We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch, great location”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great lunch, great location”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Thanks to everyone at the Sugar Mill for such a warm welcome on our recent visit to Tortola. We were greeted by the General Manager and Operations manager and felt very special. I am looking forward to going back there soon.

Room Tip: Only visited the beach front restaurant so can't comment on the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    79
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
82
422
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent two nights here after chartering a sailboat for a week. We had all intentions of enjoying other spots on the island, but had no desire to leave after we arrived. Service was great, from the point of making a reservation (Evroy was so responsive and courteous), to the wonderful attentiveness and care provided by the servers during breakfast, lunch and dinner. Loved the world-class dinner menu that changes daily. The 7-year olds loved the pool and beach, and especially the location of the beach bar!! Thank you Sugar Mill for rounding out our vacation with special memories. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent 6 wonderful nights at the Sugar Mill and did not want to leave. The service we received from the moment we arrived to the moment we left exceeded our expectations. Everyone on staff at the Sugar Mill was professional, friendly and very accommodating. We noticed that we were not exclusive to the wonderful hospitality. All guests were treated to 5 star service from all staff. We felt appreciated and welcome. Our room was spacious & very clean with a very comfortable King size bed. High ceilings with a ceiling fan. We rarely used the air conditioner. The tropical breezes and sounds of the waves lulled us to sleep every night. The kitchenette had a microwave, small fridge and coffee maker. A nice sized bathroom with a walk in shower. The accommodations are separate from the historic mill. They are all new and very well maintained but offer the same charm as the mill. All very unique private and quiet. We had amazing views of Jost Van Dyke and other surround BVI islands. The sunsets were spectacular. We purchased the meal plan for breakfast and dinners. Every meal was amazing!!! The restaurant has a large selection of excellent wines at very reasonable prices. We recommend taking the meal plan. You will not find a better restaurant on the island. The restaurant is often visited by celebrities - Jimmy Buffett, Kathy Lee Gifford, Peter Jennings to name a few. I will be posting another review on the restaurant. The grounds are filled with tropical foliage found on the island that is well maintained by grounds keeping staff. The pool was crystal clear, pool decks and chairs were constantly cleaned. Two comfortable hammocks are found in the pool area. Large beach towels provided. I loved relaxing laying in the hammock while sipping one of the many wonderful drinks prepared by the staff. The beach was raked every morning. Good wifi available for free around the property made it easy for us to communicate with our family at home via FaceTime on our iPads. The beach restaurant has a good selection of choices for lunch. We had a few delicious cheeseburgers and salads enjoying the view. Our plan included a 3 day car rental. We appreciated the convenience of having the car prearranged for us. The car was new and clean from National. We enjoyed exploring the island and beaches by car. Our favourite spots were Cane Garden Bay and Smugglers beaches. We had lunch one day at Pussers @ Soper's Hole. We enjoyed eating lunch watching the boats in the marina. We also shopped in the boutique stores and found some great souvenirs. We are confused by the comments by "Peitro 1961" and "Deborah T". The Sugar Mill is a historical site dating back to around 1640. It's laughable that "Peitro" said that it needs "updating". Pietro and Deborah should choose a large All Inclusive Resort with swim up bar in Cancun for their future vacation instead of a hotel that has been awarded the high distinctions the Sugar Mill has. The Sugar Mill is Fodor’s choice hotel for Tortola, it was named "One of the Twelve Most Romantic Dining Rooms in the World" by Concierge.com , one of the "Top 10 Hotels in the Caribbean” by a Condé Nast Traveler readers’ poll. We have travelled to many places in the world. The Sugar Mill exceeded our expectations. Please take the time to read all of the 5 star reviews posted on trip advisor for a accurate reviews. Thank you Sharon and all the employees at the Sugar Mill! We have wonderful memories from an amazing vacation. We left saying goodbye to new friends. We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. We had second floor room with spectacular views. The resort is very quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canepalmbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lovely studio type room with refrig and microwave. Spacious and open accommodations with fantastic ocean views of the surf. Bathroom was quite large with double sinks and walk in shower. Perfect spot after a sailing vacation. The small sandy beach has lounge chairs and covered tables. The reef is easily accessible for snorkeling. Small lunch restaurant sits right on the beautiful beach. Breakfast and dinner restaurant are in the historical building built with cobblestones. Food is wonderful! If you are here on a Friday night be sure to see if they have Anegada lobster on the menu. The best part for us was the hammock on the balcony which we greatly enjoyed. Listening to the surf and watching the surfers was amazing. We should have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Higher floor for fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJaneSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I arrived at Sugar Mill after spending a week in a rented villa on St John. We were greeted warmly and the hostess had everything in order for us. We arrived early so our room wasn't ready yet, but they tucked our luggage away, showed us where to change and we were ready for the beach! Sugar Mill has a nice beach area in front of the hotel, and contrary to some other reviews, crossing the street wasn't an issue for us. They served lunch every day at the beach bar and the food was good. We made reservations at the restaurant the night we arrived but went to the welcome cocktail party by the pool first. It was nice to meet the owners as well as the other guests. Sugar Mill is a relatively small place so you cross paths with the other guests frequently. The restaurant experience was superb! The food was delicious, the service pleasant and attentive, and the atmosphere was lovely. They have a nice pool area at the hotel, but we didn't use it once. The rooms are clean and comfortable but not the most updated look you might find, although I understand that it's pretty nice by Tortola standards. We enjoyed the air conditioning at night and the large bathroom with two vanities. The only problem we encountered was a backup in our shower the night before we left, but the staff had it fixed and cleaned up before we got back to our room. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this lovely little hotel to anyone looking for accommodations on Tortola.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our choice of Sugar Mill was based upon the favorable reviews here on TripAdvisor. So Upon our return I had to go back and read those reviews again because our experience was more like Deborah T's review "Bitter disappointment" (see poor category).

We travel frequently and have been to the Virgin Islands before so our expectation for service was adjusted to the reality of the location. Even with that, the service at Sugar Mill was disappointing from check in to check out. (a notable exception was Theresa) The property itself is not particularly well maintained and is need of updating.

If you are reading this in contemplation of a trip I encourage you to read the review I previously referenced. If you are reading this after having been to Sugar Mill wondering what you thinking about, welcome to the club.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peitro1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed in a Deluxe room. The room was large, very clean and airy, with a very nice patio that overlooked the grounds and the beach (which was a very short walk across the street). I loved looking out on the beach from the patio with a glass of wine each evening. The location is a little out of the way, but the atmosphere and beauty of this place made the cab fares worthwhile (in my opinion). The meals at the restaurant were truly "beyond belief"-wonderful. I do see why the restaurant receives rave reviews on every website I've seen. The staff are friendly and helpful, but completely unobtrusive. This is a peaceful, relaxing, beautiful place to stay. While visiting the Islands, I only had time for Tortola, and St. Thomas, and enjoyed Tortola so much more-the beaches there are unforgettably beautiful and the snorkeling was great (Aristocat Charters to the Indians! WOW!). I also highly recommend a trip to Smuggler's Cove. The cab fare was relatively inexpensive from the Sugar Mill, and the ride was a bit rough, but WOW! The Sugar Mill provides complementary snorkeling gear. It's a must see for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
9.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
285 reviews
1.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
382 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
725 reviews
11.0 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Property: Sugar Mill Hotel
Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing