We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely resort and genuine friendly staff who made everything relaxed and easy”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely resort and genuine friendly staff who made everything relaxed and easy”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Having lived in the British Virgin Islands for 7 years, I knew of the Sugarmill and frequented the excellent restaurant but had never stayed there as a guest. Upon returning with my family and wife's parents, we decided to stay there rather than a villa. All I can say is WOW. Customer service is not something the BVI is known for but at the Sugarmill the staff are not only helpful, efficient and courteous - they are also genuinely friendly which gives the whole hotel/resort a very relaxed feel which is reflected in the smiles of all the guests.

The rooms are clean and well equipped (we were in the pool suites), the outdoor shower is great and the kitchenette adequate for preparing lunches, breakfast (although the restaurant is just a few steps and away and serves excellent food across all the menus).

Any problems? We had two very minor issues that I only mention to illustrate just how good the team are here - the A/C in one room broke, we reported it and it was fixed within the hour (the room hadn't even had time to get hot) and due to my heavy handedness, I snapped a door handle off accidentally. I reported the latter thinking "they're going to have to ship in a replacement" as it was a one piece aluminium unit. I went out to the pool, came back and it had been replaced - incredible.

As we had two little ones with us, on some evenings we had dinner on the (spacious) balcony - we simply ordered from the main restaurant (where the food is great and the menu changes every day) and ate their with a good bottle wine and a lovely view.

The location of the Sugarmill is Apple Bay (AKA Capoons Bay) which is well placed for access to Cane Garden Bay, Smuggler's Cove and Frenchman's Cay/Sopers Hole - this alone gives you a wide range of options for things to do (day sails, beaches, ferries, restaurants, etc.) and it's also a simple 20 minute drive to Road Town.

In summary, we would definitely stay there again (probably next year) and - probably the highest praise of all - wouldn't change a thing!

Room Tip: The pool suites are great for a small family or couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    80
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
83
427
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We arrived on Tortola for our annual BVI rest-and-dive trip on our anniversary, and chose to have an evening to ourselves before traveling on to our final destination. We could not have been happier with our Plantation House room just above the beach. The entire staff was helpful and courteous; although it was off-season and after the posted lunch hours at the Islands beach bar, the manager called down. We had lunch and the staff took care of our bags including dive gear. We had dinner in the dining room; I had heard conflicting reviews of the restaurant, where we had eaten on our honeymoon years ago. Happy to report that our meal, while pricey, was elegant and delicious (4/5 on TripAdvisor scale). We walked the grounds and small beach area before and after breakfast. Having been there only once before after dark, we found the cobbled stairways, the remnants of the old mill, and layout charming. For a one night splurge, it fit the bill perfectly.

Room Tip: We asked upon reservation for the agent to choose for us. She asked a few questions about what we l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrBob78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas, VI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Wow, I will be going back. The people were amazing there. Royalty comes to mind. The food was the best I have had around the Caribbean. And the Sugar Mill SwashBuckle amazing drink. The view was beautiful. The beach was the perfect size for relaxing. Please don't take my word for it, stay and enjoy. I will also be sending my parents there when they come to the Caribbean.

I have stayed at the Intercontinental in Chicago, the Westin in Savannah, and other places around the world. Safety in the day and night is important and here I feel very safe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank from_paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We chose this hotel because of the glowing recommendations on trip advisor. Perhaps our expectations were unrealistically high but we didn't consider this hotel exceptional nor would we go back. As with another reviewer we have stayed in some truly lovely hotels during the years and this just did not compare particularly as it was not cheap.

Our room looked over a road and frequently during the night we were woken by cars playing very loud music driving down the road. It was so loud it was like they were in the room with us.

The room itself was a decent size and a lovely shabby chic feel but not amazingly special. We had lovely views from the room of the ocean through palm trees. We did have a balcony but it was too small to enjoy. Our friends stayed next door and their room was fantastic with a large balcony and hammock so perhaps it depends on what room you get (we booked at same time and paid same price as them). The room itself was well maintained and clean.

The staff were lovely particularly Teresa who makes an amazing Piña Colada. Otherwise though the hotel does not have that "anything to help" attitude that can mean the difference between a good hotel and great one.

We slept through lunch one day (lunch runs 12 -2) and when we called the desk at 3pm and asked if there was any food we could get on premises we were instructed to walk to another hotel 10 minutes away in 30+ degree celsius temperatures. Considering how secluded the hotel is I think it's a little short sighted to expect hotel guests to fend for themselves if they miss allocated meal times- at least a sandwich could be rustled up?

Also we booked a taxi to fishermans cove which the hotel organised. A real gripe I have is that we were not warned that the cost would be $50 each way. Had we known the round trip would have cost $100 we would have reconsidered.

The pool area is lovely with hammocks surrounding but the pool itself is quite small. We visited in off season so the pool bar was not open during our stay.

So overall I think the hotel is good. It is a beautiful tropical setting and if the right room is chosen then it probably should be a lovely and memorable stay. Perhaps it's better suited to an older clientele with simpler tastes, or perhaps the glowing reviews elevated it too much but for us but just didn't meet the very high expectations we had and so I would recommend a note of caution before rushing to book this based only the other reviews on trip advisor.

Room Tip: Room 142 is a lot nicer than 141. They are next door to each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank international_grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We expected more. As advertised the hotel is separated from the beach by a road. However, what we did not expect was that the beach is tiny, narrow and really right on the road. This is basically a place to stay the night while you use a car to get to the nicer beaches on the island. I am sure most of the glowing reviews for this property were from guests with rather modest expectations. We are used to staying at higher end caribbean resorts, with private grounds and expansive stretches of beach. Not cars passing with music blasting. This resort is more a decent motel, a base from which to tour. However, even for that, the suite that we had by the pool was terribly cramped. There was barely room to move around. Finally, it smelled musty and the deck was swarming with mosquitos, and every time we opened the door they entered the room. Our advice, is to take the "excellent" reviews on tripadvisor with a grain of salt.

Room Tip: Avoid the pool suites. By breaking the small space into two rooms and by blocking one of with a kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank skisailbvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Point, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We chose Sugar Mill based on trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and this was our first trip to Caribbean. We wanted to be able to experience the British Virgin Islands and not be shut off in a huge resort with 2000 other folks. The room was lovely--we had a hammock on our balcony with a gorgeous view. The service was impeccable. By our 2nd evening, the wait staff knew our preferences. We ate breakfast every day overlooking the beautiful foliage and water. The meals were fabulous--the owners of the hotel evidently used to be writers for Bon Appetite and attention to detail was visible in presentation and preparation of food. Oh and their Sugar Mill Rum was to DIE for! The best rum I have EVER tasted.

We hope to be back :) It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busymom990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife and I recently returned from a seven night stay at the Sugar Mill and cannot say enough about the hotel and staff. We made the trip with my parents, who have been staying at the Sugar Mill for years, and had an amazing stay. Let me start by saying that each and every member of the staff at the Sugar Mill are unbelievable and will make you feel like you've known them for years. We also had the pleasure of meeting the owners, Jeff and Jinx Morgan, who had a drink with us and gave us some insight on how one becomes lucky enough to own such a property.
We stayed in one of the pool suites and absolutely loved it. Each pool suite has a terrace with a table and chairs that overlooks the pool. It's a great area to sit and read or to have a drink before dinner, and we utilized it almost every evening. The pool suites consist of a living area, kitchen, and a separate bedroom. Both the bedroom and living room are well air-conditioned, but you also have the option of just opening the windows (screened) and letting some air in. Another cool feature of the pool suites are the outdoor showers.The grounds of the hotel are lush and the landscaping is carefully maintained. It is a relatively small property, and we never felt like it was crowded or noisy. Sitting by the pool in the lounge chairs or hammocks was nice after coming in from the beach, and I caught myself nodding off a couple of times in the peace and quiet. The Sugar Mill has a small beach across the street from the hotel, and it is a wonderful place to swim or sit and read a book.
We ate lunch four or five times at the Sugar Mill's beach restaurant and loved the food on each occasion. While we're on the topic of food, do yourself a favor and eat in the Sugar Mill's dining room several times during your stay. Without question the food there is the best we had anywhere on the island. The dining room is an open air affair for the most part inside what I presume was part of an actual old sugar mill. There is a bar off of the main dining room that is also a great place to spend some time before or after dinner. The only restaurant that we visited for dinner that compared was the dining room on nearby Peter Island. I would also recommend eating dinner one night at the BananaKeet Café which is a short drive down the coast from the Sugar Mill. The sunsets from the vantage point of the BananaKeet are unbeatable. As for other nearby entertainment, you can walk right down the road to an interesting place called Bomba's Shack. We lucked out and caught one of the famous full moon parties at Bomba's and sampled some of the "tea" that a wild eyed guy was brewing up off in the shadows. Bomba's isn't for everyone, but we definitely enjoyed ourselves there. For more nightlife options you can head over to Cane Garden Bay and check out Quito's or any of the other little bars.
After going on this trip I fully understand why my parents have been going back to the Sugar Mill year after year. Based on our experience, the staff will go out of their way to make sure you have exactly the kind of vacation that you want. The Sugar Mill is a peaceful little hotel with an amazing staff, grounds, rooms, food, and beautiful beach. We couldn't have asked for more on our trip to Tortola.

Room Tip: I would recommend one of the pool suites directly above the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JH1976JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#6 of 13 in Road Town
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
730 reviews
11.0 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Property: Sugar Mill Hotel
Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing