We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a peaceful "home base"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guava Road Apartments
Reviewed 1 August 2011

First, Thank You to Alfonso, George, Pat, Kathy-- for a fantastic experience.
I'm a frequent visitor to Tortola, but this time traveled there with a group of friends new to the island. We rented "Turtle" unit, based on reviews here, along with the available vehicle. I could go on about all the help in transportation, but the clincher was this: We pulled in after a long day of travel to-- a home. Clean, cheery, fridge stocked for welcome. Ahhhh.
Alfonso and Kathy got us settled, and we were off. Days of trying to do too much in too little time were offset as soon as we walked in. Its enjoyable to cook and eat together, as the setup is so friendly for it. Our hosts were amazing. All has been said here often.

2 notes- we rented the SUV, and it worked, but as 5 adults were cramped. Great car, good size, ran well, and wouldn't want a bigger one for Tortola. Just tight for the backseat.

Also, the place has WiFi (which was key for our techno-files). Occasionally due to power outages (island issue, not house) or phone company issues, this would go out and need to be re-set. Only a pain cause we had to call and bug our hosts. They were always gracious.

Finally, the only glitch here was that one AC unit in a bedroom was out for part of the week. This was being worked on, but it was a hot week in July. The place is in great shape, and I'm sure this issue is remedied.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vasailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Guava Road Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

One word....AWESOME! Better than I anticipated! We stayed in the fish unit. The apartment was very clean and well kept. Very spacious. Grounds were well kept. Alfonso was a blessing! He was so good about showing us around and giving us ideas on things to do. Alfonso, we can't thank you enough! You can walk to Sebstians and Bomba from Guava Road. I highly recommend Guava Road. I will definitely stay there again. I hope to return with my family! Oh, and I recommend the Jolly Roger for dinner during the off season. Have Big Sexy fix you a drink and show you his moves on the dance floor!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaribbeanQueenTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Oh, where to start?-- Guava Road is truly a paradise- The apartment was perfect for 2 couples- comfy and exceptionally clean- the yard and gardens were impeccable. It was nice to be able to walk less than 2 blocks to the beach- We rented a car and Tortola is such a small island we were within minutes of Smuggler's Cove for snorkeling (Tortola's best kept secret)-- Roadtown for shopping or to Soper's Hole to catch a day sail or the Ferry. (Although driving on the left and the road conditions were an adventure!) We flew into St Thomas and bought some food and supplies before catching the ferry. We also brought some things from home.

Pat, Alfonzo and George are amazing Hosts! We highly recommend Guava Road and would stay in a heartbeat if we return to Tortola.

Room Tip: Food is expensive.. except liquor!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Guava Rd Apt is a wonderful place to stay. Very clean and comfortable. Refrig stocked with sodas and liquor. We cooked almost all our meals in the well-equipped kitchen. Great king bed with A/C in the bedroom. Alfonso picked us up at the ferry. George, the caretaker, was super. He took us to get a rental car and back to the ferry for departure. Only about 1 block from a beautiful beach. We had a wonderful vacation on Tortola. We'll definitely be back some day and would stay at Guava Road Apt, no doubt.
broth from Colorado

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

The place was priced quite reasonably for my family (my wife, myself, and my 5 and 7 year old) plus my wife's parents. We stayed in the larger, lower unit. The unit was clean, and the master bath/bedroom was light and airy.

The house is 2 blocks away from the beach (Little Apple Bay), which is one of the smaller beaches. The beach was very nice, as it was not crowded with tourists ever. (The more famous beaches get overrun by cruise ship tourists, which made the beach scene not exactly peaceful.)

While we were there, the ocean @ Little Apple bay transitioned from calm, on one half, to rougher on the other half. This was great for the kids who can have fun without fear, as well as surfers on the wavier side. Sebastion's is right there as well - which was very nice to have breakfeast or dinner at. Also, Bomba Shack is close by, if you want a little night life. A little grocery store was on the opposite side of the island (the Caribbean side), just a 5 minute drive up & over the hill.

George was fantastic. He was extremely nice to us - ensuring us with a car for a reasonable price for the week. He picked us up at the ferry, took us back to the ferry on departure, making several trips for the extended family. He arranged a rental car when we took a ferry to Virgin Gorda, and had all types of tips and advice to make our stay pleasant. He arranged to have a rental car available for us in Tortola. Alfonso, the owner, was great as well, stopping by several times to ensure everything was OK.

The only negative I can thing of is that the place was not directly on the beach, but if you want to live in a (large) house for a reasonable price a couple blocks away with less than a 5 minute walk to the beach, it can't be beat.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlinenbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We decided at Guava Road soley based on the reviews here and were not disappointed! It even exceeded them based on all the "extras" that come with staying there. What first sold me was the free transportation to and from the airport. That took a lot of stress off of renting a car first thing or paying for a taxi to drive us over to the other side of the island. Alfonso was right there to meet us and allowed us a stop at the grocery store to pick up food before we headed to the apartments. George met us as soon as we arrived and showed us around. The apartment was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable. They had our refridgerator stocked with sodas, coffee, alcohol, water and condiments. I knew about these perks before booking and that seemed like the best deal ever, but there were even more extras that just pushed it over the top. There were beach chairs, beach towels, a bbq grill, all kitchen supplies and cookware, shampoos, lotions and even bug spray available in each apartment. It is like they thought of everything and didn't want you to scramble for anything. We dealt mostly with George and he was both informative and really fun! Pat is a great artist and made us a beautiful magnet. Alphonso was so patient and kind despite 4 cranky travelers tired from a long day of flying. We are not the type of family to visit the same destinations twice, but this vacation will be a VERY hard place to beat. If we ever come back, Guava Road is the only place we would ever stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chateaupl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

I always try to search on tripadvisor to see what hotel or specialty lodging should be really good. After seeing only excellent reviews on this one, I could not spend the week anywhere else than in this place. And indeed: the choice was excellent. We stayed at the Fish (B) appartment which was just gorgeous. Big, clean, everything worked fine and on top of that the fridge was just filled with a lot, and I mean a lot, more than I expected: breakfast for the next days, lots of drinks and snacks etc. Although we did have some cloudy and rainy days, the outside sitting area with comfy chairs provided us with just wat we needed: a good relaxing place, reading a book and enjoying a drink....or two. George made us feel welcome and we felt at home as soon as we arrived. We also rented the nice car for 4 days and the service by George was the best you can have. We met Alphonso as well, a very friendly and welcoming man as well. Believe all the excellent reviews: excellent + should be an extra category for this place. I can not think of any negative aspect whatsoever. The beach and a few restaurants are just a minute away as well. We got snorkelling gear to use for free as well, and they also provide beach chairs to take with you when you go out. There is BBQ if you wish to use that. I hope to visit again in the near future. Thanks for a wondeful stay!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortola hotels
0.1 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.2 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
293 reviews
4.5 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
283 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Heritage Inn
The Heritage Inn
#9 of 25 in Tortola
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guava Road Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guava Road Apartments

Address: Little Apple Bay, VG1110, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Tortola
Price Range: £89 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Home Away From Home, In Our Paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guava Road Apartments Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing