We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!!”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Last year my boyfriend and I stayed at a resort not far from the SugarMill (very disappointing ) and had dinner one night at the SugarMill. It was wonderful! And as we decided to try the BVI's again decided to stay at the SugarMill this trip. Interesting....the SugarMill was not that much more per night and was so much nicer than the resort we stayed in last year.
It was wonderful! Amanda and the staff were so accommodating. I requested a few rooms (based on reviews from trip advisor) and was given what I asked for.
The rooms were very spacious and well maintained even with a little kitchenette.
The grounds were so well maintained and again the food was incredible.
It was a lovely experience and a welcome change since we had just spent the last 5 days on a sailboat:)
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 112 and it had wonderful views and a vaulted ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    79
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
82
422
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, KY
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

As others have said this is a lovely small hotel but is not a casino style resort. If you are looking for that you need a different island

If you want the best food on the island and quiet relaxation this is place to stay

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treecatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Sugar Mill is truly paradise. The staff and their quality of service is extraordinary and the food is fantastic. That is the reason we have been going there for over 20 years. It is conveniently located on the West End close to the ferry from St. Thomas. We have been many places, but Sugar Mill keeps drawing us back.
JK
Chadds Ford, PA

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view. We prefer the rooms overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed 8 nights at the Sugar Mill, based on reviews from Trip Advisor. It was a wonderful stay - exactly what we were expecting, based on the reviews. We were in the Cottage, and the room was lovely and clean. It had its own decks looking out over the grounds to the ocean. It did look out to a parking area, but there was not a lot of traffic. We had breakfast on the deck every day, prepared in our little kitchenette. That was a nice plus. We rented a car through a hotel package so we could see different places on the island. There were several beautiful beaches a short drive away - Smugglers Beach, Brewers Beach, and Long Beach on Beef Island, a little further away, near the airport. We also did a day sail to the Baths at Virgin Gorda with Voyage Charters, arranged for by the hotel, and that was a lot of fun. We only spent one day at the beach at the hotel. It was pleasant, and we had lunch at their beachside restaurant that day. I would definitely go back to the Sugar Mill Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the whole atmosphere was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, VA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We've stayed at the Sugar Mill several times over the years and just returned from another visit. I'm happy to report that the hotel has maintained its high standards and our vacation there was as wonderful as we anticipated. The rooms are comfortable and incredibly clean. The service is always friendly and cheerful. And every wish is accommodated by the concierge. The room had everything we needed for a week's stay, including wifi, mini kitchen, and comfortable sitting areas. Our room had an outside shower that was a treat at the end of the day at the beach. The Sugar Mill is a great little secret that we look forward to returning to.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poplaridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

5 stars for the Sugar Mill! We stayed from 1/22/14-1/29/14 in a deluxe suite for our honeymoon. The room was clean, comfortable, quiet and nicely decorated. The bed and pillows were comfortable. There was a small balcony with two chairs overlooking the ocean. The "kitchenette" only included a small refrigerator, coffee pot, microwave, plates, glassware, and utensils; however, other rooms had a more complete kitchenette. There was a room air conditioner positioned over the bed which blew the cool air in a rotating fan manner. My husband loved the fact that this made it intermittently blow cool air in his face, whereas I found it a bit annoying but certainly not a problem. We believe we were in the smallest room in the entire place, as our neighbors who were also in a deluxe suite had a small sitting area, more complete kitchen, and a hammock on their balcony. We loved the Sugar mill because of the kind, helpful, and friendly staff, as well as the superb dining. There was delicious food at both the beach-side casual lunch restaurant as well as the romantic dinner restaurant. The cost of the food was high at both lunch and dinner. For example, $10 for a peanut butter and jelly sandwich on the kids menu and $18 for fish tacos at lunch, and dinner entrees running $30-54. Yet, these prices were similar to other restaurants of similar quality on the island. Of note, there were not any children staying at the hotel during our stay. The beach is small in size but nice. Due to the small number of guests, the beach was never crowded and there were always chairs available. The beach is separated from the hotel by a small road, which was no problem at all -- the road is small and not busy. The staff were extremely helpful in making reservations at other local restaurants as well as charter sail trips and other excursions. We enjoyed trying other restaurants (The Dove, Brandywine, Bananakeet, are musts), beaches, a day trip to Jost Van Dyke, and a day sail to Norman Island. A local gentleman named Tunjeh was our second cab driver of the trip and turned into our go-to man for getting anywhere. We highly recommend him, noting his timeliness, availability, fairness in price, and most importantly friendly nature -- plus he'll sing along to the radio and make you smile every time (his cell phone number is 284-540-0088). This was our first trip to Tortola, and the Sugar Mill was one of the many highlights. We hope to go back in the future!!

Room Tip: If you pick a "Deluxe Suite" be sure to ask for the biggest one with the most complete kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Having spent 10 days sailing around the Islands, we arrived rather tired and in need of a good nights' rest. That is what we found at The Sugar Mill. Our room was spotlessly clean, brightly decorated and simply furnished, with a view from our balcony which was glorious. We were delighted with the greeting received, not only from the staff at reception but by every member of staff we came across. Everyone went out of their way to accommodate our needs and requests. The popular restaurant lived up to its reputation. My husband and I cannot recommend the Sugar Mill more highly as a delightful! and comfortable place to stay on Tortola. We hope to be able to return some day soon.
Bridget

Room Tip: Choose a second floor superior suite higher up the hill to get the best sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
9.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
285 reviews
1.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
382 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
725 reviews
11.0 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Property: Sugar Mill Hotel
Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing