We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excelent stay”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another excelent stay”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Just stayed again at te Sugar Mill ans had a wonderfull stay. We love the quiet,private area of the island and the almost private beach. Add in the fine dining and we had the complete package... Many thanks to Patrick and his fine staff for an outstanding visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooch366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    80
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
82
427
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The Sugar Mill is special. It is a great little boutique hotel. The longer you stay, the more you will like it. It grows on you. It's more like staying at a little villa compound than a hotel. It's almost like a private home. It's small and its easy to meet people there. You will literally be rubbing elbows with other travelers at the bar, in the restaurant, and at the small beach. We loved the breezy main hall, with the charming sitting areas where you can glimpse the beach from across the narrow road.

The staff is great. Hillary at the front office is particularly wonderful. We like the location, the exclusive little beach with the nice beach cafe, and didn't mind that you need a car or taxi to get around. We loved the restaurant, set in old stone walls, and ate there four days straight. Most of the menu changes every day, and its the best food and ambiance on the island. There was no point in going anywhere else.

That having been said, the reason I didn't give The Sugar Mill the highest ranking is because it is not in the quality category of Relais & Chateaux properties or Small Luxury Hotels of the World properties. It's a little bit too laid-back Caribbean for that (on the upside, it is also not as expensive as those higher-end properties). Still, there are some rough edges. The rooms are nice but not "wow!". The bathrooms are not five-star quality. The service is not quite top-notch. Sometimes there are people at the front desk, sometimes not. Sometimes there is someone to help you with luggage, sometimes not. The menu, while good, is not uniformly good. For example, the two kinds of salads offered never changed and some of the courses, such as the soups, were not the best. We loved the short ribs, and the lobster (about $50 for two persons) was one of the best we ever had. Anyway, our criticisms are relatively small nits. The hotel is owned by a couple (who were not there when we visited) and not a major hotel chain with endless resources to pour into it. So, to use a catch-phrase, "it is what it is." The experience is great. It is not Caneel Bay (St. John's) or even Long Bay (another higher end resort on Tortola, complete with tennis courts, on-the-beach cottages, etc.). What the Sugar Mill is, however, is unique. While I cannot say -- as with some other properties I've stayed in -- that I would go back in a heartbeat, it is still a great place to stay, with warm people, good service and food, an off-the-beaten-track feel. It is a solidly good vacation experience and we were glad to have the opportunity to visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidandRebeccaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Just back from The Sugar Mill Hotel. A delightful experience at every level. The staff are professional, charming and friendly. We had an Ocean View room and fell asleep to the sound of ocean waves crashing onto the shore. The room was simple but comfortable and Housekeeping is to be commended as being both timely and meticulous. The restaurant is outstanding and offers food with a caribbean twist but with international flair and the dining room itself is relaxed elegance in a historic building. As noted elsewhere, the menu repeats every 4 days or so. Wine list is well priced. Renting a car is the way to go as the beach here isn't so great by Tortola standards- there is a long beach 5 minutes drive away and many others to explore. A lovely island experience- highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4994MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My wife and I stayed there last week and it was truly a dream come true. Actually, I can't even call it that because I never would have dreamed a place could be so nice!

We got the Anniversary Package, which included a three-day vehicle rental, a bottle of champagne, a picnic lunch and a few free meals at the restaurant (Can't remember how many). It was a great value.

The staff at the hotel, all the way from the house keepers to the managers were impeccable! They each showed a genuinely caring attitude and were extremely helpful when taking care of our immediate needs and also gave great advice and assistance for things to do outside of the hotel.

We stayed in a Deluxe Studio room. It had a balcony with an INCREDIBLE view! Also, it was rather spacious (at least for my tastes) and very clean. There was a small kitchenette, which included a mini fridge (with freezer), microwave, sink, coffee maker and some basic dishes, glasses, silverware, etc. The bathroom featured a vanity, a beautiful tile shower and one of the nicest toilets I've ever seen in a hotel.

Something that should probably be higher on this list is the FOOD! We ate every meal during our stay at one of the the two restaurants at the hotel. Breakfast and lunch were fairly standard and dinner was incredible each night. The dinner menu changes every night, although, as some mentioned, it doesn't change completely from night to night. Either way, we were extremely satisfied with each of our meals and the service was second to none.

Some people only gave the location a 4 out of 5 star rating and that probably depends on what you're looking for in your trip. My wife and I wanted somewhere remote and tranquil. Our main objective was simply to relax. There are a few small stores near the hotel. One within walking distance and the others are only a few minutes of driving. There aren't a ton of choices nearby for other restaurants, but we were happy to eat each meal at the hotel. I would give the location a 5 star rating as it is remote and the views of the surroundings are wonderful.

My wife and I both worked in the service industry for many years, in hotels and restaurants and we recognize good service when we see it. The Sugar Mill has EXCELLENT service.

We hope to return every year to the Sugar Mill. I hope this review was helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My husband and I just spent a week at this charming, boutique hotel. We booked the adventure package, which we felt was a great value, and we stayed in the plantation suite. The suite was spacious, had a fridge, coffee maker and microwave, but the best feature of all was the balcony with the hammock. We spent a great deal of time on that balcony...in the morning, sipping coffee and enjoying the sound and sight of the ocean right across the street, in the late afternoon with a glass of wine before dinner, in the evening with our books and another glass (or two) of wine. We left the french doors open and let the sound of the surf lull us to sleep every evening. There is a small beach right across the street with a beach bar that serves lunch from 12:00 to 2:00 and we spent our first two days there. As mentioned in previous reviews, the entire hotel and restaurant staff is very gracious and accommodating. The food is very good, but one caveat is that the menu repeats itself about every 4 days. There are usually about 5-6 entrees to select from and this is probably one of our only complaints...with 4 meals included in our package, we wished there would have been more of a selection to choose from or at least that the menu rotated over a period of 7 days instead of 4. Other recommendations: book a day sail on the Kuralu (we enjoyed it so much that we booked a second excursion), enjoy a sunset cocktail and some appetizers at the Bananakeet Restaurant and have dinner at The Dove in Road Town. This was a peaceful and relaxing respite from our busy work lives and we can't wait to return to Tortola and the Sugar Mill Hotel and repeat the experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deaken7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay here and we just wouldn't stay anywhere else on Tortola.

Nothing is ever too much trouble.

We stayed in a Pool Room on this occasion, there was plenty of space. We had an outdoor shower and on one evening I had an uninvited visitor of a little frog!

The food in the restaurant is fantastic. Whilst we were there it was my husbands birthday and had asked them if they could make him a birthday cake - not a problem, and it was delicious.

The beach and beach restaurant is just over the road. It's only a small beach but big enough and usually we had the beach to ourselves.

Wherever you stay on Tortola you need a car to get around. You can book one through the hotel.

We are looking forward to our next visit, Tortola holds a very special place in our hearts and so do the staff at the Sugar Mill.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winkys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This is my favourite place on Tortola. The beach bar Islands has a fantastic view over onto the sea and the beach is just next door. The food is simple and nice - don't expect anything fancy, just ordinary food - go there for the tranquil view and peaceful atmosphere. After lunch, the pool at the Sugar Mill is gorgeous, and often when we go there it is just us around the pool. There are changing rooms there and the hammocks are a nice touch. I cannot think of a nicer way to kill time in Tortola :)

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank BeachGuru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
9.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
291 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
729 reviews
11.0 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Property: Sugar Mill Hotel
Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing