We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clear waters”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Indians

Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Regarded as one of the best shallow dives in the BVIs, these four rocky pinnacles rise and descend roughly the same fifty feet above and below the water surface, which form abundant coral gardens, a 15-foot tunnel, lots of fish and an underwater cavern.
Florida
Level Contributor
247 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Clear waters”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Indians is a great place if you are a novice snorkeler, it is very protected and shallow enough to feel comfortable. Unfortunately not to many fish. This area is hit daily by many people. But if you are comfortable in the water head to the back side of the rocks away from the shallow area and there you will see the beauty this has to offer where is it is not shallow enough for anyone to stand and ruin the coral. The back of the rocks have a nice wall full of seafans and coral and plenty more fish. I really wish that the charters would take their time and really explain the importance of not Touching or Standing on the Coral and how it dies and takes many many years for the coral to grow back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelthroughmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    14
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best snorkel of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I am so glad we took the trip and snorkeled around the Indians. The water clairty was fantastic and the numbers and species of fish was incredible. This is much better than beach snorkeling. My only complaint was that we didn't get to stay long enough! One side of the Indians is shallow, so shallow in some places that I didn't go because I thought I'd scrape. The other side is deep, probably 50 feet and you could see the bottom. We swam with a school of probably 200+ fish (or they swam with us) that were about 12" long on the deep side. I can't wait to go back here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheri-inAcworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful above and below!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We snorkeled here, we didn't dive, but it was great. It was really much deeper than I was comfortable with at first, but I came around and the beauty won over. The water is really clear, but deep blue because it's deeper than an average snorkel spot. Areas are shallower than others and there's lots of beautiful scenery.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GaGirlJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful water and amazing fish.
Got there in the afternoon and it was a bit busy. Would agree with another review- get there early. We had a very nice time, but am curious how it would be with a little less activity in the water.

Helpful?
Thank Moniclod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Get there Early!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

With only 10 mooring balls and no chance to anchor. Be sure to head over for 8:00, for breakfast on the boat and a dive. The rock formation and coral are beautiful! Cooper island has more fish to see, but the natural wonder of the rocks is worth the dive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Coca905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Indians also viewed

British Virgin Islands, Caribbean
British Virgin Islands, Caribbean
 
British Virgin Islands, Caribbean
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Indians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing