We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem on the British Virgin Island of Tortola”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little gem on the British Virgin Island of Tortola”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is wonderful small hotel on the north shore of Tortola. The staff are friendly and could not be more helpful or accommodating. The place has a wonderful ambiance. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. It is very quiet and not at all ostentatious. The restaurant is probably the best on the island!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaChairMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    80
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
83
427
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

From both aesthetic and natural point-of-view Sugar Mill is beautiful. We were last minute guests and in the least expensive rooms (I think). It was lovely: calm decor, a balcony from which we could see the ocean. ANd quite comfortable.

The renovated ruin is so beautifully done and has the dining and breakfast rooms has well as patios with more intimate seating and a reception area. Lovely. Inviting.

Food was good-- expensive (but I don't know what other places on Tortola are charging….

Staff was helpful, caring, friendly.

We left happy--and would happily return.

Room Tip: Being on second floor affords better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLRS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Great boutique hotel with some 23 rooms. Small and informal with helpful staff and fine relaxed atmosphere. The pool area has 15 loungers but OK. There is also a beach right outside the hotel (across the road) which had a resident turtle when we were there and a number of pelicans diving for fish. Spectacular and absorbing. There is a beach restaurant serving lunch, very relaxed, great food with one surly waitress, and evening meals are served in the old mill a splendid location with fantastic staff. Rooms light and airy, very clean, as usual for this area no baths.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Scoobastevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My wife and I spent a week in Tortola in February. It was our first trip to Tortola and we were a little concerned not really knowing anything about the island or the property. We lucked into the Sugar Mill. While Tortola was wonderful, the vacation would not have been as good had we not stayed at the Sugar Mill. We loved it. It is a very small and quiet boutique hotel. Great place for couples, a beautiful property with fantastic views. Great location, great views, very comfortable and very clean rooms. And the food there is spectacular - you have to eat there! You cannot beat this place. And, the best part, from the moment you check in, you can't help but feel like family - the staff are all FANTASTIC ... if you are going to Tortola, Sugar Mill is THE place to say. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We returned to the Sugar Mill Hotel after an absence of 26 years, to find to our joy that nothing much had changed and that standards were still as high as ever. The same owners, manager and many other members of the first class staff were still there and as obliging as ever. No better advertisement.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room in the highest part of the hotel, which we loved. But it would not be sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karokorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Sugar Mill was the perfect place to escape winter and just relax. EVERYTHING was wonderful, from the private beach, lovely rooms and excellent food. We took the breakfast plan and had a hearty breakfast each morning. We headed for the beach to watch the pelicans dive for food...we saw colorful fish snorkeling along the reef (Sugar Mill supplied the snorkel gear) A lovely lunch and drinks at the beach restaurant- the fish tacos were the best! We lounged late afternoon on our deck with a glass of wine and watched the sunset. We ate 6 of 7 nights at the restaurant because the menu choices and food were outstanding. As we were there for Valentines Day we enjoyed a special menu and evening complete with red roses for the ladies and a terrific singer who sang love songs...we danced under the stars! We did not rent a car as taxi service was readily available. A special treat was the daily copy of the NY Times crossword puzzle, which we love to do at home too. We had good W-Fi reception and although there was a TV we never turned it on! Our room was cleaned perfectly everyday by noon...The daily temperature was a lovely 85 and we slept with the sound of the ocean and no A/C.Last but not least the outside stone shower was decadent! We definitely recommend the pool suites....Kudos to Sugar Mill for giving us one of the best vacations we have had, and we travel a great deal.

Room Tip: The pool suites have a lovely view of the pool, ocean and the sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneandBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We just stayed in this hotel for one night, on our way to our sailing vacation, but our experience was on the positive side. The staff was very pleasant and focused on attending to our needs.
The meals that we had were outstanding - we had Lobster and Fillet Mignon... yum! Breakfast was just as good and just as expensive. We were all provided a free welcome drink - rum and fruit juice for the adults and fruit juice for the kids. The rum drink was so strong, we could not drink it and wished we had asked for just the fruit juice. The dining room had a roof but no windows so was open to the fantastic air they have.
Internet was supplied free of charge. It didn't work in our room, but it did in our daughter's. There was no tv in our room which was fine as we had no desire anyway. Our daughter had one it her room, but they didn't use it so I'm not sure what reception they got. Instead, we took a walk to the beach at night and admired all the stars in the sky - trying to pick out constellations that we knew - beautiful!!
The beach was across the road - just a short walk and it was wonderful!! There was beautiful white sand and rolling waves and pelicans diving for fish. The sand was fine and white - beautiful. We had the beach to ourselves so we all had fun playing in the water and sand. The beach is small but they have a small pool as well. We didn't use it at all - no need from our point of view! ;)
This is not a party place, but wonderful if you wish to commune with nature and relax. We thought it was expensive but we found all of BVI to be expensive compared to other vacation spots. Still, it was a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Some rooms have an "outdoor shower" which means that when you enter the bathroom and into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#6 of 13 in Road Town
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
730 reviews
11.0 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Property: Sugar Mill Hotel
Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing