We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place with outstanding food”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lovely studio type room with refrig and microwave. Spacious and open accommodations with fantastic ocean views of the surf. Bathroom was quite large with double sinks and walk in shower. Perfect spot after a sailing vacation. The small sandy beach has lounge chairs and covered tables. The reef is easily accessible for snorkeling. Small lunch restaurant sits right on the beautiful beach. Breakfast and dinner restaurant are in the historical building built with cobblestones. Food is wonderful! If you are here on a Friday night be sure to see if they have Anegada lobster on the menu. The best part for us was the hammock on the balcony which we greatly enjoyed. Listening to the surf and watching the surfers was amazing. We should have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Higher floor for fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJaneSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I arrived at Sugar Mill after spending a week in a rented villa on St John. We were greeted warmly and the hostess had everything in order for us. We arrived early so our room wasn't ready yet, but they tucked our luggage away, showed us where to change and we were ready for the beach! Sugar Mill has a nice beach area in front of the hotel, and contrary to some other reviews, crossing the street wasn't an issue for us. They served lunch every day at the beach bar and the food was good. We made reservations at the restaurant the night we arrived but went to the welcome cocktail party by the pool first. It was nice to meet the owners as well as the other guests. Sugar Mill is a relatively small place so you cross paths with the other guests frequently. The restaurant experience was superb! The food was delicious, the service pleasant and attentive, and the atmosphere was lovely. They have a nice pool area at the hotel, but we didn't use it once. The rooms are clean and comfortable but not the most updated look you might find, although I understand that it's pretty nice by Tortola standards. We enjoyed the air conditioning at night and the large bathroom with two vanities. The only problem we encountered was a backup in our shower the night before we left, but the staff had it fixed and cleaned up before we got back to our room. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this lovely little hotel to anyone looking for accommodations on Tortola.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our choice of Sugar Mill was based upon the favorable reviews here on TripAdvisor. So Upon our return I had to go back and read those reviews again because our experience was more like Deborah T's review "Bitter disappointment" (see poor category).

We travel frequently and have been to the Virgin Islands before so our expectation for service was adjusted to the reality of the location. Even with that, the service at Sugar Mill was disappointing from check in to check out. (a notable exception was Theresa) The property itself is not particularly well maintained and is need of updating.

If you are reading this in contemplation of a trip I encourage you to read the review I previously referenced. If you are reading this after having been to Sugar Mill wondering what you thinking about, welcome to the club.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peitro1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed in a Deluxe room. The room was large, very clean and airy, with a very nice patio that overlooked the grounds and the beach (which was a very short walk across the street). I loved looking out on the beach from the patio with a glass of wine each evening. The location is a little out of the way, but the atmosphere and beauty of this place made the cab fares worthwhile (in my opinion). The meals at the restaurant were truly "beyond belief"-wonderful. I do see why the restaurant receives rave reviews on every website I've seen. The staff are friendly and helpful, but completely unobtrusive. This is a peaceful, relaxing, beautiful place to stay. While visiting the Islands, I only had time for Tortola, and St. Thomas, and enjoyed Tortola so much more-the beaches there are unforgettably beautiful and the snorkeling was great (Aristocat Charters to the Indians! WOW!). I also highly recommend a trip to Smuggler's Cove. The cab fare was relatively inexpensive from the Sugar Mill, and the ride was a bit rough, but WOW! The Sugar Mill provides complementary snorkeling gear. It's a must see for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I spent 6 relaxing nights at the Sugar Mill Hotel in early April on the Celebrate Package (with two extra nights.) It ranks as one of the best vacation places we have ever stayed. The Sugar Mill is a great location to enjoy a vacation to Tortola and the BVI. We stayed on the 3rd Floor in the deluxe rooms building. Our good sized room offered a simple Caribbean style, comfortable king bed & functional furniture. It included a small kitchenette with fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. The bathroom and shower were fine. It provided us with a BEAUTIFUL view of Jost Van Dyke Island from the covered balcony off our room. We never turned on the AC, preferring to use the quiet overhead fan, opening the sliding screen doors to the balcony to listen to the waves in the distance below and enjoy the fresh air.

The hotel grounds are very well maintained and inviting. The web site pictures are very accurate.The pool area is very nice and a fun place to meet some of the other guests. It is also a great place to just read and enjoy a good book. We used it many times during our stay. The beach is right across a road, small in size but very nice; it is well maintained and has sufficient lounge chairs. The diving pelicans are fun to watch. Lunch is served in a covered patio right next to the beach with chairs and tables available for use anytime when the restaurant is not open. The hotel layout is such that it is an invigorating walk up a grade in order to get to the deluxe rooms complex.

The staff are extremely helpful, friendly, professional and truly want to make your stay one to enjoy & remember. Our special recognition goes to Sharon Chambers the operations manager and Theresa who was always doing something to assist a guest. You actually feel like 'family' and want to come back!

For us, The Celebrate Package WAS as advertised, however you will be assessed government tax and services charges, this was all explained to us during the reservation process, therefore no hidden issues for us. The Sugar Mill Restaurant is part of the hotel, one of the best on Tortola.

The car rental agent (National) comes to the Sugar Mill, picks you up, takes you to the car lot. You return the car to the same lot … they then bring you back. (The rental agency is nearby on the WEST END but on the other side of Zion Hill less than 10 minutes away). The only additional OPTIONAL cost is the car liability insurance coverage if you want it.

The breakfast & dinner meals offered in the package had no menu limitations other than it did not cover drinks… other than the bottle of champagne we had with our dinner meal as part of the package & the ‘welcome’ cocktails. The Gourmet Picnic for two was such a rare treat; packed in a cooler … we took it with us in the car to one of the beautiful beaches nearby. What an enjoyable and tasty meal on beautiful Smuggler's Cove beach! (You need to order the lunch 24 hours ahead so it can be prepared. It did include a bottle of wine and a cold beer!!)

And yes, we took home our bottle of Sugar Mill Rum and autographed copy of the Sugar Mill Caribbean Cookbook. And more importantly, we already do plan to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CahillSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The rooms offer amazing ocean views. All members of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was perfect. The food was outstanding, especially compared to other restaurants in the BVI. The hotel is located on the west end of the island with a small private beach and is very close to a few other beaches and the port where there are ferries and private charters to take you to other islands in the BVI.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atlantan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I have been visiting the Sugar Mill for the past 7 years. We are never disappointed with the experience! As other travelers might find it to be too small or far from the airport, we actually love it for both of these reasons. Our vacations are for us to get away and have some peace and quiet and the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to get this experience. The staff are warm and welcoming, the restaurant is quaint and unpretentious. We are not the type of people who want to vacation with large crowds nor do we need an olympic size pool. The beach area is perfect for reading, relaxing, swimming and watching the beautiful views. For those patrons who can't appreciate the Sugar Mill please be sure to visit the resorts located down the road and leave this slice of heaven to us who truly appreciate it!! We will continue to visit the Sugar Mill for years to come!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laury D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortola hotels
9.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
1.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.2 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: £193 - £526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing