We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugar Mill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Burt Hotel(Road Town)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sea View Hotel(Road Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Icis Villas(Tortola)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
545
80
19
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
80
19
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool suitenew ownersoutdoor showerplantation houseall inclusive packagejost van dykebeach restaurantsmall beachcocktail partylunch restaurantsuzettechef bernardboutique hotelpicnic lunchfellow guestsisland tourday sail
Filter
Updating list...
501 - 506 of 653 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We were staying for 3 nights with friends who had previously stayed at the Sugar Mill before chartering a boat. We were not disappointed with the position, comfort and very good cuisine but the outstanding care and concern that was shown to us when, unfortunately, I was taken ill and had to spend 24 hours in Tortola Hospital was definitely above and beyond what would normally have been expected. The Manager, his Operations Manager and the staff all provided an extremely caring and personal service which enabled us to continue our holiday with the least possible disruption. A big thank you to The Sugar Mill!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janetcmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

For us, it was wonderful. Great food, ultra friendly, helpful, welcoming, genuine staff, great management, the owners come along on Monday for cocktails... oh, great cocktails, great wine list, great food, lovely pool and pool area, super little beach, I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending staying here.
We stayed 14 nights, ate at the hotel 11 of those nights. We although the menu may have cycled, we barely noticed as there is a great selection each night.
The ambience of the place is accentuated by the sound of the waves and the wind in the palm trees. It is quiet and peaceful. For us, perfect.
I am not really great one for trip advisor as all too often it seems to be a place for people to complain, or be overtly complimentary. But here, I am happy to say, that we loved our relaxing, romantic 2 weeks in the cottage. It will be a hard act to follow!

Thanks to all at the sugarmill for making our holiday full of so many fantastic memories... we miss you guys!

Room Tip: We loved the cottage, others love the rooms at the top with the view. Ask if they are doing a lobster special; if they are have it!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Simon_Susan_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

So looking forward to our return to The Sugar Mill Hotel. The staff is so friendly, polite, and helpful. They are what makes the stay and experience there superb. Our room was immaculate and so welcoming. It was light and breezy, with true carribean decor. There was a kitchenette, as well as a beautiful enclosed "outside" shower just off the bathroom. As well there was a ceiling fan and a/c which was appreciated after coming in from a day in the sun. We also had a nice deck to enjoy relaxing and catch some gorgeous views.
The beach is small and quaint. We enjoyed the snorkeling there and the feeling of a private place to relax.
The food was spectacular. It was always 'a must' to check the menu each morning to see what was for dinner. The breakfast menu was nice also. You could have something light, or have a bigger meal if preffered. The Sugar Mill also had a Beach Restaurant for lunch which was also quite enjoyable.
It's a small hotel with alot of personalized service. You'll want to stay there if you are looking for breath-taking views, tranquility, and relaxation. The concierge service is wonderful and so helpful in planning what ever day trips you desire to experience and explore the Island.
We can't wait to return in a couple of months for our 3rd time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed two nights at The Sugar Mill Hotel, and felt we'd found something rare: a sterling boutique operation with the goal of providing excellence in every way. We enjoyed a "plantation suite" with two huge adjoining suites for us and our children, with two spacious patios. Each suite is furnished in soft coral and white tones, with plenty of living space with sofa, chairs, desks, tables and chairs. We enjoyed the enormous bathroom with double sinks and a walk-in sunken shower. There is also a kitchenette with a microwave, sink, refrigerator, and some dishes. The beach is directly was directly in front of us, with a luncheon spot even closer to the water. The main dining building is stunning in reconstructed stone from centuries ago, used as ballast in English ships that sailed to the Caribbean, taking sugar back to Europe. The site is formerly a sugar mill, when sugar cane was valued in the trade markets. The food is gourmet, top-notch, high-end, and rivals any cuisine, anywhere. The staff tend to all your needs without impinging on your relaxation. While elsewhere in these islands, one can feel a constant demand to separate tourists from their dollars, The Sugar Mill understands that excellent service and kindness go far when hosting people on vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms # 143 and #144 are superb!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BayAreaFamily17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This is the second time I've visited the Sugar Mill and it was just as good as the first. The staff is friendly, helpful, and welcoming; always ready and willing to comply with requests. The lovely grounds are located on Apple Bay on the north side of Tortola facing Jost Von Dyke. Every room has a great view. Granted the pool is small but was never crowded and is a great place to relax. The restaurant is excellent. Wish I could return every year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank clh93901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews