We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Romantic Holiday”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

For us, it was wonderful. Great food, ultra friendly, helpful, welcoming, genuine staff, great management, the owners come along on Monday for cocktails... oh, great cocktails, great wine list, great food, lovely pool and pool area, super little beach, I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending staying here.
We stayed 14 nights, ate at the hotel 11 of those nights. We although the menu may have cycled, we barely noticed as there is a great selection each night.
The ambience of the place is accentuated by the sound of the waves and the wind in the palm trees. It is quiet and peaceful. For us, perfect.
I am not really great one for trip advisor as all too often it seems to be a place for people to complain, or be overtly complimentary. But here, I am happy to say, that we loved our relaxing, romantic 2 weeks in the cottage. It will be a hard act to follow!

Thanks to all at the sugarmill for making our holiday full of so many fantastic memories... we miss you guys!

Room Tip: We loved the cottage, others love the rooms at the top with the view. Ask if they are doing a lobste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Simon_Susan_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

So looking forward to our return to The Sugar Mill Hotel. The staff is so friendly, polite, and helpful. They are what makes the stay and experience there superb. Our room was immaculate and so welcoming. It was light and breezy, with true carribean decor. There was a kitchenette, as well as a beautiful enclosed "outside" shower just off the bathroom. As well there was a ceiling fan and a/c which was appreciated after coming in from a day in the sun. We also had a nice deck to enjoy relaxing and catch some gorgeous views.
The beach is small and quaint. We enjoyed the snorkeling there and the feeling of a private place to relax.
The food was spectacular. It was always 'a must' to check the menu each morning to see what was for dinner. The breakfast menu was nice also. You could have something light, or have a bigger meal if preffered. The Sugar Mill also had a Beach Restaurant for lunch which was also quite enjoyable.
It's a small hotel with alot of personalized service. You'll want to stay there if you are looking for breath-taking views, tranquility, and relaxation. The concierge service is wonderful and so helpful in planning what ever day trips you desire to experience and explore the Island.
We can't wait to return in a couple of months for our 3rd time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed two nights at The Sugar Mill Hotel, and felt we'd found something rare: a sterling boutique operation with the goal of providing excellence in every way. We enjoyed a "plantation suite" with two huge adjoining suites for us and our children, with two spacious patios. Each suite is furnished in soft coral and white tones, with plenty of living space with sofa, chairs, desks, tables and chairs. We enjoyed the enormous bathroom with double sinks and a walk-in sunken shower. There is also a kitchenette with a microwave, sink, refrigerator, and some dishes. The beach is directly was directly in front of us, with a luncheon spot even closer to the water. The main dining building is stunning in reconstructed stone from centuries ago, used as ballast in English ships that sailed to the Caribbean, taking sugar back to Europe. The site is formerly a sugar mill, when sugar cane was valued in the trade markets. The food is gourmet, top-notch, high-end, and rivals any cuisine, anywhere. The staff tend to all your needs without impinging on your relaxation. While elsewhere in these islands, one can feel a constant demand to separate tourists from their dollars, The Sugar Mill understands that excellent service and kindness go far when hosting people on vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms # 143 and #144 are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BayAreaFamily17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This is the second time I've visited the Sugar Mill and it was just as good as the first. The staff is friendly, helpful, and welcoming; always ready and willing to comply with requests. The lovely grounds are located on Apple Bay on the north side of Tortola facing Jost Von Dyke. Every room has a great view. Granted the pool is small but was never crowded and is a great place to relax. The restaurant is excellent. Wish I could return every year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank clh93901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Very nice hotel to relax before or after a sailing trip in BVI. I would not choose to stay here for more than a couple of days but for a short stay its a great place. The restaurant is very nice and apparently is one of the top in the country. The pool is small but it was empty the day we were there. You have to cross the street to get to the beach area which is small but the ocean is beautiful.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
7  Thank rsl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed for 9 nights in total during our 3 week holiday in December. We had originally booked 7 nights but decided to extend our boooking by a night and also return the night before we left the BVI's. We mainly stayed in the cottage which was beautiful ( the outdoor shower was a treat) and we had 2 other separate nights in 2 other rooms and were just as happy with their presentation and views.
staff are very friendly and the food excellent. I also loved the fact you could choose to hang out (literally in the hammocks) by the pool or down on the little beach with a cocktail.
We look forward to returning one day.

Room Tip: The cottage was our favourite with the large balcony and outdoor shower, but we were very happy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aliainlibya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Very friendly staff, delicious food, mixed together with a very comfortable room and amazing views made for an incredible stay! - Thank you for a brilliant holiday !

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank charlieboyphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
9.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
1.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.2 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
133 reviews
9.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: £184 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing