacre) based on size and its jacuzzi. However, the common pool is gorgeous and only a few feet away, so next time, I would pick Jasmine since its patio area is larger. I saw 2 couples at the pool during the entire week.
The best part of the floorplans is the abundant outdoor space. The kitchen and eating area is outside and delightful. I was concerned about mosquitos, but, with a bit of bug spray, we were not bothered the whole week.
The interior of the room was spacious and airy. We left the windows (without screens) open in the daytime then closed them and turned on the AC to sleep - very comfortable. The bed was very firm, a mattress on poured concrete. Still, we slept well.
Hot water in the shower was intermittent, but this is not a problem since the days were hot. Water in the outside sink, in the kitchen area, had very low pressure.
The TV worked but only pulled in two stations both in French. We did not try to use the Internet. The room safe was inoperable, reportedly because the last occupants left it locked.
Unlike other reviewers who saw the owners only 2 - 3 times during their stays, I saw them only once: upon check-in. Checking out simply meant leaving the key since I could not find anyone. If you need service or attention, I recommend against staying here.
Since the write in Travel + Leisure (May '08), I suspect that their business has boomed.

  • Liked — The al freesco kitchen and dining room
  • Disliked — Hard bed
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dcshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2008

My wife and I spent two weeks at the Sol E Luna and experienced one of the most relaxing, comfortable and peaceful vacations ever. We stayed three nights in the Coco Tiare which is small but comfortable and then moved to our first choice, the Jasmine Suite. This really is the most perfect suite for combining sheltered outdoor living with your own private sundeck - if you can handle the Caribbean sun. The indoor bedroom and bathroom are also very spacious.
The kitchen facilities are more than adequate to prepare light meals if you so choose and the lounge areas and deck make it very easy to sped a day at home.
Start the day with a quick walk to the bakery and return with a baguette to find the coffee brewed, fresh fruit and the bistro table set; relax on the deck lounger and get back to that book you are absorbed in; before you know it lunch and another baguette with wine and cheese; then take an afternoon 10 minute walk to Orient Beach - half mile of white sand and lots of activity at one end or peace and quiet at the other - stop at the Mexicana Beach Bar for a Carib or Martguerita to keep the fluid level up and return to the Jasmine's sun sheltered lounge and that book; then a quick shower and a romantic candle light dinner.
We did eat on three occasions at the Sol E Luna restaurant which is exceptional and Grand Case is only 10 minutes away with similar outstanding restaurants and after dinner boutique browsing. Dining is a little pricey but you can hit the Lo Lo BBQ spots in Grand Case for dinner - all you can eat for two with a bottle of wine and change from $50!
Christian and his family have created a unique small Inn in a secluded private setting but still within arms reach of everything St Martin has to offer. Certainly one of the more memorable vacations we have taken and highly recommended for a quiet, private, relaxing getaway, particularly if you can book the jasmine suite.

  • Liked — Lots of Space
  • Disliked — Mosquitoes
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GetawayNOWBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2008

Just returned from a week in St. Martin. We spent the first 4 nights at Sol e Luna in the Mango Room. This suite does not disappoint. It is exactly like the pictures. It may take a day to get adjusted to the island style (wood shutters without screens or real windows, the terrible roads to get there or the lack of any resort style amenities) but ithis place will grow on you. We had a wonderful time and woke up each day loving our stay at Sol e Luna more and more. It is a wonderful suite with plently of room to spread out and really feel like your in your caribbean home. WE were able to peak in another room at the inn while we were there and couldn't believe how small it was in comparison to our suite. We really enjoyed opening up the doors and windows and relaxing with a glass of wine on the bacony and enjoying the beautiful view of the island. You are only minutes to 2 of teh best beaches in St. Martin ( Pinel Island and Orient Beach) too! I highly recommend Sol e Luna and especially the Mango Suite!

Helpful?
3 Thank escalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

We just returned from a long weekend at Sol e Luna. It was the perfect place to get away without the kids. The decoration of the Mango suite was reminiscent of our Moroccan honeymoon. Binoculars were supplied for bird watching in the marsh across the street. A great place for privacy - while the hotel has the intimacy of a b& b, you rarely see the other guests. The restaurant meal was also excellent, with a plus being the offerings of half bottles (Sancerre with my cioppino, Graves with my husband's filet mignon with morel sauce). On other nights we enjoyed the convenience of being halfway between Orient Beach and Grand Case.

We did not experience, as a previous poster did, a lack of hot water. However, this is not a hotel for those wanting guidance; after an initial meeting, we only saw the owner twice more - at the restaurant and at the harbor in Cul de Sac buying fish! Also, our tv did not function properly, although it should be noted, we didn't complain as we were content with the wireless service.

  • Liked — Tranquility, does not feel like a "hotel"
  • Disliked — Only for self-sufficient travellers
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrienneNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,804 reviews
0.0 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bleu Emeraude
Bleu Emeraude
#1 of 8 in Grand Case
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Shambala
Le Shambala
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol e Luna Romantic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol e Luna Romantic Inn

Property: Sol e Luna Romantic Inn
Address: 61, Mont Vernon 1, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sol e Luna invites you to enjoy a unique and unforgettable experience in an elegant, intimate and romantic heart of the Caribbean. Both gourmet restaurant, and boutique-hotel, this elegant and refined place, combines the subtle decoration of a typically Creole house, a garden with lush vegetation around gazebos and two swimming pools, all influenced by the colors Provence. Centrally located (5 minutes from the beach of Orient Bay, Anse Marcel, the Bay of Grand Case and 3 minutes from Pinel Island) Sol e Luna offers quick access to the most beautiful beaches of the island. As soon as you walk in the door, you feel the tranquility and authenticity of this Creole house with refined decoration The hotel, a haven of peace, has three suites and three rooms, each of different styles and have terraces or balconies offering you a relaxing view. All are air conditioned and equipped with mini kitchen (fridge, microwave, grid bread, kettle), Nespresso Coffee Maker, flat screen televisions, hair dryers, toiletries, iron and ironing boards. A daily cleaning service and Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. For mild relaxation, the hotel has two swimming pools: one located near the lounge and bar and a second more intimate only reserved for our guests. To complete your rest a breakfast room service is offered and we offer a privileged access to our private beach in the heart of one of the most beautiful bays of the island, the bay of Grand Case in providing you graciously beach chairs. From April 1 to December 12, the Sol e Luna also offers, for the duration of your stay, dinner based on a "discovery menu" including the choice of a starter, a main course and a dessert (excluding drinks) in our restaurant, one of the most famous of the island. The chefs offer a cuisine that is both imaginative and innovative only with fresh products and fish (caught by us) in respect of the French gastronomic tradition. For lunch they reinvent daily "La Table du Midi" (choice of a starter, main course and dessert) and offer dinner according to the menu, always taking care to sublimate the freshness of our products. You will be advised with elegance and simplicity to create the perfect match with your dishes based on a selection of preferred wines made with care and passion. The Sol e Luna is a delight, off the beaten track. At your senses ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Sol e Luna Romantic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol e Luna Romantic Hotel Grand Case

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing