We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island Treat”

The Sugar Mill Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 149 Restaurants in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Island Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The food is very very good and the service staff were very very friendly and fun. My family had a great time and we will be coming back. best food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    102
    49
    31
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great surprise!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

When we booked this hotel we did not even know there was a restaurant .. Wow, what a great surprise this is a fabulous restaurant I say four-stars. The food was fresh, great tasting, good variety and beautifully presented!! The staff was always very friendly and above the normal for helpful with the restaurant and hotel… was nice having a full bar too at the hotel. We also enjoyed having lunch on the beach, beautiful setting on the water ... delicious food with a great menu :) loved it!! we had a very relaxing and enjoyable getaway looking forward to going back again next year!! PS don't forget to try their delicious desserts :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaiulanigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillette, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We dined here with our family on our wedding night and The Sugar Mill made up a special menu with our names on it congratulated us. It was such a nice surprise. The food was amazing! I had the lobster risotto which was fantastic. There was live music playing and we sat at a table over looking the ocean. The ambience was lovely. It was one of our favorite restaurants in Tortola.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hmsbounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A different gourmet dinner every night! But wear a collared shirt to fit in!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

A truly fabulous restaurant. The menu changes every night, which we rarely, if ever, see in the top USA restaurants. Service staff is very pleasant, helpful, and engaging. They don't "turn the tables", the table is yours for the night (at least in the summer). Please note: collared shirts (not coats and ties) are "appreciated"; we noticed those who came in T-shirts (as if they were in a fast food or Hometown Buffet type place) definitely felt very out-of-place around the guests who honored the dress code. While children were rare for the 4 nights (this year) and 3 nights (2 years ago) we ate there, the parents could be very proud of the children's manners; the manners were appropriate for a first class restaurant. The restaurant is not stuffy or pretentious, just great, and we as diners are part of that scene and 90% of the diners respect the wishes of the Sugar Mill

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas, VI
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place on a Beautiful Island with people that care”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

From the moment you check in you feel special. Greeted with beautiful smiles, they really do appreciate their guest and it shows. The rooms are spacious and view is spectacular whether it is sunrise or sunset.

We enjoyed breakfast and dinner and a cocktail at the bar.

We had no complaints about our stay.

Thank you everyone their for allowing us to feel like royalty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank from_paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sugar Mill Restaurant also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Sugar Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing