We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware busy times”
Review of BananaKeet Cafe

BananaKeet Cafe
Ranked #1 of 149 Restaurants in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Casual fine dining with exceptional foods, friendly service & spectacular sunset views!! Open daily for Sunset Happy Hour: 4-6pm $1 off all cocktails. FREE 'Sundowner' at Sunset! ALa carte poolside dining 5:30-9:30. Live legendary music Fridays from 6pm CAFE SEASONAL CLOSING: September 15- REOPENS October 15 Closed for ALL Public Holidays
Tortola
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beware busy times”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Took half an hour just to get asked what we wanted to drink, then another half hour to pay and leave. Staff very surly when we complained about the time it took.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    207
    38
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gillette, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing view and food!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

You can't beat the view at banankeet and the food did not disappoint. We had a lovely meal here w/10 ppl. The service was great, a little slow but it's island time. The food was fantastic and the drinks were really good too. Def the best sunset in the BVI's, not to be missed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hmsbounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Best meal we had the entire stay. First class food, and service. I am very picky about my food and this place caters to a fine palate!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank premed30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Loved the menu - food and drinks!
The sunset view is stunning overlooking and around Long Bay.
A must visit if your on the west side.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing views, service not so great”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I had done a lot of researching on trip advisor about where to go on our recent trip to Tortola and was quite excited about checking out Bananakeet Cafe. I do agree with everyone that the views are unmatched; so amazing at sunset!! However, our dinner order took almost 2 hrs to come out to us and in my opinion, was completely unacceptable. The restaurant was not THAT busy for it to have taken that long. I completely understand that in the islands everyone is running on island time and things are just slower. Not a problem. An hr or maybe a little over to get our food is what we'd experienced so far as island time. But almost 2 hrs??? I was very tempted to just leave the restaurant. To make it even worse, out waitress checked on us maybe 1 time in that timespan. Also, a different person served us our food and actually forgot one of the meals. After we had all eaten the waitress came to give us our check and when we told her our friend never got his meal, she acted like she didn't believe us at first. Then we asked if we were charged for it and she said yes and there was an awkward pause of what to do next. So we told her she either needed to take the meal off our check or put it in a to-go container since we'd all already eaten, which she ended up doing. I would go back at sunset and order a drink from the bar, but I will most definitely not go there for dinner again...or at least not when I'm hungry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZViews, General Manager at BananaKeet Cafe, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Had you spoken to the Manager on duty? It sounds like it was not brought to their attention therefore not properly handled. We are sorry for your unfortunate experience and hope that we have an opportunity to make it up to you the next time you visit. We do take pride in our customer service and appreciate your feedback for us to learn from.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BananaKeet Cafe also viewed

 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to BananaKeet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing