We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another disappointment at pussers”
Review of Marina Cay

Marina Cay
Ranked #20 of 148 Restaurants in Tortola
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View, Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“another disappointment at pussers”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

you want to like pussers at marina cay, because they'll give you a free boat ride from trellis bay, have a reef right there with a few fish to easily see, and shaded places to sit by the water. but the food was mediocre (bang-bang shrimp seemed to be frozen not fresh), the service was really really really slow on two occasions and never very friendly. we wanted to get the discount on the enamel cups by buying a painkiller in one but the restaurant had none available even tho there were plenty in the adjacent shop.

somebody is doing a poor job of managing this place. go over, buy one drink, sit at the beach, swim, and go back to trellis bay for a decent meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mimiechouteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    61
    31
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tortola
1 review
“filthy and poor service”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We have come over twice to refuel and do laundry. The food was dreadful, ordered their potatoe chip tree. It arrived soggy, collapsed and cold. Staff through out are surly and rude. Bathrooms are filthy and found tableclothes in washing machine that had entire slices of bread still in them. I sent an email to the company and never heard a word back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mifleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok pay for atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Food was okay, you are paying for the atmosphere more than the food. Nonetheless a stop you should make

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjr1689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
168 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Again as great as it use to be!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I am pleased to report we found the food and service here as great as it use to be. We had made reservations and were quickly seated and the waitress was very prompt in taking our drink orders. We had a variety of offerings from the menu and everyone was very pleased. It was a great meal and great evening. Last year we had a some negative experience here, but that was an isolated incidence considering we have been here dozens of times.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bowie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little island in the middle of the ocean!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This place had so much charm. One can not forget the big red phone booth as you dock on the island. The food was great at the grill. We stopped here on a wonderful trip to The Baths at Virgin Gorda (also lovely). Great snorkeling near by. You kind of feel like your in a scene from a movie at this place. We just fell in love and cant wait to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boomergirl1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marina Cay also viewed

 
Beef Island, Tortola
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Marina Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing