We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brandywine Estate -Best food out of town”

Brandywine Estate Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 148 Restaurants in Tortola
Price range: US$8 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tortola
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Brandywine Estate -Best food out of town”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The restaurant is about 15 minutes east of Road Town near Brandywine Beach. It has gone through various incarnations over the last few years, but the food now is always consistently better than average. Generally they serve an international cuisine, but the kitchen staff if french and that shows. I generally go for business lunches, but have been there for dinner as well. It is quite and you can have a conversation without being next to the kitchen. The tables and seating are outdoors, but covered in case of inclement weather. The staff is attentive and the food is good. I wish they had a bit more of a selection for lunch, as I always feel I am ordering the same two meals. Both the steak and the sea bass are very good. It is a little pricey, but this is Tortola, and all premium ingredients must be imported. There is a leisurely pace to the meal, but if you have an appointment, just tell the staff and they will try to accommodate. Overall it is a good choice for adults who can appreciate the cool breeze and good food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigDan133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    83
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brandywine still excellent”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Brandywine Restaurant has been among the best on Tortola for nearly thirty years. Under Regis and Claudine it has become French, and it is still very good. The service is excellent, the location on Sir Francis Drake Channel is hard to beat, and the food is fine.

Is this the new, hot place? No, it is still the old place with friendly people and interesting food, and good wine. And the prices are designed to make you return, on wine as well as food. On this Wednesday evening the business was great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DHKNIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sunday afternoon ...”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The staff at Brandywine were very welcoming and accommodating for a lunch without a reservation on a busy Sunday in early April. The menu offered numerous options. Our selections were excellent. A drink in the patio bar area overlooks beautiful Sir Francis Drake Channel! Although the prices are high, they are comparable for the BVI and worth every penny.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SPCahills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service and great food!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

First of all, the wait staff is amazing. We felt to comfortable and welcomed by each staff person that waited on us. At first we thought we hit the jack pot with a very fun bartendress but then we realized each person that interacted with us loved what they did and cared about your visit to Brandywine. The food was excellent. We started with a tuna tartar with mango, avocado, corn, red onion served with an avocado sorbet. Yep, avocado sorbet. It was delicious. We had the sea bass, amazingly tasty and cooked to perfection, lamb, amazing but a tad small portion and tortellini. All were great. For dessert we had key lime pie, apple pie and home made sorbet - mango and strawberry. This was a great meal. I do give the nod to service vs The Dove but I think the Dove, for this trip, wins on presentation and food. Both are amazing restaurants and shouldn't be missed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollyP330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montargis, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Still Magical”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Brandywine is a very special place and Regis and Claudine have added a fantastic professional and personal touch. I grew up in this house in the 1970's and I congratulate R and C for the love they bring to the place, the gardens, the overall spirit. We were just with them for the restaurant's two year anniversary which they pulled off majestically: roast pig and lamb, a fabulous buffet, nice rosé and desserts. Love to come here for lunch as well, great menu with tons of choice. With the gorgeous view, one could stay for hours. Really, truly, a wonderful restaurant. Merci Regis et Claudine! (Danielle et Thierry)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brandywine Estate Restaurant also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Brandywine Estate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing