We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long anticipated visit”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Based on the recommendation of American friends who had been trying, for many years, to encourage us to visit Tortola and, in paraticular, The Sugar Mill Hotel, we eventually made it! (For British visitors - via Antigua) The setting is a delight and, from our pool suite, we woke to a stunning view every morning. The rooms are beautifully cleaned and the lush grounds full of exotic flowers, shrubs and trees are well maintained but allow the individual rooms/cottages to feel secluded in their tropical setting.

We had chosen the seven day adventure package which seemed to provide the best value after very expensive travel from the UK.

Breakfast is taken in a dining room overlooking the ocean and the hotel's sandy beach, so you can start the day watching pelicans diving! The hotel's beach is small but more than adequate for the hotel's clients - loungers are provided as are bathing towels. There is a beach restaurant that serves a good selection of lunch time meals and drinks. Dinner is served in a more formal setting of the beautiful old stone "mill". The menu changes daily (sign in for dinner each morning) As well as good food there is an excellent wine list.

The bar serves a wide range of cocktails.

The staff are a joy and the welcome is warm and friendly. If we were nearer we would not hesitate to return

Room Tip: Beautiful views from the pool suites
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
There are newer reviews for Sugar Mill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

We visited Tortola to attend our nephew's wedding. We thoroughly enjoyed our days at Sugar Mill. The staff was very attentive in every way - room maintenance, the loan of snorkel fins, and luggage retrieval. Our suite was spectacular and the stone and planter "outdoor" shower was unique and wonderful. We loved the small, sandy beach and easy access to the quiet and warm water. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Tortola.

Jane and Jim

Room Tip: We stayed in a Pool Suite and highly recommend it for the view and comfort.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VermontJane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Three of us stayed for a couple of nights before going on a yacht trip. I booked this hotel based on the various reviews that I had read and was anticipating something special. The hotel did not quite reach those heights for me. Don't get me wrong it was good but just did not stand out. I probably was a result of the age demographic but the place was dead by 9:30 in the evening which takes quiet to a new level. Bomba shack just down the road though...!

Room Tip: De Luxe studios provide a great view and are away from the road altough up a short steep slope
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turks66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My husband and I recently traveled from our home on St Maarten to try another Caribbean island that we had not yet visited. We decided on Tortola and chose the Sugar Mill Hotel for our stay. I had read about the Sugar Mill in Bon Appetit years ago and always dreamed of staying there. My dream came true! It was a perfect stay. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a pool suite. We absolutely loved the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and truly seemed to care that we had a great time. We had several meals at the hotel and they were all wonderful. We definitely recommend the Sugar Mill Hotel to anyone who plans to visit Tortola.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 953SharonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in a Pool Suite, which I really recommend. The view from the large balcony was great. The room was very comfortable and I really appreciated the small kitchen area and the open air shower.

The hotel itself is quite quiet. The beach is small and can be effected by strong northern swells (although it is protected by a reef). So if you like lying down on the beach all day this may not be your hotel. The pool is relatively small, but very attractive. We stayed three nights and on the 6 occasions we used the pool we always had it to ourselves.

The meals in the restaurant were unusual and well prepared. The service here was maybe a little short of the absolute best, but there certainly wasn't anything to complain about. Service by the other hotel staff was outstanding.

So all in all it was a great place for a short romantic holiday. I'll certainly go back next time I'm in Tortola.

Room Tip: The most northerly Pool Suite (the suite on the left when viewed from the pool) has the best view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

If you want to stay close to apple bay this is the best place on this side of the island. Its a 3 minute walk on an ocean front road or a one minute drive down to the Bomba Shack where the surf break is. For me, it was worth spending a little more to stay in a beautiful place. The other option for surfing apple bay is Sebastian's but its just not as nice, however it is definitely more affordable. Be very careful when you book a room at the Sugar Mill. There is a $30 room service fee a day plus $12 in government tax a day. So if it says your room is $300 its actually $342. I stayed in room #143 with was a one bedroom plantation house. It was definitely my favorite spot in the hotel. Closest to the beach, private, and right across from where you eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner. There is a small beach out front that is swimmable on a calm day. I really love this place. It was clean, quiet, and comfortable.

Room Tip: The plantation houses are right by the front of the hotel closest to the beach. I stayed in room #1...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RL8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Sugar Mill Hotel. We loved the beautiful, quaint historic setting.The staff were all exceptional and really made us feel welcome. The food was delicious at the restaurant and we ate all our meals there. Very gourmet and very attentive servers. I highly recommend staying here and we will again soon! Loved the pool suite!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mann6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
9.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
733 reviews
11.0 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: £229 - £589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing