We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location for a couple's getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely location for a couple's getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I arrived at Sugar Mill after spending a week in a rented villa on St John. We were greeted warmly and the hostess had everything in order for us. We arrived early so our room wasn't ready yet, but they tucked our luggage away, showed us where to change and we were ready for the beach! Sugar Mill has a nice beach area in front of the hotel, and contrary to some other reviews, crossing the street wasn't an issue for us. They served lunch every day at the beach bar and the food was good. We made reservations at the restaurant the night we arrived but went to the welcome cocktail party by the pool first. It was nice to meet the owners as well as the other guests. Sugar Mill is a relatively small place so you cross paths with the other guests frequently. The restaurant experience was superb! The food was delicious, the service pleasant and attentive, and the atmosphere was lovely. They have a nice pool area at the hotel, but we didn't use it once. The rooms are clean and comfortable but not the most updated look you might find, although I understand that it's pretty nice by Tortola standards. We enjoyed the air conditioning at night and the large bathroom with two vanities. The only problem we encountered was a backup in our shower the night before we left, but the staff had it fixed and cleaned up before we got back to our room. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this lovely little hotel to anyone looking for accommodations on Tortola.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    78
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
75
391
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our choice of Sugar Mill was based upon the favorable reviews here on TripAdvisor. So Upon our return I had to go back and read those reviews again because our experience was more like Deborah T's review "Bitter disappointment" (see poor category).

We travel frequently and have been to the Virgin Islands before so our expectation for service was adjusted to the reality of the location. Even with that, the service at Sugar Mill was disappointing from check in to check out. (a notable exception was Theresa) The property itself is not particularly well maintained and is need of updating.

If you are reading this in contemplation of a trip I encourage you to read the review I previously referenced. If you are reading this after having been to Sugar Mill wondering what you thinking about, welcome to the club.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peitro1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed in a Deluxe room. The room was large, very clean and airy, with a very nice patio that overlooked the grounds and the beach (which was a very short walk across the street). I loved looking out on the beach from the patio with a glass of wine each evening. The location is a little out of the way, but the atmosphere and beauty of this place made the cab fares worthwhile (in my opinion). The meals at the restaurant were truly "beyond belief"-wonderful. I do see why the restaurant receives rave reviews on every website I've seen. The staff are friendly and helpful, but completely unobtrusive. This is a peaceful, relaxing, beautiful place to stay. While visiting the Islands, I only had time for Tortola, and St. Thomas, and enjoyed Tortola so much more-the beaches there are unforgettably beautiful and the snorkeling was great (Aristocat Charters to the Indians! WOW!). I also highly recommend a trip to Smuggler's Cove. The cab fare was relatively inexpensive from the Sugar Mill, and the ride was a bit rough, but WOW! The Sugar Mill provides complementary snorkeling gear. It's a must see for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I spent 6 relaxing nights at the Sugar Mill Hotel in early April on the Celebrate Package (with two extra nights.) It ranks as one of the best vacation places we have ever stayed. The Sugar Mill is a great location to enjoy a vacation to Tortola and the BVI. We stayed on the 3rd Floor in the deluxe rooms building. Our good sized room offered a simple Caribbean style, comfortable king bed & functional furniture. It included a small kitchenette with fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. The bathroom and shower were fine. It provided us with a BEAUTIFUL view of Jost Van Dyke Island from the covered balcony off our room. We never turned on the AC, preferring to use the quiet overhead fan, opening the sliding screen doors to the balcony to listen to the waves in the distance below and enjoy the fresh air.

The hotel grounds are very well maintained and inviting. The web site pictures are very accurate.The pool area is very nice and a fun place to meet some of the other guests. It is also a great place to just read and enjoy a good book. We used it many times during our stay. The beach is right across a road, small in size but very nice; it is well maintained and has sufficient lounge chairs. The diving pelicans are fun to watch. Lunch is served in a covered patio right next to the beach with chairs and tables available for use anytime when the restaurant is not open. The hotel layout is such that it is an invigorating walk up a grade in order to get to the deluxe rooms complex.

The staff are extremely helpful, friendly, professional and truly want to make your stay one to enjoy & remember. Our special recognition goes to Sharon Chambers the operations manager and Theresa who was always doing something to assist a guest. You actually feel like 'family' and want to come back!

For us, The Celebrate Package WAS as advertised, however you will be assessed government tax and services charges, this was all explained to us during the reservation process, therefore no hidden issues for us. The Sugar Mill Restaurant is part of the hotel, one of the best on Tortola.

The car rental agent (National) comes to the Sugar Mill, picks you up, takes you to the car lot. You return the car to the same lot … they then bring you back. (The rental agency is nearby on the WEST END but on the other side of Zion Hill less than 10 minutes away). The only additional OPTIONAL cost is the car liability insurance coverage if you want it.

The breakfast & dinner meals offered in the package had no menu limitations other than it did not cover drinks… other than the bottle of champagne we had with our dinner meal as part of the package & the ‘welcome’ cocktails. The Gourmet Picnic for two was such a rare treat; packed in a cooler … we took it with us in the car to one of the beautiful beaches nearby. What an enjoyable and tasty meal on beautiful Smuggler's Cove beach! (You need to order the lunch 24 hours ahead so it can be prepared. It did include a bottle of wine and a cold beer!!)

And yes, we took home our bottle of Sugar Mill Rum and autographed copy of the Sugar Mill Caribbean Cookbook. And more importantly, we already do plan to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CahillSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

The rooms offer amazing ocean views. All members of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was perfect. The food was outstanding, especially compared to other restaurants in the BVI. The hotel is located on the west end of the island with a small private beach and is very close to a few other beaches and the port where there are ferries and private charters to take you to other islands in the BVI.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlantan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I have been visiting the Sugar Mill for the past 7 years. We are never disappointed with the experience! As other travelers might find it to be too small or far from the airport, we actually love it for both of these reasons. Our vacations are for us to get away and have some peace and quiet and the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to get this experience. The staff are warm and welcoming, the restaurant is quaint and unpretentious. We are not the type of people who want to vacation with large crowds nor do we need an olympic size pool. The beach area is perfect for reading, relaxing, swimming and watching the beautiful views. For those patrons who can't appreciate the Sugar Mill please be sure to visit the resorts located down the road and leave this slice of heaven to us who truly appreciate it!! We will continue to visit the Sugar Mill for years to come!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laury D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We spent the first 2 nights of our holiday at the Sugar Mill. After which we headed off sailing around the BVI with our final 2 nights on another island.

My first impressions of the Sugar Mill were that it was quite a long drive from the airport, the restaurant looked tired, the pool area was small and the beach pretty non-existent (apart from the small built up area by the beach bar). There didn't seem to be anyone to meet us and we waited a while until someone checked us in.

Dinner was ok - nothing on other meals we had during our stay elsewhere and once again I felt the restaurant decor to be a little tired.

We headed out walking the next day and walked to the end of tortola which was lovely. Passing Sebastian's on the way we had a look to see what they had to offer. A lovely beach fronted restaurant bar area on a real beach - so we booked this for dinner that night.

Our room was old fashioned in decor, the bed comfortable as far as I can recall. Everything worked fine. There are no safe's in the rooms so any valuables / passports can be locked at reception.

The bottom line for us was that there are many more, better and more beautiful places to stay in the BVI. Unfortunately for the Sugar Mill it is not on our list for our return trips.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnaTwickenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
1.0 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.7 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
3.7 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
11.0 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Property: Sugar Mill Hotel
Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing