We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away from it all”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We went to the Sugar Mill for our 20th anniversary vacation trip, and loved it. It was a spur of the moment choice based on a Groupon deal - 4 nights for less than $500. Combine that with frequent flyer plane tickets, and we had a great vacation on the relative cheap. I really liked Tortola, an undeveloped gem next to St Thomas, and an easy puddle hopper trip from San Juan. There are no high rises, and no hordes of touristas. The Sugar Mill is a hotel tucked into a hillside on the north shore of the island with a small beach just across the road. Our room was on top of the hill and large, open, airy, clean and inviting. We had a small ant invasion the first day, but that was our fault for leaving food out on the kitchenette counter. Also, there's no TV in the room, which actually turned out to be a nice omission. Wireless service is available throughout the hotel, and we had our iPad and phones, so we really didn't miss the TV at all. My only issue with the room was that there was a big palm tree right I front of the window, blocking off the fabulous view. I would recommend asking for a room with an unobstructed view. But, sunsets from the restaurant terrace were spectacular. The staff was great - friendly, helpful, and always available. Most of the employees have been with the hotel for over 20 years. Lastly, the hotel restaurant is one of the best on the island with menu selections changing every night. If you weren't motivated to go out for dinner, the easy choice left nothing to be desired. I am keeping an eye on the groupon deals hoping for an excuse to go back. This is a great place for taking some time to slow down and catch a deep breath. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABShang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Sugar Mill Hotel. Great service, friendly and helpful people. We did the adventure package and it was well worth it. The staff helped with reservations, and the services they used were great. Was a nice relaxing holiday with fun things to do and enjoyed meeting the guests. Loved coming back from a days adventure to swim in the pool and read a book. For dinner, we looked forward to the fresh, innovative and delicious meals. I will say it was the best food we have had. HIghly recommend if you want to get away, relax and enjoy life at a slower pace.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed at the Sugar Mill for one night, prior to our Festiva Sailing vacation. What a great decision this was. The Sugar Mill is such a quaint little place with friendly staff. The meals/drinks were fantastic. I wish we had stayed here a couple of more days and definitely will next time.
Thank you Sugar Mill for your wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe Villa and loved the full kitchen. Nice to fill the fridge with cold Carib a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurnsBunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Attentive, detailed, timely, helpful, and many other adjectives that are often lost in the lower latitudes describe this little gem nicely. Six of us (adults) stayed here on the night prior to our 6-day charter with The Moorings, and were delighted to return on the night following the charter. Their beachfront pub was great for lunch, and the dining room, bar and covered porch are as special as the food. My wife and I will certainly return, although we didn't see any children here during our visit.

Room Tip: Ask the manager when making reservations. Their "map" of the hotel does not do the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarmWeatherPlease013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We have stayed at other resorts on Tortola and in the Caribbean from Jamaica to Tobago. Our 3 night stay here surpassed them all! With an initial thought that we would drive around and look at stuff on Tortola totally changed upon check in. It was so relaxing, that we only left once to see Cane Garden Bay, then back after a drink on the beach. Staff was always cheerful and helpful. Go here to totally unwind, like after a boat charter to get your sea legs back. Don't expect a mega resort, there are only 23 rooms.

If you are one who is always in a hurry, don't go here. Everything is slower; it is island time. It took 1-1/2 hours to have lunch on the beach, but who cares? Dinner- two plus hours...so you are going to miss your favorite TV show...bummer. We weren't trying to see the sights, just relax and enjoy the ocean and sea breezes. One of the most wound up guys I know joined us...you know the type, always on his cell phone or iPad. Those were banned on this trip. After a few days he said that he has never been more relaxed in his life, and you could see the stress gone from his face and body.

For dinner, it is relaxed and a different menu each night. You have your table, and keeep it all night. They aren't trying to turn the table multiple times for increased profit. Our food was great...you have to remember that you aren't in New York City with every possible ingredient and chef available on a moment's notice. That is why NYC is not called "Tortola" or why Jimmy Buffett doesn't sing about "Cheeseburger in the Bronx"!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for more than 15 years now and have never been disappointed. I began traveling frequently to the BVI 30 years ago and have stayed at other hotels. But there is nothing like this one. The rooms (I have stayed in most) are immaculate, invitingly decorated and well supplied. I can particularly recommend Rooms 142 and 143. There is a wonderful restaurant on the property, one of the best on Tortola. The staff could not be more friendly or helpful with everything. If you are looking for a full-service resort with 24 hour room service, meeting halls, etc. this may not be for you. But if you are looking for the BEST of the BVI you will be happy you chose the Sugar Mill.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjurewitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Forty years ago we went to Tortola to work for two years. We returned again in May and stayed at the Sugar Mill hotel in a DeLuxe studio, on their Anniversary package. From the moment we arrived we were so well looked after and made to feel special. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and our room had a wonderful view towards Jost van Dyke, the sunsets being especially delightful.
Dinner was served in the The Restaurant and the dinner menu changed every day with some interesting choices and plenty of advice on which wines to accompany the dishes. Probably one of the best places for dinner on the island.
Breakfast was served on the terrace a great choice of fresh fruit and pancakes to die for.

We just loved sitting down on the small beach by the Beach bar in the late afternoons watching the Pelicans fishing, birds diving on schools of fish and the occasional turtle.
We were sad to leave and would love to go back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
9.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
293 reviews
1.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.2 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
132 reviews
9.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: £185 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing