We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sunsets,good food, good service. What's not to like?”
Review of BananaKeet Cafe

BananaKeet Cafe
Ranked #1 of 148 Restaurants in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Casual fine dining with exceptional foods, friendly service & spectacular sunset views!! Open daily for Sunset Happy Hour: 4-6pm $1 off all cocktails. FREE 'Sundowner' at Sunset! ALa carte poolside dining 5:30-9:30. Live legendary music Fridays from 6pm CAFE SEASONAL CLOSING: September 15- REOPENS October 15 Closed for ALL Public Holidays
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great sunsets,good food, good service. What's not to like?”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our favorite restaurant during our recent 10 day say in Tortola. While getting there involves driving a severely sloped and windy road and challenging parking, it's a great location looking down on the islands offshore and up the west end shoreline. Service is professional, but you don't feel rushed, and they have some nice extras like a "sunset shot" (a shot glass of local rum to celebrate the beautiful sunset. We enjoy the local fish dinners, and they are done very well here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lpugdeeeqazzzxvbbbbmmlkkii88z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    205
    36
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tortola
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The view is what makes this place. If you are kicking back at the end of the day and want to watch a beautiful sunset on Tortola, then this is the place. I found the food iffy and the service worse. But I have only been there once. Others have had positive experiences. I had a tough time selecting anything I really wanted off a limited menu. I went off season, and maybe that accounts for it. So for drinks and a view-it is great. For a meal, maybe-if you like the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigDan133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

High above the water and overlooking quite possibly the most scenic view in the BVI, sits BananaKeet. All of the seating is open air with most having an unobstructed view. The food is nicely prepared and visually pleasing as well. Come an hour before sundown to maximize the experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank getAway865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Great, great, great food. The view of the sunset was magnificent. Our waitress was wonderful and friendly and the service was great. Loved this place!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TeresaJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food with a premium sunset view!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A party of four recently had our last meal on our 10 day vacation at the Bananakeet. We were not disappointed at all. The service, sunset, food, and drinks were all spectacular. "Ninja" was our server and he was fantastic. The live music was perfect as well. We will be recommending this place to our friends and returning ourselves in the future!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rh0dySail0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BananaKeet Cafe also viewed

 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to BananaKeet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing