We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sol e luna st martin superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol e Luna Romantic Inn
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sol e luna st martin superb”
Reviewed 12 February 2011

we have stayed here 4 times in the past 5 years and won't ever stay anywhere else on the island. We think it has the best french restaurant on the island and it;s better priced then many. We also like the neighborhood feel and the local boulangerie and Le Tatue restaurant nearby.
We are always impressed with the rooms and gardens. It is paradise on earth.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookreadermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    14
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
63
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
China Grove, North Carolina
Level Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

This was our 6th time to St. Martin and our first time not staying on Orient Beach. Sol e Luna was just a short drive to Orient Beach. Beautifully landscaped gardens with stone walkways up to the 5 suites. No elevator so you will have to carry baggage. The restaurant below the rooms is also very beautifully decorated. Since there are only 5 rooms, it's very quiet and private. This is like living on the island! It's not your typical hotel as the only service you will really have is when the maid comes in to make the bed, clean, and replace towels. Honestly, that was all we needed! Beach towels are provided. At night when the restaurant closes, the whole place has an access gate that is closed. It remains closed until they come to open the restaurant in the afternoon. You can park your rental car right inside and will be given the access key to get in and out. We stayed in Coco-Tiare and the balcony with small kitchen was so nice. Beautifully updated bathroom. Just a short walk down the street is a little bakery for your morning croissants on the balcony. Wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We stayed at Sol e Luna in May 2010 and it was one of our best times we've had this year. It was during the low season, so there was only one other room that was occupied during our stay, which made it quiet and very relaxing. The garden was beautiful and close proximity to L'Orient beach (2 minutes drive). Christian (the owner) checked us in to our room (Vanille) and showed us around.
The room was spacious and had a small balcony overlooking a salt pond and you can see L'Orient on the horizon. It came with a kitchenette where you can assemble prepared meals and make coffee/tea in the morning. There is a supermarket nearby (on the way from Grand Case) where you can shop for food.
The pool is sizable and clean but we didn't get the chance to use it as we spent our days on the beach.
The dinner at Sol e Luna was delicious (Christian is also the head chef) and well executed. The food is affordable and perfect for special occassions. The rum-soaked banana apperitif should not be missed.
There is a bakery nearby (2 minute walk), if you can get up in time for fresh cafe au lait and croissant, please do so because they are so good. The bakery also sells rotisserie chicken.
On nights that you'll not be dining at Sol e Luna, try the pizzas at Au Grain du Sel, on the road to the Pinel ferry dock. They were so tasty and fresh, unlike the pizzas I've had in the US.
Overall, Sol e Luna is a quiet, comfortable boutique hotel that would suit customers who can self-cater their needs.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acimeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

I guess most people who travel find a special place that for whatever reason draws them back. Not only does St. Martin exert it's attraction on us, but also does Sol e Luna. I think this is our 6th stay at the guest houses that are positioned on the hill above the restaurant. Over the years we have stayed in many of the rooms and this trip took "Vanilla." The room itself is very spacious and as with all the suites we love the showers. Nicely decorated and enough appliances and utensils for a comfortable stay. I must admit the refridgerator in this room needs to be repalced as it did not cool as we had wished. The bed is so cozy and comfy...a pleasure to sleep on and relax after a day at the beach. We especially enjoyed the balcony overlooking not only "the pond" but a view of the Atlantic, part of Orient Beach, and to the far east the outline of St. Barts. The maid does a great job keeping the room clean and supplied with towels. All rooms have a safe. The landscaping is wonderful. Everywhere you turn there is lush greenery and flowers that have been kept trimmed by beautiful by the gardener. Even the pool has such a perfect setting with lounge chairs and cushions. But as I said in the opening, the attraction for us is the intimate setting and privacy offered here. No one bothers you...there is no noise to keep you awake...just the two of us to relax. And such a delicious true french restaurant only steps away. A perfect place which we will return next year!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keepthosebagspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We booked SeL for our second trip to SXM. The previous year we stayed at a nice hotel resort in Orient. SeL is much different and a better match for our needs,

SeL is not a hermetically sealed hotel room separating you from the world with chrome and glass. In fact, there is no glass in the windows, which while small, are louvered wood and can be opened fully for ventilation or for extra light. We stayed in the Jasmine suite, which we believe has the best view and most deck space overlooking the pond. The suite's outdoor kitchen area was a pleasant surprise. In the mornings we sat at the table and checked email (free wifi) while drinking coffee and connecting with friends staying elsewhere on the island. In the evenings we enjoyed a cold beer or mixed drink while surfing the web or emailing family at home (and sending them photos to make them envious.)

The Jasmine was spacious, the bed firm but comfortable, and the bathroom and dressing space was large. The safe easily held our netbook, DSLR, passports, etc. The tile floors, wooden trim, and outdoor living space suggest a Mediterranean villa and we spent time each day on the deck reading and enjoying the view and the breeze. The pool is small but sheltered and private.

The inn is above the restaurant itself. It's a bit of a climb to haul up luggage, but after that it's an easy walk. The property is full of lush plants, providing privacy. There was no noise from the restaurant or staff, all of whom were friendly. Security is excellent. The property has an electronically controlled gate that is shut after hours. We were given the code and parked inside the gate at night. The neighborhood is very nice and feels safe.

There is a small bakery a few blocks from the inn that sells great pastries. Villa Pizza is 5 minutes down the road in Cul-de-Sac and makes the best pizza we've had on SXM. The US Market is 5 minutes the other direction and sells liquor, wine, cheese and everything else you want from a grocery store. (It is not a convenience store, but a full-sized store, smaller than Grand Marche but a much easier trip.) SeL is less than 10 minutes from Orient Beach and Grand Case, so for us it was ideally situated, as we spent our days on Orient under the yellow umbrellas.

There is no room service or ice machine (the restaurant provided us with ice) or concierge, so if you are high maintenance, you will be disappointed. The TV received only two stations, both in French. This was not a problem for us as we preferred to read in the evenings. There was a DVD player, but we didn't bring DVDs. The wifi signal is weak and unreliable in the room, which was disappointing, but stronger and reliable on the deck. The kitchen is adequately appointed for snacks and breakfast.

Christian, the chef and inn manager was charming and gracious. The housekeeping staff was swift and did a great job. Altogether we found Sol e Luna to be a great experience and we are already making plans to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baycruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

My wife and I are seasoned travelers. We have been all over Europe many times and have visited all 50 US states as well as most Canadian provinces. This, however, was our first time in the Caribbean, and we were not disappointed. The inn is gorgeous, and Christian, Sole e Luna's chef/owner, couldn't have been more helpful. His restaurant and housekeeping staff are friendly, well trained, and anxious to meet your every need. The quality of food in the restaurant is top drawer, and this comes from someone who dines frequently in some of Manhattan's top-rated dining spots. As was noted in some other reviews, Sole e Luna is not for those who travel abroad seeking large American hotel chain amenities. Here you know you've come to some place special, a place where you sit on your spacious patio, watch the stars in the Southern sky, smell the lush foliage after a brief shower, and listen to the sounds of the tropical night.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dondee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

This is the 2nd time my wife and I have stayed at Sol e Luna, and it just keeps getting better and better! One word of caution for those travelers who are not self-starters (a/k/a those who need to be "pampered") this is not the hotel for you. Sol e Luna is about simplicity, relaxation and control - in that you are in control of your own vacation. Staying at Sol e Luna is more like renting a little Villa than a hotel room. You can't go there expecting 5 star service because aside from housekeeping, you're pretty much on your own. For those of us who don't mind getting our own breakfast and carrying our own luggage, Sol e Luna is a fantastic place to be. This year we stayed in the Jasmine suite and enjoyed the amazingly spacious open air deck. The room is large and well furnished, although the bed is a bit hard (we grew accustomed to is as the days passed). The privacy is also a huge plus - we only saw 2 other guests the entire time we were there. There are no crying babies, loud children or loud music disturbing you. Most of all, the location is prime - 5 minutes to Grand Case for the amazing food and 2 minutes from the boat to Pinel for days of relaxation on the beach. It really doesn't get any better.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,782 reviews
0.0 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bleu Emeraude
Bleu Emeraude
#1 of 8 in Grand Case
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Shambala
Le Shambala
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol e Luna Romantic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol e Luna Romantic Inn

Property: Sol e Luna Romantic Inn
Address: 61, Mont Vernon 1, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sol e Luna invites you to enjoy a unique and unforgettable experience in an elegant, intimate and romantic heart of the Caribbean. Both gourmet restaurant, and boutique-hotel, this elegant and refined place, combines the subtle decoration of a typically Creole house, a garden with lush vegetation around gazebos and two swimming pools, all influenced by the colors Provence. Centrally located (5 minutes from the beach of Orient Bay, Anse Marcel, the Bay of Grand Case and 3 minutes from Pinel Island) Sol e Luna offers quick access to the most beautiful beaches of the island. As soon as you walk in the door, you feel the tranquility and authenticity of this Creole house with refined decoration The hotel, a haven of peace, has three suites and three rooms, each of different styles and have terraces or balconies offering you a relaxing view. All are air conditioned and equipped with mini kitchen (fridge, microwave, grid bread, kettle), Nespresso Coffee Maker, flat screen televisions, hair dryers, toiletries, iron and ironing boards. A daily cleaning service and Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. For mild relaxation, the hotel has two swimming pools: one located near the lounge and bar and a second more intimate only reserved for our guests. To complete your rest a breakfast room service is offered and we offer a privileged access to our private beach in the heart of one of the most beautiful bays of the island, the bay of Grand Case in providing you graciously beach chairs. From April 1 to December 12, the Sol e Luna also offers, for the duration of your stay, dinner based on a "discovery menu" including the choice of a starter, a main course and a dessert (excluding drinks) in our restaurant, one of the most famous of the island. The chefs offer a cuisine that is both imaginative and innovative only with fresh products and fish (caught by us) in respect of the French gastronomic tradition. For lunch they reinvent daily "La Table du Midi" (choice of a starter, main course and dessert) and offer dinner according to the menu, always taking care to sublimate the freshness of our products. You will be advised with elegance and simplicity to create the perfect match with your dishes based on a selection of preferred wines made with care and passion. The Sol e Luna is a delight, off the beaten track. At your senses ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sol e Luna Romantic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol e Luna Romantic Hotel Grand Case

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing